Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect for a longer stay

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The suite is ideal for a longer stay, and it looked exactly like the pictures I saw online. I was very happy and very impressed. It was the perfect home away from home while on a 2 week business trip. Super comfortable bed, awesome tvs, ability to adjust the temp, and very quiet.
Cons: I guess maybe more breakfast options would be nice but even what they have is still good, and it's free!
Location: Restaurants, shopping, University of Alabama, USS Alabama & USS Drum tour
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the University of South Alabam

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The location of the hotel is great, centrally located to shopping and entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Comfortable Stay

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Location: I liked the location of the hotel being away from I-65, but close to a lot of retail shops and restaurants.
Overall excellent one night stay!! Great front desk staff and clean facility. Clean rooms, kitchen and bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Room

Posted Aug 26, 2016
First I have to say the hotel staff was very friendly and nice. When you walk in the lobby looks nice. The complimentary breakfast was good, as was the coffee. The room was clean and the bwd was comfortable. One complaint I have are the TV channel selection was terrible. But the biggest complaint was we could smell smoke from another room that I guess they allow people to smoke in. Our room was a non smoking room and I did not appreciate smelling someone else's second hand smoke. It was bad enough it has triggered my allergies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Spacious rooms, nice staff

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The bed was too hard but everything else was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel was very nice. The only negative was there was no channel guide for the tv. Also, there was no area info on restaurants, things to do, etc in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel long over due for renovations

Posted May 11, 2016
Stayed here 4 nights. AC in room was a joke. Never was able to cool room below mid 70's. Carpet in room and hallway was filthy with a strong musty smell. And don't even get me started on their "free breakfast" which consisted of cold eggs and meat every morning during out stay. Breakfast area did not even have a microwave to heat muffins etc up. Oh and the bonus...getting to watch members of the cook staff have a domestic in front of the guest. Have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 4 years and it has progressively became worse. This trip will be my last at this hotel. Do yourself a huge favor, stay across the street at the other big chain hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mobile alabama

Posted May 6, 2016
This was a very clean hotel. The service was great. We enjoyed the stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest Georgia

Great hotel across from Mobile hospital

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, free Wifi, located near hospital & airport, & very affordable for a 3-star hotel.
Cons: Not much in room needs improving. Maybe another trash can for room placed inside the bathroom. Hallway carpet was a horrible agitating pattern though!
Location: We were there due to Mom's surgery 2 days before Christmas. Location was right across from hospital, near airport, with 2 good restaurants next door.
Made reservations due to hotel being right across from hospital where Mom was having necessary surgery 2 days before Christmas. Excellent choice! Staff accommodated late checkin (tied up at hospital till late evening). Room was very comfortable, beautifully laid out & with all the extras we could want...full size frig & ice maker, kitchenette with stove, garbage disposal & dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, living room area with sleeper sofa, separate bedroom suite with a very comfortable king sized bed, mirrored closet (with extra blanket, pillow, ironing board & iron, etc) and even a separate vanity area from a nice large bathroom. There were 2 large TVs...one in living area & 1 in bedroom. Great suite, affordable pricing, free Wifi, very nice breakfast setup...plus other amenities we never had time for due to staying at hospital with Mom (lovely pool area & exercise room). Would definitely recommend Homewood Suites for a quality, comfortable, friendly, clean & affordable stay in Mobile, AL (near the airport, too). P.S. - Wish I'd taken pictures of our wonderful room with all that was described above...(and maybe that hallway carpet with the horrible, agitating pattern...y'all definitely need to replace that distressing pattern).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice place, maid service needs improvement

Posted Dec 22, 2015
We stayed 2 nights the hotel is beautiful the room was nice and clean. After being gone the entire next day our room was not touched except the dirty towels taken out. I had to call for new towels as they weren't replaced.