Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Just right for us

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and efficient. The food was wonderful
Everything very good - only grumble , the hot water did not always come out hot!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great spot and wonderful ambience

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The layout and the position
Cons: The rooms are a little small
Location: box Hill is lovely and the dining opportunities are especially good. Right on the main road
We wanted somewhere that was convenient for Dorking and as a plus had a great location. This has it all
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location to explore Surrey Hills, great service and very good restaurant on site.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne

Lovely hotel, convenient for Denbies Winery

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Quick check-in. Lovely room. Friendly, helpful staff. Said it was our anniversary so when we ordered room service, they chef did us a little surprise dessert. A nice touch.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a disappointment

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The Receptionist was a model of charm and tact in an embarrassing situation....and sent us on our way with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco
Cons: Nil communication with guests - mobile phone details had been supplied
Location: n/a
Despite confirmation of booking, arrived to learn that our room was undergoing urgent maintenance and therefore uninhabitable and consequently we had been transferred to a hotel in Dorking. It seems that no other room was available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Our experience thru out our stay was exceptional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for a wedding that was taking place at the local vineyard. Hotel was beautifully done up inside and the gardens looked lovely too. Rooms were nice with comfy bed but a little warm even with the air con on. The only complaint I have is that the hairdryer was wired in through the back of the dressing table drawer which only left a very short flex making it almost impossible to use. Other than that everything was excellent. The breakfast buffet was very nice indeed. Would definitely come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: A very calming atmosphere when we arrived. All staff we really polite and more than helpful.
Cons: Although my wife and I were only there for one night, we were given a room with an adjoining door to the next room. The next room was quite noisy so we had a disturbed nights sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good stay.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Short overnight stay, but very impressed. I'd say that the only thing was that we couldn't use the bar due to a wedding. I don't understand that because there was no reduction in the rate due to loss of the amenity, but it's a small matter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Pleasant Hotel close to Box Hill

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Hotel is very pretty, clean and staff friendly. Easy to travel to beautiful surrounding areas of interest.
Cons: In room service needs to be improved and please stop advertising room as having Pay Movies as this is not available! Unfairly misleading when booking!
Location: Right on the foot of Box Hill. Very convenient for walkers.
Good Points: Hotel and room were very clean, staff were friendly and welcoming, and surrounding area very beautiful. Bad Points: In room service was poor and expensive for what you get. We ordered breakfast to our room and were very disappointed with very small portions and lack of condiments eg. cutlery, seasoning, serviettes....Needed to phone front desk to ask for these which subsequently took ages to arrive by which time food went cold! Also ,unlike advertised on two different websites (trivago, ebookers), there is no pay movie facility and in light that we had booked the Deluxe Suite, we overlooked a wedding celebration with a disco going on till late. Although this was no problem for ourselves, do be aware when booking on a Saturday night that a good night's sleep is unlikely!