Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gozo, Malta

Beautiful Spa Resort

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Just the size of the showers.
Location: Fantastic location close to everything, yet out of the way.
The hotel was Fantastic, and extremely relaxing. The spa was amazing and the price was much lower than I expected. The hotel was very close to the industrial area where there was an incredible amount of shopping facilities and restaurants. Eating at the hotel was a pleasure as the food was more of an a la carte service rather than tipical hotel service with the choices on the menu being exciting and delicious, and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. The restaurants near the hotel are plentiful and the varieties are many. Ranging from snack to 5 star a la carte service. The pizzarias are to die for and take a small drive out of the area and you'll find the most delicious seafood restaurants, or if you prefer turf instead of surf there are meat lovers steakhouses just around the corner in the industrial area. The rooms were simple but elegant with modern tones of art and class being all in white the color makes for a bright and relaxing room. Having large terraces with tables and chairs for morning coffee or just a look at the beautiful view of the hotel facilities. The cleaning services are spot on leaving the rooms fresh and clean without interrupting your holiday. In fact the cleaners are on the go all the time leaving the entire hotel fresh and clean. With a large and private parking area with car canapes when raining or windy. All and all I think this hotel and spa is a fantastic get away from the stress of everyday living which I would recommend to everyone I know. Perfect
4 out of 5
by Steven F

Good I was expecting regional food ,more the home

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Food was not what was expected was Looking forward to having regional food
4 out of 5
by Keith

Good 4 star - clean and modern

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good htl overall, Bfast is nice as well Upon our arrival we were told that Wifi is down which was disappointing and they did not know when it would be fixed. Nonetheless it seems to have been fixed by the following day though it was not very good. Speed was slow or just not good enough for some basic work. other that that the rooms are a little bit small but clean, comfy and modern. the hotel is very nice and kept in spotless condition
4 out of 5
by john from Biddulph

A good hotel with some disadvantages

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
A good hotel but with some drawbacks. It is a long way from anywhere, Modica is the nearest city some 5 miles away and so a car is essential, even so it is difficult to find and road signage in the area is terrible. A particular problem was access to the road, being a blind and potentially dangerous exit. Building work was being carried out during our visit, but even allowing for this cleanliness of the pool area was poor, there being cigarette ends lying about and not cleared up The staff were friendly and helpful. There were insufficient facilities for what I would call a resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Welshpool, Powys

Very nice quiet hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: In a quiet location and good for visiting the area.
Location: Close to Modica where there are many restaurants, and within reach of Ortiga which is worth a visit.
The hotel is very modern, the rooms are clean and have a fridge and a safe. We were on the first floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool at the back. I asked for a room at the back as I had read a review saying the road could be noisy. The room was generally quiet but there was a wedding reception one evening and it was very loud in our room. The breakfast was good but we didn't have an evening meal in the hotel. The staff were pleasant, and Veronica on reception was very helpful and always had a smile on her face so made us feel very welcome. Excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is fantastic. It is very modern and well designed with stylish furniture and fittings in the rooms. Considering the price you pay, it is very very good value compared to many other hotels. The décor in the communal areas of the hotel, such as the foyer, is impressive and the pool area is beautiful. The room itself is a good size with an enormous bed and the usual facilities. The bathroom was nice although some aspects weren't quite in keeping with the hotels ultra-modern feel. Everything was impeccably clean and well looked after. The breakfast was very extensive and included cereal, pastries, cooked breakfast, cold meats, hot drinks and even prosecco for those who want a slightly more indulgent breakfast. The service of the hotel staff was brilliant and they were more than happy to help with any requests which we had. Their English was great and they were happy to point out good places to visit and eat in the local area. The only slight downside to the hotel is its location which requires a car to go anywhere. I was aware of this when booking and so it wasn't much of a problem but there are absolutely nothing around the hotel and the nearest town is Modica which is a 10 minute drive away. Modica itself has some great restaurants and shops though so this isn't too much of a problem. Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Pietre Nere and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday in southern Sicily!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice modern hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is modern, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast caters for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sicily however I would caveat this with saying car hire is a must. The hotel is in the countryside so all of the sights and local towns are a drive away. I don't think we would have enjoyed our stay as much if we had not had a car.
4 out of 5
by Enjoyed this hotel from xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Well run hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were really excellent; the restaurant dinner menu was creative and interesting. The rooms we had were bright and full of light; big windows for daylight, and plenty of lightbulbs for evening. The bathrooms were good. The only negative was that we had not realised that this is a popular wedding/events hotel; we arrived on a Friday and left Sunday morning. There was a wedding on the Friday (so there was loud music late into the night, and noisy guests making their way to rooms); another wedding on the Saturday and also a second, smaller family event on the Saturday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Quiet location but disappointing restaurant

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Clean, modern design
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Quiet countryside so car is a must
We had a good 5 night stay at Pietre Nere. Thr hotel appeared recently refurbished and was well-maintained. Our room was clean and comfortable and I would recommend booking the superior rooms with a balcony - which are spacious. The hotel is located in the countryside and is a 15-min drive to Modica. The only reason I did not rate the hotel a 5 was due to the restaurant and the lack of staff at the hotel, noticeable mainly at breakfast. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant (only for guests) once and found the food very average (pasta with prawns had little prawns and lots of very bitter chicory for about 12 euros). The service was awkward, slow and there was also a mix-up with the bill which should have been avoided. This was disappointing given the hotel seems to hold regular weddings in the function area next door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Pietre Nere is a fantastic place to stay!

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels
This is a wonderful place to stay! Good service, wonderful pool area, superior breakfast, nice staff. A lot of value for money. We've been here five times during the years and it is just as great every time.