Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Very nice people helped with parking and overall pleasent. Old. But it's what you paid for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Very helpful staff, arranged trips for us to visit balsamic vinegar and cheese factories.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Bait and switch

Posted Oct 8, 2016
The room smells like old people. The room doesn't look like it does in pictures and the bathroom was atrocious. The shower stall is barely large enough to fit an adult male and the doors for it hit the toilet as you open it. The room description says air conditioning but it doesn't turn on and when I asked the staff they told me they shut it off and can't turn it on because it is cool out. It was a little "cool" outside but our room was very warm and opening the windows would just invite bugs in. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in Italy this was the only one without air conditioning so it's not that "cool". In the end the staff did nothing to address the problem except to offer a fan. When you arrive you are given the key but when you go for dinner or to explore the city you are required to give the key back to the staff until you return. Why? "Because it's a nice key and we want to keep track of who is in the building." Kind of creepy. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed during our trip in Italy. However on a positive note the guy who I assume was the manager was very welcoming but I can't say the same about his staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

all you could want.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location and value
Cons: Bathroom layout.
Location: Central location that enables you to enjoy the town on foot. Plenty of decent restaurants within minutes of the hotel.
Excellent location and only 8 minutes walk from Station. very quiet as it is in a pedestrian street. Staff very helpful and all spoke good English which was useful for our first visit to Italy. Nice room, with good air on, which is a necessity in July. tiny shower but we were only there 2 nights so not an issue. we went out to one of the many cafes for a light breakfast, but the hotel breakfast buffet looked very good value for money . Would recommend this hotel without hesitation and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by NORRIE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Wheaton

Hotel "locked" at noon

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
Was not aware that the hotel was "locked" at noon, had planned to stay in the lobby until 1:00 and then walk to our train, however, we were informed that the hotel was locked at noon requiring us to leave earlier than planned. I was curious if this would effect check in if we had arrived at noon or might in the future.
4 out of 5
by MARTIN from Portsmouth uk

Hotel in centre

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is right in the centre of Modena. A bit difficult to access by car but great
3 out of 5
by Abbey from Mountain View, CA

3-star hotel in Modena

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Best Western Liberta for one night. It was in a good location but a little confusing to find by rental car. It lived up to being a 3-star hotel. The room itself was a little old and worn down but large. The hotel is centrally located in the main square of Modena. Pros: Big room, nearby parking, close to restaurants and shops, bed relatively comfortable. Cons: Old bathroom and flooring in the hotel, strange procedure of leaving your key at the front desk when you leave, difficult to find by car.