Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Hotel is dated and needs some cosmetic work. It was clean and reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that the age of our building was so off-putting to you; many of our guests like the charm that our property has, particularly when compared with newer, more modern hotels, which can all look very similar to one another. We are happy that you had a reasonable time however, and we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, Canada

Gross

Posted Nov 18, 2017
We got into our room and my daughter needed to use the washroom. I went it to show her the light switch and there was a cockroach on the side of the tub!! So gross. We got another room and I checked the bathroom and proceeded to check mattresses for bed bugs because I was so scared.... WE WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It is most unfortunate that your stay with us was spoiled by cockroaches, and that this impacted upon your impression of our hotel so much. Unfortunately, these pests can gain entry to the cleanest of hotels, but our pest control expert partners have now dealt with the issue appropriately, We would love for you to stay with us again, and to have the fantastic experience that the significant majority of our guests have. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Need Attending

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Renovate it!
Location: McDonalds!
We check in but did not go to the room because we had dinner plans. From the exterior the hotel looked fined, From trying to enter the room it went down hill from there, Thank God we were there for only 1 night. The Good, The AC works fine! The bad is the rest, The bathroom toilet needs to be replace, who paint a toilet seat! The toilet stopped up from 1 flush, meaning it was already stopped up before we arrived! the mold on the ceiling has been painted over but you can clearly see it there! If you have carpet on the floor you must vacuum it daily! A king size bed require more than 3 mini pillows! The bathroom door is coming apart! Every piece of furniture in the room needs to be replaced, it was scrap pieces from I don't know where! The so called breakfast is overrated! We walked in the room at 11 PM and walked out at 8 AM, I felt like I won a prize for staying all night! You need to remove this hotel from your website!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that your room had a number of maintenance issues. Please rest assured that our maintenance team have addressed these, and they should not arise should you stay with us again. Our hotel is an older building, as are most of the properties in the area, and we do work tirelessly to ensure quality standards are upheld for our guests. We are sorry that we fell short of meeting your expectations, but we appreciate your feedback, thank you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Dirty and smelled moldy. Drug dealer lived right above and had cars stopping all day and night. Bedbugs in the couch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you did not love your stay at our property, and that the standard of cleanliness in your room did not meet your expectations. Please note that we do not permit drugs on our property, and we will be fully investigating your comment in that regard. Unfortunately, bedbugs can be easily carried into the cleanest of hotel rooms in someones luggage, and this seems to be what happened in your room, as our pest control partners found no sign of them in any other room. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THE ROOM SMELLED LIKE MOLD

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THE ROOMS COULD BE FREE OF THE MOLD SMELL THE STAFF SHOULD MAKE SURE THAT ALL APPLIANCES WORKED PROPERLY.
Location: N/A
The overall experience was not good. Although the price was ok, the room was not in "tip top" shape. THE ROOM SMELLED OF MOLD. THE COFFEE POT DIDN'T WORK AND WHEN I WENT TO THE FRONT DESK TOLD ME TO COME BACK AT A LATER HOUR. THE STAFF WAS NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL............EXCEPT FOR MARY WHO CHECKED ME IN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are known for our wonderful staff and the fantastic service that we provide, and we are sorry that this aspect of your stay was not satisfactory in relation to each and every member of our team. We are very sorry that your room had a couple of maintenance issues relating to appliances. Please rest assured that our maintenance team have addressed these, and they should not arise should you stay with us again. Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with Roaches

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cons: It needs a good cleaning and pest control.
We did not stay in the hotel, once we checked in and took one glance at the room, which had roaches, we checked out. It was late at night and the evening hotel staff told us they could not cancel the reservation and we would not receive a refund. We left anyways, refused to stay in such an unclean place. We called the next morning and staff was polite and did not charge our credit card for the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It is most unfortunate that your stay with us was spoiled by cockroaches, and that you left prematurely. Unfortunately, these pests can gain entry to the cleanest of hotels, but our pest control expert partners have now dealt with the issue appropriately, We would love for you to stay with us again, and to have the fantastic experience that the significant majority of our guests have. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Close to Cruise Terminal

Posted Sep 14, 2017
It was close to the terminal but it needs to be repaired a bit. Looks like it has been neglected. The staff was very nice and attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that the age of our building was so off-putting to you; many of our guests like the charm that our property has, particularly when compared with newer, more modern hotels, which can all look very similar to one another. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to our guests, so we are delighted with your comments in relation to our staff, thank you. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you have accommodation needs in this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by Christopher

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Was the worst most disgusting hotel I have every stayed in! The room smelled and was dirty..there was dry blood on the pillow case, the towels had stains on them.. over all it looked like a crack infested hotel, wifi didn't work, after seeing how dirty the room was there was no way I was going to even try the breakfast
4 out of 5
by jonquille

Meh

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
It was great until I saw a roach so I was sort of freaked out after that
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. Daytona

Room not fully cleaned by housekeeping

Posted Aug 27, 2017
There was something left in the toilet, it was clear and plastic, probably a candy wrapper. A Q tip left on the divider by the desk. Tv remote missing a battery, called office. He wanted me to get the batteries, I said I'm working, you need to drop off. Moved to another room, car came on late after 1130 pm car, blasting music from their car. Comfortable bed. Decent breakfast. No rewards program at all. Would not rush back to this location. New staff members a little slow at check in and not familiar with Jameson ways. Supervisor said new staff member is not digesting their way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Your experience does not at all sound like that which we anticipate our guests having. We apologize for the issues that you experienced, and we will discuss your review with our housekeeping manager, to ensure that our standards of cleanliness are maintained. We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations, and that we were unable to satisfy your accommodation needs. Thank you for your feedback, Best wishes, Hotel Management