Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruth from Portage, In

Would definitely return!!!

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed it!!! Floor 17 was definitely Different:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

stayed for one night - great hotel

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was under renovations while we stayed, so the restaurant and bar downstairs were not open. However, it was a very quiet hotel despite being right in the middle of downtown. The customer service was exceptional and check-in was a breeze. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the bed was so comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derrick from Calgary

Diamond being repolished!

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was wonderful. The hotel was under construction but it did not interfere with our evening. The place is beautiful with so much history. Just ask! I look forward to seeing how amazing this hotel will be post renovation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi , Tx

Posted May 8, 2015
Hotel smelled like smoke and moldy . Wish I was told it was being remodeled, I would have stayed elsewhere . Water being turned off for a few hours wasn't any help either ! Price should have been lower for all this hassle !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Daphne

Total disappointment internet pics misleading!!

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed overnight to be near the Theater and although the hotel is under remodeling construction, the room was filthy. The bed cover had hair on it and there was hair in the tub when we arrived. The carpet was soiled and had holes in it. The staff was very nice and friendly offering to do anything they could but it was out of their control since they had limited rooms available and there was nothing else left.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
I will never be staying in this hotel again. When we arrived, the room smelled of mildew. The bed was uncomfortably firm. The air conditioner was automatically set at 80 degrees, and returned to that temperature every few hours if I did not set it lower, so I woke up sweating in the middle of the night. The concierge was incredibly rude during our check out. I understand that this is a historic hotel and wasn't expecting everything to be perfect, but it could have been far better than it was. I would not recommend staying here.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wait till the renovation's done

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Location, good wifi, friendly staff, nicely renovated lobby and mezzanine.
Cons: Looks like they're working on it.
Got a cheap rate and knew there were renovations going on to the bar and restaurant, so I was prepared for a bit of inconvenience, but at check-in was told that the water would be off during the day, which seemed a bit much. Was also quite loud both mornings I was there with hammering and drilling reverberating throughout the building. I take it some of the rooms have been renovated and other haven't. Mine hadn't and while it was spacious and had a certain style to it, it needed a refresh and the sleep-number bed, which didn't work properly, was probably the least comfortable bed I've ever slept on. In short, it might be worth taking a chance if you can get a cheap enough rate and a renovated room; otherwise I'd wait a few months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Waste of money

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
Where to begin... room was clearly designed by someone without any clue what they were doing. Stayed in the "Executive Suite" and my college dorm was nicer and cleaner. Debris on the ground throughout the halls and in the room, an old mini fridge that needed serious de-icing and was leaking, the bathroom sink would barely drain, a huge box tv that would cut out, and the toilet was so close to the tub that you could literally sit on the toilet with one leg in the tub. They also apparently don't run AC in the halls because the thermostat said 80 degrees. Then when my stay was finally over, they charge you to park in their empty parking deck. In hindsight, I would've paid to stay at a local motel because I would've gotten a nicer room for half the price. Avoid this place for sure and either pay a few extra dollars or just stay at the aforementioned motel for half the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Great value!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Got a king suite for $70, parking is only $7 per night. Half the. Kay of everything else downtown. They are starting a renovation that the hotel really needs, but it has everything you need for a good stay! Pros: safe clean comfy bed polite and helpful staff low cost great location charming 40s decor Cons: no individual temp control in the room, the a/c was too cold for my taste but it was totally bearable no breakfast and restaurants on site are closed for the renovation, I just kept cold breakfast in my fridge and was fine Rundown and in need of updating (but they are doing just that, can't wait to see what the renovation turns out, and the low cost made up for all minor inconveniences!!)