Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel central in old hill town 'Centro alto'.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great hotel in historic hill town, which is untouched by tourism. Hotel offers great breakfast and has a nice bar and restaurant for the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, Washington

Charming place

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We'll run. Lovely rooms in elegant building in upper Modica.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great hotel in Alta Modica

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very accommodating. We had a special request created by our change of plans, and they were very helpful and went out of the way to help us resolve it. The hotel is charming and well situated. We stayed in what seems to be the annex - a couple of rooms above their restaurant across the road. Even though they told us the rooms in the main hotel are more "authentic" with more classic furniture, and more air and light, we enjoyed this cozy setting - the room was still very nice, and it was quite, with a large balcony area where I was able to do some work when we had some down time. BTW, the WiFi was excellent - by far the best and fastest we've had in Sicily. The breakfast was not the most extensive buffet we've seen - no hot items such as eggs, but the quality of the food was excellent and everything was very tasty. If you're in Modica, you need to decide if you prefer to stay in Alta Modica or Bassa Modica. If you want to stay in Alta, or if you are fine with either, this is a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
by jackie

Wonderful stay

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Staff so helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel has so much history
5 out of 5
by raymond

recommended

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, staff could not have been more charming or helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Understated elegance

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Wotif
Room was beautifully appointed and bathroom offered space and excellent fittings. Breakfast is offered in a delightfully elegant room with a vaulted ceiling. Staff were friendly and helpful. Frederico found a car space for us and by sheer chance came to our rescue later in the evening after we dined in the lower town - we hoped for a taxi, but there were none to be found. We were making enquiries at a Tabacchi and met Frederico who was happy to drive us back up the steep hills - a real saviour - once you discover Modica you will know why we didn't want the daunting walk back up to the high town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iske of Man

Characterful hotel in a quiet part of Modica

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The approach of the staff and owners. Thank you Mr Failla and team
Cons: Softer bed.
Location: In a quiet part of this baroque town with baroque streets and churches all around. All sights within walking distance.
The owners and staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly - arranging (and negotiating a price) for a taxi to take me to Ragusa for sightseeing, discussing, researching and advising on forms of transport for my onward journey, taking me to the bus stop, explaining how to get to the points of interest in Modica, providing prompt and ready service at breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nice historic building beautifully restored

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: We loved the combination of a grand & well appointed hotel in a great location that was truly comfortable and surprisingly peaceful with lovely staff.
Cons: Perhaps a kettle and tea making facilities however the little attached cafe has all these things and great cakes too!
Location: Perfectly located for visiting historic sites of Modica by foot. Little advertised is the hotel's own excellent restaurant just down the side street.
Perfectly located gracious hotel with very comfortable and incredibly peaceful rooms with small balcony. Presentation could not be faulted in this hotel & the breakfast spread was beautiful to behold! The staff were tremendously helpful with all aspects of our stay in Modica & surrounds. In fact they made it especially pleasurable and attended to all our requests efficiently and hospitably. Mr Failla himself attended to our car parking arrangements delivering the car to our door from its overnight garage. We were definitely sad to leave this Hotel and its lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Sicilian Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The true feeling of being in Sicily and not just another foreign country.
Location: The hotel was a bit far from city center but the walks were pleasant.
Truly a really good start to our trip to Sicily. The room was spacious and clean. We were a bit surprised by the room being in another building but that was more an Expedia non description. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgeable about the area.