Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Sandeep

2 Thumbs Up

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic Hotel with a lot of history and very helpful staff. Old world charm with modern hospitality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel, with amazing gardens

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Hotel setting in the hills with beautiful gardens, large rooms, onsen.
Location: Slightly remote but relaxing location that takes time to get to. Many onsens, hills to hike, etc.
Very relaxing stay in a classic setting. Rooms are very large and the entire hotel including grounds are beautiful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quirky Old Hotel that needs a refresh

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Old style feel that was unique
Cons: Room layout, update plumbing, update electronics, increase the variety of the menu, update the common bath area.
Location: On a steep hill, in a small town is not terribly convenient, but then you are in the country in Hakone. You need a shuttle ride to the train station.
This hotel has a unique feel. You will think you stepped back in time to the era to the Meiji restoration, as the hotel was founded in 1878 just 10 years after Admiral Perry's ships visited Japan. While this has it advantages in terms of vintage charm, it means the hotel is lacking in terms of modern convenience. Our room had a Rube Goldberg layout. The bathtub was a large old tub stuck in a small room in an odd corner with the toilet crammed right next to it. The sink did not accompany the bath but rather was across the bedroom. The furniture layout was strange and seemed like an afterthought. The electronics in the room; TV, electrical outlets and lack of internet reflected 1960s. The common areas truly really felt antique. The floors are wood and creaky, the common rooms seem choppy and old-style western wood paneling everywhere - adding to the vintage feel. The hotel is on a steep hill with a garden that could be gorgeous but needs a bit of maintenance. We tried the communal bath and found small and dated. All in all, it was interesting for one night but not sure I would stay there multiple days.
4 out of 5
by RAYMOND

Serene and peaceful

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous gardens...huge rooms. When you think of Japan this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This hotel was awesome. We really enjoyed it. Looking forward to coming back another time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and worth stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We took so many photos of the hotel and gardens. Even from our room we had a beautiful view of garden. The place is dated and needs some work but you can't go past its old world charm. It was like I imagine a 1930's guest house would be. We found the room smelt a little dusty which wasnt good when one of our group had a cold. Be warned you have to go up stairs or the steep driveway to get to building. I would stay there again if the chance came as it has so much character.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

HARD beds.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel grounds were beautiful and the history was fascinating.
Cons: The beds need to be more comfortable.
The hotel is charming. The beds in our three rooms, however, were very hard and very uncomfortable. Nobody in our party of six slept well, and we woke with sore backs and hips. I was disappointed in the staff at the hotel. Most of the Japanese people we had met during our 5 days in Japan before we stayed at the Fujiya hotel were so eager to offer advice and help with any of our questions. We did not find this at the Fujiya. We arrived early and checked our luggage so we could go out to explore Hakone. When we got back to the hotel about 5:30pm, the two restaurants that required reservations were already full. It would have been very nice if it had been recommended to make reservations when we arrived at 11am. The only restaurant available for us to dine, served only french cuisine. My husband and son, arrived after us at the hotel. They were arriving late because of flight delays, and I was worried about how they were going to get from Odawara station to the hotel at the late hour. I asked for advice three times at the front desk before somebody understood me and told me how my husband and son could transfer to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Stay in a living museum

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Service, space & comfort in bedrooms (twin room), bed comfort, stunning gardens, bath & hot water in rooms, proximity to sights & dining.
Cons: While age is a charm, the public bath & room showers really need some attention. Rust & built up scum aren't excuses for lack of thorough cleaning.
Location: 3 stops to Gora & then Hakone circuit. Nobu at Gora was excellent, Naraya Cafe at Miyanoshita was a cheap & amazing meal.
Reviews seem mixed; I would say if you want an American-style 4* this is not your hotel. If you are happy to overlook or indeed enjoy the ageing beauty as well as the quirks, this is a unique and beautiful hotel. The history is proudly portrayed throughout the walls and this is clearly not your run-of-the-mill accommodation, which requires some understanding. Things like bedrooms are incredibly spacious for most country standards, there are glamorous staircases, exceeding helpful bowing staff (several non-Japanese in an attempt to cater to foreign tourists?), beautiful gardens etc. etc. Sure there are quirks but this is one of the most unique places I've stayed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice historical hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
A very nice historical hotel with elegance. Extremely friendly and attentive staff who provided excellent customer service. The room is massive, however it needs restoration. Overall it was a great experience of a classic Japanese hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Wonderful experience in this old hotel with so much history. Beautiful gardens and great that there are 3 restaurants available to choose (although quite expensive). Could use new mattresses but everything else outweighs that. Perfect location. The staff was very helpful, informative and held our luggage during the day......... Would def recommend. Can even get hot spring in your own bath tubs. They also provide a shuttle to the train if needed.......(not sure why I have to write such a long review here so just gonna keep typing). It was quiet.