Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Run down place

Posted Feb 8, 2015
No hot water, paint and plaster coming off, construction on small scale going on but by no means near the level necessary to get this into the current century. Restaurant was ok, staff friendly but remote location and reception closing at night. No phone in rooms, no a/c, bathroom terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
I had no expectations of the hotel before arrival BUT I must say this hotel and property is fantastic. I have travelled through the Carribean and the South Pacific but the Hill Park exceeds anything else. The grounds are lush tropical full of flowers and fragrances. The rooms are clean and well maintained with terrific balcony views over the palms to the Indian Ocean. The bathrooms need updating but they are clean. The beach is awesome - white sand, beautiful clear water all the way to the reef and exceptionally private. The restaurant is open air overlooking a well- maintained and attractive pool and hot tub. The staff is accommodating and friendly. The cooks will prepare fresh fish from a local fisher person named Chico for you at a ridiculously low price garnished superbly. If I could come back soon. I would book two weeks to a month here. Hard road into the hotel but in retrospect this adds to the exclusive nature of the property and the beach. Jeffrey Steeves, Canada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, nice private beach!!!

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Service, staff, location, awesome beach and location, pleasent atmosphere surrounded by trees and nature.
Cons: Small details in the room, one lamp was not working, and around the hotel, for example the grass was a bit dry on some gardens, TV was not working.
Location: It is a bit isolated, but we can move using a taxi. It would be nice having the option to move with a boat.
This hotel is worth it the visit. Experience the relaxation of Mombasa in this big hotel.
5 out of 5
by Chris Ambeba from Stone Mountain, GA

Tiwi exprience

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels
It had great service, good food but the location was a little far.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A WONDERFUL PLACE

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels
Wow it was nice staying at this hotel i never regret and for sure i will go back there the next time am on Holiday.!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kastana from oman

hillpark hotel

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels
we really enjoyed our stay here... spent only couple days, but it was lovely.. somewhat hard to find, location here on hotels.com is a bit off, so took us 30min driving in the dark to find the place.. but once there, hotel was very nice.. since we travelled in low season (april), we were one of 3 couples staying in the hotel.. rooms were clean and comfortable with very spaceous balcony.. could've used ac in the room, but fan was working ok.. beach is absolutely fantastic and territory of the hotel is large and clean.. in general we were very satisfied with our stay...
5 out of 5
by Annamarie

Hill park Heaven

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel surpassed my expectations. It's located right on the most beautiful beach and the staff was more accommodating than anywhere I've ever stayed. One of my best vacations ever! I would surely go back.
3 out of 5
by John & Alice

Room for improvement

Posted Oct 5, 2012 on Hotels
while the hotel is in an superb setting, and the staff could not be faulted for enthusiasm, several areas would benefit from a little attention. e.g. the Fillet steak that made up the majority of the Beef section of the menu was unavailable for 75% of the time; The sheets and towels in the room remained unchanged for 4 days, the pool wasn't at it's best; and the outside showers needed attention. I think more attention to maintenance and housekeeping standards might help an obvious lack of patronage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kampala

Nice Easter break at Maweni Cottages

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels
I wanted a place to relax and enjoy in silence. I succeeded pretty much in that because of the nice surroundings of this place. Service and rooms are very good. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Evance the receptionist even helped me to remove sea urchin spines from my foot! (so be warned: please wear shoes, not slippers when you walk on the beach during low tide). The place is so nicely located almost on the beach, which is also very private. Only negative thing: one of the days of my stay there was a wedding and all of sudden the other guest (like me) were not so important anymore for the staff. They told me to eat my food in my room since the restaurant became a wedding venue! The food in the restaurant was not the best, but also not very bad. The nice environment could compensate easily for that! Overall, I had a wonderful stay!