Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Basic Hotel, Great Restaurant, Bar & Music

Posted Jul 22, 2016
There aren't many hotel choices on Molikai. This hotel is somewhat basic but it's very comfortable. The food at the restaurant is really good. Try the poke, pupu dishes or the seafood omelette. We upgraded to a room with A/C on the water. Most of the rooms don't have A/C. The view from the room and restaurant was wonderful. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and down to earth. They have live Hawaiian bands every night. You don't need an alarm because the rooster will wake you up. This hotel is a Molokai experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great service by staff!

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The service, location, and the FOOD were terrific!! Loved the music every night by the locals. Better than a lot of Honolulu entertainers.
Cons: Wi-Fi and better telephone coverage. In this day and age, it is a MUST!!!!
Location: Location is excellent and the local community activities great!
The entire staff was very friendly and provided terrific service. I've traveled a great deal throughout the US and even in Europe, and the Hotel Molokai staff was the very best--always ready to help with great smiles and personalities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016
Only hotel on the island, central location, close to town
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Good enough without being exceptional. The staff were very good. Otherwise it is a 3 star experience for a 3 star proce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waianae

Cozy Little retreat

Posted May 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The check-in staff were very friendly. I like the little cozy feel of relaxation and retreat with the hammocks located all over the property.
Cons: house keeping, replenish suppies such as coffee and shampoo & soap
Location: the location is close to the town
The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. The room was comfortable enough. It could use some a/c but other than that the room was comfortable with a fan. As for house keeping, when they cleaned our room, they only gave us one towel and didnt refresh our coffee supply. one packet made the coffee watery for just one cup of coffee...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joshua from Kansas City

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 nights; spent day hiking down to Kalaupapa. Hotel was just fine; some kids but generally quiet, lovely bar/restaurant overlooking the water with a Hawaiian band in the evenings (at least Th and F when we were there). Molokai is slow and quiet and the hotel is a bit out of town; things are expensive (the hotel for its level, cab rides, food for the quality) but very peaceful.
5 out of 5
by NEIL from brighton uk

Marvelous Molokai

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location to explore the island, centrally placed and free parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Mixed review - you need realistic expectations

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Laid back
Cons: Verizon could give you service. Your front desk could be 24/7. Your wireless could be stronger.
Location: Do nothing - this is Moloka'i. What did you expect? If you want to be pampered, go to Maui! THIS IS Hawai'i!!
This island is truly old school - everything is laid back and there is no hint of commercialism. But there is the expense of a tropical resort. The staff here is very friendly - the front desk lady even offered me a spray bottle of SPF30 when she found out I didn't have any sunscreen (I'd forgotten it!). But do not expect our Verizon phone to work AT ALL (no phone, no text). And on my last day of staying, the hot water was completely out - had to heat water in the microwave and take a bath in the sink. And the Internet worked only sporadically. If you can deal with those few things, then you will be fine. If you expect the Ritz, then you will be disappointed. It all comes down to expectations. People are good, but sometimes while we travel, things happen. Please don't expect that you are in Manhattan, and all will be fine! Hang loose - this is Hawai'i!
5 out of 5
by Michael from Kailua Kona

Moloka'i, we will return!

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Always pleasant staff makes our visits pleasurable!