Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Great rooms, great staff and amazing food. The staff are really friendly as well as the front desk staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio - USA

Not the place to stay if you want comfort

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: The pool
Cons: Internet, the reception desk's attitude....English language skills
Location: The beach is difficult to navigate due to the very persistent beach boys
The hotel staff was not helpful in any way- with the exception of the pool boys. The guys at the pool were great, but the reception desk was unfriendly to the point of rude. There was also no access to wifi in the rooms, which is apparently normal. The land-line internet only worked in the lobby for 2 of the ten days I was there. The food served for dinner was not edible most nights, but the breakfasts were good. This is not the place to stay if you expect comfort or to have access to the internet in order to communicate with your family. I will certainly return to Mombasa, but would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Scotland

Fanulous views from the gardens, poolside area

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels
Totally relaxing stay in this by the beach hotel. Staff attentive and friendly. Really nice and quite spacious pool. Lovely seaview from some rooms and garden views from others
4 out of 5
by P. MashackCampbell

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Only drawback bed was hard as a board.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rashid from Oxford, UK

Short stay in Mombasa

Posted May 22, 2012
Pros: Location
Welcoming staff, good location, well maintained, secure
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Virginia Water

Tries Hard and will improve.

Posted Oct 17, 2011
My visit to the Kenya Bay Beach Hotel was spoilt by several days of unseasonal very wet weather. My air conditioned room was large and well furnished with a newly installed bathroom. There seemed to be ongoing work to upgrade all the rooms of the hotel. A large flat screen TV was installed in my room but the range of channels available was poor, no BBC or CNN for example. Great if you liked Bollywood films!! The place can be noisy with music / disco going on well into the early hours. Free broadband is offered either on the hotel's computers or on your own, but only in the hotel foyer or near the dining room. It is not available in your room. On its website, the hotel claims to back onto the famous "Haller Park". This NOT the case, the nearest entry is at least a mile away on the opposite side of a busy main road. Hotel food is fair in both variety and quality. Security is adequate, although the mini-safe in my room was broken and there was no telephone. To summarise, the hotel is improving but there are still areas open to yet further improvement. I found the staff to be helpful and courteous, a big plus in any hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Super stay

Posted Oct 1, 2011 on Hotels
We were at the hotel for 3 days and we absolutely loved it. We stayed at the hotel all the time, and had all our food there. The food was very good and all staff was very helpfull. The animationteam made our stay there much more fun, so if you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy youself, go there. And it has the most beautiful view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Kenya Bay Beach Hotel in Mombasa

Posted Sep 27, 2011 on Hotels
I was a little bit dissapointed by the levels on the cleaniless of the hotel. Things as simple as shining the taps in the bathroom were neglected. Perhaps I was expecting too much for too little but I would have been prepared to pay a little bit more for a clean comfortable hotel. On the positive, the staff was friendly and the hotel is right on the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Kenya Bay Beach Hotel, Kenya

Posted Jul 17, 2011 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, reception staff was very friendly, the food was good and they are on the beach. Unfortunately, the weather was not so great. Maintenance: There was no hot water available in the room. I reported it twice to reception but there was no reaction or even a sorry for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels