Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Courtyard
Cons: hairdryers in rooms
Location: I was there fleeing hurricane Irma
Staff was great, room was clean, but there was no hair dryer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Charming from a distance

Posted Sep 16, 2017
We chose this hotel over our usual choices because of the history behind it. We even chose a balcony room to get a better experience. Yes, it looks charming from a distance. Although all staff were friendly, we had issues with the fact that the cleaner came to our room, removed the used towels without replacing them and not clean the room (not even make the beds). So I made the beds at 5pm and rang the lobby to at least get towels. When we got them, one was was ripped. The windows had cobwebs with insects in them as did the balcony door. Under the bed one could see the layer of dirt that had built up over time. And finally, try to ensure you get a room upstairs. One can hear every step, and anything dropped on the floor when staying below. We were even more unfortunate to have a family with kids upstairs that ran from one end of the room to the other (early in the morning & late at night). So as you can tell, we did not have a great stay here. However, the lobby and the courtyard are very nice. Perfect place for photos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crystal Beach, FL

Fantastic!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Architecture, location, rooms, baths, beds, sheets, thick towels, wonderful employees - everything!
Cons: Not a thing. Soon to open restaurant for dinner.
Location: Close to great music and food.
The nicest stay EVER in a hotel in my 64 years including trips from Europe to Hawaii
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Evanston

Tired, Shabby, Not Functional

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The central courtyard is lovely---blooming plants and a central fountain
Cons: Clean the room carefully, change the mattress so that it can be slept on, add hooks for towels (only one hook and it was installed upside down!),
Location: This hotel was such a negative experience that we decided not to explore Mobile.
We were more than disappointed with our stay here. Pics looked charming and historic. What we received was a room that even the staff could not open without their special key (and ours never did work), a broken mattress, dirty coffee system. We booked ahead and requested a change of room, while with the hurricane, the staff said there was not a room in all of Mobile to have. So, we were stuck sleeping on the floor, literally. Breakfast was set with chipped and broken plates and crockery, in heated trays that did not work. Our room was to have a view--it was all boarded up at the window that was to have looked out! We are so sorry to have witnessed how this once important property of history no longer seems to have the resources or management to keep it up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Poorly managed

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Nice interior court.
Cons: Better WiFi, better cleaning of the rooms, more breakfast options with fresh food.
Location: Close to the Dauphin street, which was a pretty nice area to walk.
We were disappointed with the hotel. The price was like a Holiday Inn but the conditions were far worse. The room was not clean enough and the WiFi was so bad it was unusable. The breakfast was terrible with very limited options, stale bagels and no other type of bread.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Absolutely loved it! It's beautiful and has a wonderful atmosphere. Will definitely be staying here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by J.B., Hotel Management
Thank you so much. We really appreciate the kind words.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

absolutely lovely

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel and decor, easy access, wonderful off the street parking. Lovely courtyard and interior vintage decor was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by J.B., Hotel Management
PJ, Thank you so much for your review. We hope you are able to return. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Extremely quaint hotel that is very well located for the Dauphne/Chuch Historic district. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was delightful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Lots of character, great location, extremely friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by J.B., Hotel Management
Jill, Thank you so much! Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
It was an alright accomodation. The beds were very comfortable, the floors were a bit dirty and the coffee pot had a moldy bag of coffee in it when we went to use it. It might have been there a month. We stayed two nights and no one came to clean our room. The courtyard was enjoyable and the place overall heightened the historical atmosphere which we visited Mobile for in the first place. The breakfast was excellent the first day but on the second day they had run out of everything by the time we went down. The breakfast was being run by 1 poor lady who had to cook and rush the food out herself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by J.B., Hotel Management
Anonymous, I would really like to know which room you stayed in so I can have a talk with the housekeeper. Please private message me so I can hear more about your stay. Kind Regards,