Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Room key not working, impossible to get tv working, no internet in business centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Jinxed.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The staff & food were exceptional.
Cons: Already stated
Location: Lovely grounds to walk.
Was put in a remote building, not the castle. Hair dryer didn't work. Pulled down a luxurious bed to see a rather large spider run through the bedclothes. Got me a new room -- much smaller. TV screen wouldn't darken on off, air handler roared through the evening, hair dryer didn't work in this room either, bath floor wasn't heated like original room, cold room at night -- heat seemed turned down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like spending a night in Downton Abby

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Had a wonderful stay in a very pleasant setting. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and the restaurant is excellent. Very much enjoyed the night we spent here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful gardens and nature walks within the grounds
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy reach of town where plenty of restaurants and sightseeing
Very clean, comfortable hotel. Excellent food and lovely location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Afternoon tea

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The facility is beautiful but the staff really made our visit special. They are attentive and courteous.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We drove from Dublin to visit the hotel and then drove to Belfast the following day. This was an intentional detour so we did not visit the location.
We only stayed one night. The restaurant and bar food were appealing (breakfast was excellent) but we decided to have afternoon tea in the lounge. We sat in front of the windows facing the lawn. The service was outstanding as was the food and the view. We stayed in the most affordable room which is in the converted stable area. Only from the outside can you tell the building's original purpose. It is a modern facility and very comfortable. The grounds are also beautifully maintained with great areas for walks. Google maps is what we used to navigate to the hotel. Google maps takes us in "the back way". It is a great view but the long way to arrive. Since I had not told my wife where we were going we arrived at the gate and it was a complete surprise to her where we were staying.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kildare

A hidden gem!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely idyllic hotel, could not fault it. The fine dining in the restaurant is recommended!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle in a parkland setting

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Beautiful landscaped grounds. Enjoyed an excellent evening meal. Breakfast was by order rather than buffet and quite good.
Cons: n/a
Location: Location was beautiful. We walked the grounds and had gone to Strokestown that day, but did not really look for things to do.
We were upgraded to a deluxe room. As is likely true in most castles, there were no elevators, but staff member toted bags and refused an offered gratuity.
4 out of 5
by Teresa from Churchtown, Dublin 14

The perfect haven for any occasion

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous lake-side setting Exquisite dining Great breakfast Friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Eimear from Dublin

A great place to stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was a fantastic location. The food was great. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here!
5 out of 5
by Gerry from Limerick Irelancd

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful relaxing stay at Lough Rynn