Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omagh

Fine dining at a relaxing lakeside setting.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly attentive staff. Lots of rooms with period furniture and cosy fireplaces to relax with a drink. Lovely grounds. Good food in the bar area too
Location: The hotel is located beside a lough and has a formal garden and kitchen garden. Mohill is about 2km away. 45 minutes drive to Arigna coal mine museum.
The hotel was fully booked on the first night so we had a bedroom a few hundred meters from the Castle. We asked to have a room with a bath and within 5 minutes we were moved to a suitable room. The temperature in the bedroom was fine although the underfloor heating in the en-suite needed repair and we were provided with a heater. We asked to be moved for our second night and we were given a lovely room in the main castle overlooking the lawns with a view of the lough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous hotel. Excellent staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Room key not working, impossible to get tv working, no internet in business centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Jinxed.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The staff & food were exceptional.
Cons: Already stated
Location: Lovely grounds to walk.
Was put in a remote building, not the castle. Hair dryer didn't work. Pulled down a luxurious bed to see a rather large spider run through the bedclothes. Got me a new room -- much smaller. TV screen wouldn't darken on off, air handler roared through the evening, hair dryer didn't work in this room either, bath floor wasn't heated like original room, cold room at night -- heat seemed turned down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like spending a night in Downton Abby

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Had a wonderful stay in a very pleasant setting. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and the restaurant is excellent. Very much enjoyed the night we spent here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful gardens and nature walks within the grounds
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy reach of town where plenty of restaurants and sightseeing
Very clean, comfortable hotel. Excellent food and lovely location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect for relaxation

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing atmosphere. staff helpful and friendly lovely location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Afternoon tea

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The facility is beautiful but the staff really made our visit special. They are attentive and courteous.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We drove from Dublin to visit the hotel and then drove to Belfast the following day. This was an intentional detour so we did not visit the location.
We only stayed one night. The restaurant and bar food were appealing (breakfast was excellent) but we decided to have afternoon tea in the lounge. We sat in front of the windows facing the lawn. The service was outstanding as was the food and the view. We stayed in the most affordable room which is in the converted stable area. Only from the outside can you tell the building's original purpose. It is a modern facility and very comfortable. The grounds are also beautifully maintained with great areas for walks. Google maps is what we used to navigate to the hotel. Google maps takes us in "the back way". It is a great view but the long way to arrive. Since I had not told my wife where we were going we arrived at the gate and it was a complete surprise to her where we were staying.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kildare

A hidden gem!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely idyllic hotel, could not fault it. The fine dining in the restaurant is recommended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Castle in a parkland setting

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Beautiful landscaped grounds. Enjoyed an excellent evening meal. Breakfast was by order rather than buffet and quite good.
Cons: n/a
Location: Location was beautiful. We walked the grounds and had gone to Strokestown that day, but did not really look for things to do.
We were upgraded to a deluxe room. As is likely true in most castles, there were no elevators, but staff member toted bags and refused an offered gratuity.