Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Amanda from Pretoria

Birdsong Cottages - Sunbird

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely venue in the countryside. Vintage feel to everything which was unique. Lovely staff that are very helpful when needed. Only thing that could use some improvement is the maintenance. We had a light without a plug on it, kitchen unit could definitely be replaced. It has collapsed on one side and the funny stove unit has fridges under it that dont work, it is also a little understocked on the kitchen crockery/cutlery etc, as it is a self catering unit. We were a bit disappointed that we were told there was no space for our friends to join us and we were the only people at the venue the entire weekend. However I would go back, its quiet and their is hardly any signal which suited us perfectly.
4 out of 5
by Jacques from Pretoria

Best place on earth

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Best place on earth. Nothing better in the whole wide world.Is this better? My honest review was not accepted so here is the one that might be allowed.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from south africa

nice place

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
good place to stay
2 out of 5
by Nicole from Johannesburg

Bird song cottages

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was nice but the building needs a lot of care. Bathroom was uncomfortably dark and "patched up". We had to find our own table and chairs for outside. The kettle braai was filthy. Bed room light not working. We took a bulb from the other bed room. Bedroom is so dark that you need a flashlight to look in the cupboard. Kitchen utensils were OK but I wish they had warned us that rats or shrews would come to eat our dry packed food. We had to throw away about Zar 250 worth of food. Most of it still new / sealed. The kitchen tabs are put in such a dumb way that you can't even rinse a class under them. Gardens, ponds and fountains are seriously neglected. Bed linen had holes in it and the fitted sheets were not fitted, the elastic was long gone. The walks on the property could be quite nice if more attention was paid to the surroundings.
5 out of 5
by Laila Snedevind from Copenhagen

Beautiful little treasure

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
What a beautiful place in the middle of no-where. We even saw a lot of animals walking around the premises. We stayed in the Owl's cottage A, which was great. The bathroom a little worn. Our friends stayed in Owl's cottage B, which I loved. A great treat when travelling a bigger group (of 6), that we could hang out on the terrace f.ex The staff kindly made a braai for us in the evening and the breakfast is a wonderful surprise. Served in THE most beautiful space ever. I could sit there all day - several days in a row :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by happy customer from pretoria

Great getaway

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
Getaway from the bustle of city life, quiet, enjoy nature
2 out of 5
by D la Grange from Pretoria

In desperate need of cleaning and Maintenance

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
The place has lots of potential. I am not sure if all the rooms are in the same condition but the Owl cottage is in desperate need of thorough cleaning and maintenance. We really did not want to sit on the coaches .I cannot recommend it unless someone is only interested to stay at a remote site.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très sympa

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
Chambres très confortables. Situation très calme avec des zèbres et des antilopes en liberté. Seul bémol : les piscines ne sont pas du tout entretenues.
5 out of 5
by Rob from Tzaneen, South Africa

Lovely Retreat outside Modimolle, Limpopo

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels
What a pity we couldn't stay longer at Birdsong! The family loved the room and surroundings. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with lots of space. The hotel is 9km on a dirt road (which needed to be graded) but it was worth it. Look forward to visiting again.