Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, England

Lovely hotel overlooking Lake Como

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Ideal for a relaxing holiday with Ferry going to various places throughout the day. Service was good and requests dealt with immediately.
Cons: No Tea and coffee making facilities in room. 20 euros per person per visit to use spa facilities unreasonable cost
Location: Apart from the few restaurants close by there was little else near hotel and no pavements on narrow winding road restricted walking. No shops near.Dot
Spent two weeks at this hotel. Hotel comfortable and attractive and ideally based within three minutes walk to Ferry Boat station. Two or three excellent restaurants within few minutes walk and pool overlooking lake with beautiful views all around. We arrived on the 13th September only to find out pool and pool bar closed on the 15th, however, we were able to use sun beds and towels for the rest of our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very poor room standard

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Food excellent, staff very helpful, location and pool area excellent
Cons: Provide more tourist information, it took a day to track down a tourist office to find out what we could do in the area. There was no local info
The standard room is not what we expected from a 5 star hotel (and price) no tea/coffee facilities, no dressing gowns, (this was provided after approaching the staff) Room very ordinary and disappointing with tiny balcony. The bathroom very tired. Shower leaked through screen making floor wet each time we had a shower.Bath wouldn't fill because water pressure from tap too slow.Bath plug couldn't be removed from plughole.Only one pillow per person.Air conditioning only worked if called down to staff to turn it on.Have stayed in far better rooms and cheaper rooms in 3 star hotel overlooking beach. After complaining to the manager we were upgraded to a 5 star room on our ,last night - or we would have left- only ind that the rate per room has dropped anyway to less than the price e paid for the room in the first place. There was a wedding reception on one day which meant we couldn't use one of the restaurants, children were allowed to run noisily around the hotel guests sitting room, car parking was difficult because the guests for the wedding were also parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Chris

The most tranquil place you could wish to stay.

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
A stunning hotel and location, stayed here last year, and booked for next year already.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst view I could have imagined-

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Hotel was clean location was fine . The view for traveling all the way from New York was totally unacceptable - hotel staff suggested they would look to change the room - they did not folllow through on their promise. I believe that because I booked online they took advantage. I would not recommend the hotel and I will share with others my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and nice location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great views and location, its a bit of a distance to Como town, 15 min drive or can easily catch a ferry. Service was great, good breakfast Would recommend
5 out of 5
by Ellen

Magnificent

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location, lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Front desk staff very helpful, breakfast is a WOW! I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

August stay at the Grand Hotel Imperiale

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Clean and bright and very pleasant, helpful staff. Very nice extensive breakfast
Location: That's the problem - there is nowhere to take a stroll by the lake outside the hotel. The location is not ideal.
Pleasant hotel and friendly helpful staff, though not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Superb Lake Como location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The level of service, the quality of the facilities and the attention to detail.
Cons: Our room was good but it was advertised as having a lake view, which it did, but the lake was somewhat distant.
Location: Loads of things. Eating, drinking and sight seeing.
The location on Lake Como is excellent for exploring all of the Lake and surrounding areas. The hotel caters for those who want to flop by the pool but it's also so easy to go round the lake by car, on the lake by boat, or even, as we did once - owing to my wife misreading the boat time-table - travel back to the hotel by bus. The hotel staff were very welcoming and the facilities - fitness centre, spa, pool - were superb. Special mention has to go to the Lakeside restaurant which was fabulous with great food and very high service levels.
3 out of 5
by Steven

Nice hotel, great pool, odd management decisions

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic pool by the lake and clean rooms. Let down by: Can we play tennis? That'll be 20 euro p/h. Can we park? That'll be 20 euro per day. Can we use the sauna etc? That'll be 20 Euro. Breakfast? 25 Euro per day. The bed is giving us back ache, anything you can do? No. Can we have a double bed? No, only 2 singles pushed together. Staff did everything they could but let down by what must be poor management decisions. Had some comments when we left but the manager wasn't interested and stayed in his office. A hotel should be warm and inviting for a relaxing time, this one did not feel this way. It's not a bad hotel by any means, just the good things have been tarnished by old fashioned management decisions. Would I stay there again? Only if the above had been addressed.