Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Understated elegance

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Wotif
Room was beautifully appointed and bathroom offered space and excellent fittings. Breakfast is offered in a delightfully elegant room with a vaulted ceiling. Staff were friendly and helpful. Frederico found a car space for us and by sheer chance came to our rescue later in the evening after we dined in the lower town - we hoped for a taxi, but there were none to be found. We were making enquiries at a Tabacchi and met Frederico who was happy to drive us back up the steep hills - a real saviour - once you discover Modica you will know why we didn't want the daunting walk back up to the high town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iske of Man

Characterful hotel in a quiet part of Modica

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The approach of the staff and owners. Thank you Mr Failla and team
Cons: Softer bed.
Location: In a quiet part of this baroque town with baroque streets and churches all around. All sights within walking distance.
The owners and staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly - arranging (and negotiating a price) for a taxi to take me to Ragusa for sightseeing, discussing, researching and advising on forms of transport for my onward journey, taking me to the bus stop, explaining how to get to the points of interest in Modica, providing prompt and ready service at breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nice historic building beautifully restored

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: We loved the combination of a grand & well appointed hotel in a great location that was truly comfortable and surprisingly peaceful with lovely staff.
Cons: Perhaps a kettle and tea making facilities however the little attached cafe has all these things and great cakes too!
Location: Perfectly located for visiting historic sites of Modica by foot. Little advertised is the hotel's own excellent restaurant just down the side street.
Perfectly located gracious hotel with very comfortable and incredibly peaceful rooms with small balcony. Presentation could not be faulted in this hotel & the breakfast spread was beautiful to behold! The staff were tremendously helpful with all aspects of our stay in Modica & surrounds. In fact they made it especially pleasurable and attended to all our requests efficiently and hospitably. Mr Failla himself attended to our car parking arrangements delivering the car to our door from its overnight garage. We were definitely sad to leave this Hotel and its lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Sicilian Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The true feeling of being in Sicily and not just another foreign country.
Location: The hotel was a bit far from city center but the walks were pleasant.
Truly a really good start to our trip to Sicily. The room was spacious and clean. We were a bit surprised by the room being in another building but that was more an Expedia non description. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael from Adelaide

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Palazzo Faillia in mid January a very quiet time of the year. Our stay was very pleasant made all the better by the very helpful team at the hotel. This included being picked up at the train station on arrival and dropped at the bus station for our departure as well as being taken to the lower town in the evenings for dinner. We also appreciated their help with directions and recommendations for restaurants. The hotel breakfast was pleasant and the bar a nice place to sit for an aperitif before going out for dinner or a relaxing coffee during the day. The hotel has been delightfully renovated in keeping with the period. Big rooms with high ceilings and a modern bathroom with an excellent shower. As our room faced the street - we did get a little noise from outside as well as echoes from the spacious reception and hall area. None of this was particularly troublesome. Overall we loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with 5* level of service

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The fruit at breakfast could be riper
Location: Generally the upper area of the town with historic buildings and superb views
Unlike most people who do multiple locations we decided to make Modica our base for a 2 week holiday in Sicily so I can give a review based on a far longer stay than many others. I will break it down under various headings; Service - We have never experienced better service despite having stayed in many more expensive hotels. The staff were all friendly and efficient at all times and we made a lot of requests from going to a pharmacy to sort out remedies for a very sore throat, arranging Pilates lessons in a neighbouring town, securing reservations at restaurants through to a very efficient valet car parking service where they found free parking spaces near the hotel and then fetched the car back when you wanted. The free wi-fi is also a lot better than I have experienced elsewhere. Location - This is excellent being about two thirds of the way up the town, it is reasonably quiet and altogether delightful. You need to be aware that Modica is basically built up the side of a steep hill and there are about 400 steps to get to the bottom of the town. The hotel owner offered to pick us up to save the climb back but we preferred to do this to get some exercise. Rooms - The main rooms in the hotel look wonderful but we were in the annex which is up an alley opposite the hotel. It was very comfortable, large, beautifully decorated, quiet and came with a bathroom that is about the size of many double bedrooms in London hotels, covered in marble and equipped with double basins, WC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful staff, gorgeous hotel ....

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Honestly can't think of anything
Location: Modica is a lovely town, well worth a visit and its very central
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel, and the staff were outstanding - nothing was too much trouble, whether it be offering to park our car or giving advice on where to go. The room was everything you would want - clean, fabulous decorations (my wife is in the fabrics industry and loved the décor), air conditioning etc etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland

Superlative hotel in a stunning location

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Just home from 2 weeks in the wonderful Palazzo Failla The courtesy, warmth and professionalism of all staff was truly unforgettable The building itself is elegant, comfortable and beautiful Breakfasts are an indulgent sumptuous treat with superb, fresh Sicilian treats Modica is a Baroque marvel with lots to explore