Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, but that's all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

family party

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We stayed at White Horse because of a family party. Found hotel very interesting with all the stairs and stories about hotel being haunted. Breakfast was good had everything you needed. The only criticism was that two of our party was at the top of the hotel and the water pressure for the shower was not good but other than that all good. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Shabby place not worth the price

Posted Jun 23, 2017
What a tired old place. I understand that the building is old and that's part of the charm, but our room was in a sorry state. There wee marks on the walls, stains on one of the pillows chipped paint and holes in a couple of different doors that had been filled in, sanded down and left unpainted. There was an issue with our early check in and then confusion on check out with a "verification fee" that never came out my account but had to be taken from my card despite paying for the room prior to arrival got confused with the charge for breakfast, when it was finally made clear which charge was which. Overall, very disappointing. Breakfast itself was really the only highlight as it was fresh and laid out buffet style.
4 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by John

Convenient for the town and walking in the area.

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
We had to cancel at the last minute due to illness, but we stay here every year and that says something about how it usually is. Therefore I've given it a neutral review.
4 out of 5
by Charles

Traditional Hotel

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
This is a traditional style hotel. The situation is ideal for the centre of town. It needs some updating abd I believe plans are in place for this. All in all a pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired rooms, neglected by the owners

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were ready for refurbishment years ago. Worn carpets, heating doesn't work, secondary glazing with no glazing in! Don't get a room on the front it's noisy in the morning. Great location in Dorking but the hotel has been neglected by the owners.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Weekend break in Surrey

Posted May 2, 2017
Excellent position in the centre of Dorking. Room comfortable & spotlessly clean. Tea facilities available. Provided fresh milk & biscuits on request. Good hot powerful shower. Very good selection of hot & cold buffet breakfast. Would not be good for disabled as lots of stairs, even on one level, due to age of building. This is quaint but a nuisance with luggage. The floorboards are creaky for the same reason and were quite noisy. Decor dated & common areas slightly shabby, more so than rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape town

Historical hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cosy characterful hotel with a fascinating history. Evening menu not varied enough and a glass of wine very expensive. Breakfast was delicious.