Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Comfortable and friendly.

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: It suited our needs and has twin-bedded rooms which seem to be as rare as hen's teeth elsewhere!
Cons: Removable handset for the shower.
Location: We only visited family so could not recommend anywhere.
We only needed this for bed and breakfast so did not use any other facilities though we did use the bar one evening. The twin-bedded room was comfortable and clean though the main light and the desk lamp did not work. We did not report this fault until we left as it did not bother us for the short time we were in the room. The shower over the bath was lovely and hot and of adequate pressure although I do prefer the handset to be able to be removed from the wall for rinsing purposes. The lady supervising breakfasts for the time we were there was Claire and I would like to single her out as being particularly helpful and friendly. It was nice to be given a real key for the door instead of those awful key cards! We will certainly use this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Not Provided

COmfortable Short Break Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Brief stay at what appeared to be a modern hotel. However, no elevator to the 2nd floor rooms (but offers of assistance with luggage were made). Also, the room was warm and comfortable but the bathroom plumbing and equipment was somewhat dated and could probably do with an overhaul. Breakfast was substantial but confusing as to whether to serve ourselves or be waited on at the table (everything was laid out as a buffet but the waitress wanted us to stay seated and she would bring things to our table.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by martyn from wales

Don't bother

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
condition of the room was very poor. Is it safe??? The electric wall heater was giving off a big green flash each time the thermostat kicked in. Trouser press didn't work at all. The stickers on the electrical items indicated that the PAT testing (Safety test) was 6 months overdue. TV kept losing reception There was a settee in the room which was disgustingly dirty. I think it was a light peach colour originally but the arms and headrest areas were black with grime. The shower was a bit pathetic and the switch was on upside down so the pointer went the opposite way to where it should.That took a while to figure out as I was freezing. To top it off my room was above the bar and just as I was settling down a god awful pub singer started up. To be fair they did then move me. The new room was more of a 1990s feel than the 1980s of the original room. otherwise not much better. Maybe i'm picky and maybe it's because I'm about 40 years younger than their usual clientelle but £70 a night is about double what it was worth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by G F from Anglesey

Total chillout

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely relaxing over night stay staff really welcoming and helpful Food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Derby

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay the room was a good size and had a sofa in we ate in the hotel it was really nice will go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by mike from sutton coldfield

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel and staff were great,the only thing we found wrong for us was the bed was to hard,but as it was only 1 night we didn,t say anything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay excellent staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah

Cheap and Cheerful basic hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
The room was spacious, beds were comfy and there was the little details such as a flat screen TV and tea making facilities. However, the hotel does feel a bit unloved, the furniture is all a bit dated and the whole place feels in need of an upgrade including the rotting windows! The bathroom was clean with plenty of fresh towels provided but again needed updating. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food but the menu looked great and it seemed to be really busy right up until closing. I really wanted to give the hotel a better review as for the price we paid for our room (£55) it was a cheap and cheerful option that served our purpose. It is just a shame as this place could be made really special, the location is great with beautiful grounds and the staff we encountered all seemed really friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by N M

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel provided an excellent base for visiting family and friends in North Wales. Staff were helpful and polite and our stay in the hotel offered very good value for money.