Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Overpriced and staff are impolite and untrained

Posted Apr 9, 2015
The room first of all was not a twin- it was tiny with two single beds put next to each other. It was a room meant to be a double room. The beds were touching so it was a little awkward to share with a work colleague. There was no internet OR hot water in the room. The staff were continually impolite and plain rude when taking drink orders. Also the air conditioning did not work and we were promised an extra fan which never materialized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great hotel with fantastic staff!!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Location: This is an excellent hotel with an idylic location on the white sandy beaches on the Indian Ocean...
We had visited Diani Reef twice before and were looking forward to our return visit. The first thing we noticed was how few tourists there were, not just in this hotel but throughout this whole region. This was a shame as some of the staff were losing their jobs and there was less of a holiday atmosphere than on our previous visits. On the plus side however, there was no waiting at the bars or for a table at dinner and there were plenty of sunbeds to choose from!! The hotel itself had changed little in the two years since we last visited. The public areas still looked good but the bedrooms and particularly bathrooms much less so. Although they were perfectly clean and tidy,they were looking a little tired and outdated and are long overdue for redecoration. I would also have thought that a large hotel such as this should offer WiFi in the rooms rather than just in two of the bars. It was a shame that the theme nights had stopped as these were particularly enjoyable last time though I appreciate they wouldn't have been possible with so few guests. The food was excellent however and service attentive. It was also a shame that the watersports centre on the beach was no longer open and we had to arrange activities through a neighbouring hotel. Again, I understand that keeping it open wouldn't have been viable with so few guests but this was quite inconvenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Junho from Mwanza

decent hotel right off the south coast beach

Posted Mar 4, 2014
In general, stay was great. Hotel itself looks little old, but well maintained. Staffs were friendly. Especially food was great. Pools were clean, and probably one of the most well maintained pools i've visited. Beach is right at the back of the hotel, easy access. There are number of activities provided by hotel. There are couple of things that needs improvement. First and most significant set back was the quality of water. When ever we turned on the shower, it came out with rusty red water and smells like rust all the way through the shower. It depends when you take shower, and on top of the rust, hot water was not well supplied. Second was air conditioning. Air conditioning was little noisy and wasn't cool enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Mons, Belgium and London, UK

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: The gym, food, décor and hotel staff were all superb
Cons: Some rooms suffer from the noise from the hotel nightclub. More free water should be provided.
Location: Use the hotel staff to book trips in order not to be ripped off by untrustworthy beech companies. Glass bottomed boat trip was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nikhil from Blantyre, Malawi

It's a very nice hotel. All public areas are good.

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: All public areas are very well made and maintained. The beach was nice and area around swimming pool was quite good.
Cons: The quality of the food.
Location: The location is good and you can do lots of water sports.
We spent 4 night from 27th July to 30th July, 2013. We had good experience and enjoyed every bit of a beach holiday. The breakfast timing of 9.30 am was bit early and we felt it should have been up 10 am in the morning. The quality of the food needs to be improved specially Indian cuisines. The plumbing was in an issue in the bathroom and the quality of the toiletries i.e. shampoo, soaps was not up to the standard. The air-con in the room was not very effective. The spa was very good and the staff were competent. Overall it was a good experience and we had fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ina from Germany

Just a ream in front of the beach

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The design, the stuff and the friendly attitude of the people. And of course the beautiful ocean.
Cons: The breakfast buffet could be a little bit better. For such kind of resort, you really expect a little bit more.
Location: It couldn't be better. Just next to the ocean with this beautiful beach. It's kind of a paradise. Beautiful!
This one is a really beautiful resort in front of the ocean. Everything is so nice, just to feel good and comfortable. The beach and pool are so nice. They have a PADI center and many water activities to offer. The restaurant at the beach side is beautiful. Be aware of the monkeys on your balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicola from UK

Relaxing and comfortable

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: The relaxing atmosphere
Cons: The beach boys (constant hassle)
Location: Diani Beach is beautiful and peaceful
We were there in the low season, and almost had the place to ourselves. A strange experience, but still enjoyable. We have also been there when it is busy, and the feel is quite different. Nonetheless the hotel was very clean, the food was excellent, and staff went out of their way to look after the guests and add to a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The location, south of Mombasa, is quiet and far less built up than the north side. The disadvantage is that the journey to Mombasa, or further north, is quite slow. It is, however, well worth factoring in the "travelling time" in order to enjoy the peaceful south coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for couples and family with demarcated areas

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Exceptional view of the sea and lots of amenities and activities. The restaurants and lounge areas were diverse and comfortable.
Cons: The towels are not later in the day and not immediately after the room is cleaned.
Location: The location of the hotel is great. The ponds and pools not to mention the sea provide for a great location.
The hotel amenities are great and this is complemented by pleasant staff always willing to assist. The room had an exceptional view. The quiet pool (for over 12) provides for privacy and quiet for adults who want occasional peace and quiet away from the main pool which has two pools for the children. In addition, the Diani Hospital close by is an added advantage in the event of any unforseen illness. The staff at the hotel referred me to it and the service received was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our experience with Diani Reef Beach Resort

Posted Feb 12, 2013
The complex is huge. The hotel is nice, the beach is ok when the tide is in - too many weeds at lower tide. We had reserved the ocean view, but the hotel couldn't accommodate us so we ended up with pool vlew. A bit disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Townsville QLD 4810, Australia

Pleasing

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Pros: The beach and bars. The staff where very pleasant with no complaints
I had 3 weeks at Diani Reef Beach of which I totally enjoyed my stay and reccomend to others that are intending to come to Ukanda, Diani Beach region. Cheers Dave