Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for feedback, we are heppy that you liked everything, best regards, the staff
5 out of 5
by Jo from London

Idyllic country boutique hotel

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
We just spent 4 delightful days here and wish we could have stayed longer. The style, comfort, attention to detail and beautiful setting made Hotel Balarte an oasis in the beautiful Sicilian countryside. Furthermore the caring, friendly, attentive yet discreet and professional staff were the highlight of our trip; running the hotel to a very high standard and happy to attend to even the slightest need with care and attention. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we look forward to booking here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jo, it was a real pleasure for us to host you. All the staff including Mirko is missing you. We really hope to see you soon back at Balarte Hotel****. Best regards, Giorgio
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A class act!

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Balarte is located outside Modica and is literally in the middle of nowhere, but how charming this remote corner is...You will easily find it, if you have a car with GPS, and will enjoy the serenity of the Sicily countryside. The rooms are decorated in interesting modern futuristic design which I found very appealing. Plenty of space in the rooms; bathroom is a bit small, but very functional - rainfall shower is a big plus as well as Clarins toiletries. The outside pool is fantastic, the beauty of the surrounding gardens is stunning... The breakfast was the most delicious and classy: fresh pancakes with chocolate and delicious frittata, homemade yogurt and farmer cheese, ricotta which melts in your mouth, carpaccio, pistachio cheese, espresso with heavenly light croissants... such a treat... Delightful modern full of light breakfast room certainly added charm to our breakfast. The owner of the property, Cynthia, is very passionate about her business and does everything possible to make her guests comfortable. We will always remember our fantastic three days at her lovely oasis of tranquility.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice getaway

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Apprx. 30min drive from Centro of Modica, Balarte offers a nice getaway. Rooms with backyard are clean, spacious with minimalist decor, nice toiletries products are a plus. breakfast simple but tasty, staff friendly but speaks little English. However, mosquitos could be a real issue, and a pity that there is no electric kettle or coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Got to see it to believe it

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Our stay was amazing. Cinzia the owner was fantastic. We got an upgraded room. We arrived late at Pozzallo station and she arranged a taxi for us which we were very grateful. One night Cinzia drove us to a local restaurant and picked us up afterwards. Balarte is a modern boutique hotel with 7 rooms. The rooms spacious very clean and comfortable. The outside pool wonderful which we used and loved. The towels are a very high quality. We are planning to come back. I felt like crying when I left I felt like I was saying goodbye to an old friend after our stay. Having a car is handy but we were able to use taxis getting to places as you are out of town about 8-10 km.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

excellent

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
difficult to find but beautiful designed boutique hotel. lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
by D Zaepfel from Pasadena

A Unique Experience

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
A real interesting place in the Sicily countryside. The hotel had character, it was extremely artistic and it was just the place to unwind for a couple of days. The breakfast was fabulous. Local milk and cheeses were served daily song with carob pancakes dresses withe local honey. The proprietor was extremely kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aesthetic experience

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is different from any we have stayed in. Every detail was thought of. Stark but beautiful. Pleasing to the senses. We had ordered a room but got a suite, with a lovely outside space. We were the only guests for most of the four days we stayed there, and very well taken care of. Excellent homemade breakfasts. We chose it since we wanted to be in the area, but not in a town. We were in driving distance of many lovely towns: Noto, Ragusa, Modica, Siracusa, cava grande de Cassible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Berkshire UK

Funky designer hotel just outside Modica

Posted Mar 26, 2014
We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our holiday at the Belarte Hotel. Cinzia & her staff were all very helpful & welcoming. Decor was different in our room - body parts pictures & tactile wallpaper. The breakfast was delicious (for those of us who appreciate fresh local produce) salami & cheeses, bread, crepes, croissants, chocolate & yogurts with fresh coffee & water. Shower was fabulous & attention to detail with clarins toiletries. Bed very comfortable. Door onto private garden area would be perfect in slightly warmer weather. All in all we had a wonderful stay.