Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Good enough without being exceptional. The staff were very good. Otherwise it is a 3 star experience for a 3 star proce
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Mixed review - you need realistic expectations

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Laid back
Cons: Verizon could give you service. Your front desk could be 24/7. Your wireless could be stronger.
Location: Do nothing - this is Moloka'i. What did you expect? If you want to be pampered, go to Maui! THIS IS Hawai'i!!
This island is truly old school - everything is laid back and there is no hint of commercialism. But there is the expense of a tropical resort. The staff here is very friendly - the front desk lady even offered me a spray bottle of SPF30 when she found out I didn't have any sunscreen (I'd forgotten it!). But do not expect our Verizon phone to work AT ALL (no phone, no text). And on my last day of staying, the hot water was completely out - had to heat water in the microwave and take a bath in the sink. And the Internet worked only sporadically. If you can deal with those few things, then you will be fine. If you expect the Ritz, then you will be disappointed. It all comes down to expectations. People are good, but sometimes while we travel, things happen. Please don't expect that you are in Manhattan, and all will be fine! Hang loose - this is Hawai'i!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonita, CA

Nice place.

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful.
Cons: The air conditioner wasn't really powerful enough to cool the entire room adequately. Also the walls were paper thin. You could hear your neighbors.
Location: It was just a mile or two from "downtown" so close to restaurants, etc., and right along the main road that runs around the island.
We loved the hotel and the on site restaurant. They had local entertainment Friday night. However, they did cancel the Manager's Reception scheduled for Monday night because it was a holiday (Feb. 15th).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Never saw a Beach

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: The people
Cons: Giving me a month long stay.
Location: Nothing, oh excursions, and I came for the quiet.
Hotel like 40 years ago, dined overlooking Lanae, very comfy, like sheets were ironed it seemed, great soap I loved washing and showering in a deep quiet, really deep. Leaving by ferry to Lahaina the best, and the plane to Maui over massive cliffs, rainbow next to the plane.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Charming, laid back place.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Cons: Rooms are modest and noise carries from suite above. Try to get a second floor room.
Has local elders performing late Friday afternoon. Restaurant was a pleasant surprise - good food, good service, impeccable view at sunset and overall excellent value. Did the hike down to Kaulupapa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay on Molokai

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Close to town of Kaunakaki. Bar/restaurant is convient. Rooms and beds are small. No A/C but you don't really need it at night, just a little warm during the day if you're there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel situated next to the ocean on Molokai.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Staff, music, restaurant, kitchen in larger rooms
Cons: Possible shield the lights at night time. Improve the wifi to rooms
Location: Dave's ice cream. Mailing home a coconut Drive to east end of island, hike to waterfalls Swimming a Dixie Maru beach Flight & Kalaupapa tour
The hotel is quaint and the staff are wonderful, especially those on the front desk. People went out of their way to help us when our flight was delayed and the car rental company was closed. So helpful. We enjoyed the nightly live music which played for a couple of hours. The pool was clean and refreshing after a hot day. The newly opened restaurant was good and right on the ocean's edge. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere on the island but found the snorkelling limited in January due to the winds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Very nice hotel, with excellent restaurant on the ocean. Staff was tremendous: very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful getaway

Posted Nov 29, 2015
A vacation from your vacation. Modest hotel with lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, accommodated us with an extra night.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Great staff, made us feel at home, very local style. Accommodated us with an extra night which I couldn't arrange on line because they were booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2015 by Hotel Molokai Executive Assistant, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback about your recent stay. I'm pleased that we were able to accommodate you for the extra night stay. We look forward to your return soon! Mahalo,