Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

August stay at the Grand Hotel Imperiale

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Clean and bright and very pleasant, helpful staff. Very nice extensive breakfast
Location: That's the problem - there is nowhere to take a stroll by the lake outside the hotel. The location is not ideal.
Pleasant hotel and friendly helpful staff, though not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Superb Lake Como location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The level of service, the quality of the facilities and the attention to detail.
Cons: Our room was good but it was advertised as having a lake view, which it did, but the lake was somewhat distant.
Location: Loads of things. Eating, drinking and sight seeing.
The location on Lake Como is excellent for exploring all of the Lake and surrounding areas. The hotel caters for those who want to flop by the pool but it's also so easy to go round the lake by car, on the lake by boat, or even, as we did once - owing to my wife misreading the boat time-table - travel back to the hotel by bus. The hotel staff were very welcoming and the facilities - fitness centre, spa, pool - were superb. Special mention has to go to the Lakeside restaurant which was fabulous with great food and very high service levels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely!!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Was at a wedding.. was lovely and very close to the venue.staff very attentive and helpful. One minor thing no tea or coffee facility in the room. Otherwise fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Fabulous hotel!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Absolutely fabulous hotel with a pool overlooking the lake. Staff really lovely too. Restaurants at hotel are excellent and the one overlooking the lake is very special. Slight downside is that location wise, there is little in Moltrasio and very few alternative eateries. If you want a relaxing base though this is the place. We also received an upgrade to the Imperiale Villa having booked a de luxe room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Traditional hotel in good location.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Location, large room, view.
Cons: Quality could be better, more TV channel choice, better breakfast.
Location: Lake Como is magnificent, with plenty of sights and walks.
Overall, good, I would probably stay again. Was a bit difficult to find, with my satnav taking me down some strange streets. I stayed on the lake house, which had a good atmosphere. The room was large with a great view but it wasn't in great condition and there were hairs in the bath. The TV channel choice was terrible (only BBC news), as was the breakfast - but then breakfast usually is in Italy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They have what they say and its a great hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was skeptical about this place as some of the reviews were disparaging. This was Easter with my husband and 17 year old daughter. The hotel is a remodeled 19thc villa. the main lobby blends the new with the old part of the façade to give you an atrium feeling. Its lovely as the area is tight, the streets, the roads and everything is compressed so the open soaring ceilings of the lobby is a luxurious feeling to come into from the street. We had a deluxe room facing a lovely garden on the second floor; rm 232. It was huge and had a lovely terrace to listen to the church bells. The infrastructure was of the highest standard. Lighting every area with inset lighting and dimmers in a coffered ceiling. There was plenty of room and the AC was great as well as the heat which at this time of year is important to be able to regulate as its hot in the day and cold at night. The beds were amazing and my husband and I shared an extra king with beautiful linens and great pillows. My daughter had a regular single bed. We stayed 6 nights so it was important to have comfort with enough space. The bathroom was also of the highest standard and all marble with rain shower head and walk in glass. Counter for putting toiletries handy. Our room included breakfast which was above the norm with full eggs and bacon and lovely homemade cakes and great warm baguettes,artisanal yogurt, fruits, the best. Our room included use of the spa and gym was fantastic too. Staff all great.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Diane

Shoddy property condition

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The furniture is so outdated in lobby & other areas, nothing matches or is even color coordinated, shoddy - nothing grand about this hotel at all for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful hotel with comfort, charm

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Beautiful hotel with comfort, charm, walking distance to ferry. Scenic views from hotel and dining area of garden and beautiful mountains with homes as well as the lake views with mountains at the restaurant. Delicious food. Relaxing spa experience. Relaxing teas, sauna, salt room, jets with aroma therapy. Pleasant staff, helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet location, excellent facilities.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location and accessibility. Breakfast.
Cons: Cost of spa facilities. Very limited choice for meals other than breakfast.
Location: Late October limited things to do, summer things would probably be quite different. Ferry very accessible. Outside hotel not a lot to do!
Comfortable room with lake views, all the usual facilities you would expect. Coffee machine in rooms, no instructions, we were supplied with a kettle for tea on request. Courteous and very helpful staff. Exceellent spa facilities but at an extra cost of 20 euro per visit - expensive!! Only one restaurant open in late October so limited choice of where to eat in the evenings in the locality. Extremely limited choice if you want food midday - this aspect was very disappointing and not good enough in my opinion for a hotel of this type and cost. Fabulous setting for outdoor pool, on lakeside for the summer season. Access to other villages via ferries excellent.