Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet peaceful location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
I had a lovely 4 night stay. The staff were efficient, polite and attentive. There are large grounds to stroll around and lovely lakeside gardens.
4 out of 5
by Eric

Expected better.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Requested room cleaning by leaving sign on door. Room was not cleaned. Told front desk at 6pm. Was told it's too late. Luckily a manager overheard and corrected the situation. Food was not very good. Hard, dry chicken in salad. Had to be returned. Hamburger hard and dry like hockey puck. Requested no mayo but it had mayo. Said we were in a rush and waitress never came back. Had to track down a different waiter. Very slow service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
very satisfactory in every respect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Food too!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Location: Isolated... but maybe this is good.
Nice walled garden and grounds; room & amenities first rate; had an excellent dinner - well-presented. Two downers: 1. We couldn't take advantage of the main common sitting area because it was closed for a private function (other areas were crowded and not as comfortable); 2. I couldn't leave an overall gratuity to be shared by all staff (at check-out, due to credit card system limitation).
5 out of 5
by Janice

Recommend

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, ground floor room with walk-out to little garden, premium bedding, WIFI, coffee and tea in room, great staff, fabulous breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and surroundings.

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything
Cons: Swimming pool
Location: Lovely walks and plenty to do in Carrick On Shannon
Beautiful hotel and beautiful view and wonderful gardens. A pity no swimming pool but you cannot have everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Best place in Ireland

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially the staff.
Cons: More selections of single malt scotch in the bar.
Location: Not near much except Carrick On Shannon, a lovely little town.
This was by far our greatest stay in Ireland. The hotel itself is elegant, and the grounds are beautiful, well kept, and great for walks. The food was excellent, both in the bar and in the restaurant, and the staff at every turn was gracious and efficient. I consider this to be our best place for the money of all the places we stayed. If you're looking for touristy things, it is not near much except the lovely town of Carrick On Shannon. But we were looking for a quiet place in the country that was well worth what we paid and close enough to the Dublin Airport to be easily accessible (2 hours). We will be back again.
4 out of 5
by Philip

Wifi limited to common areas only is inconvenient

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Two day escape to Leitrim
5 out of 5
by Brian

Very satisfied customers from Tyrone.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting. Very peaceful with lovely walks. Staff were extremely courteous and food was first class. Ideal for a quite night away.
5 out of 5
by margaret

Luxury romantic but unpretentious.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed one night in this fabulous hotel. Excellent from start to finish.