Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

This hotels days have come and gone

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything - cleanliness, maintenance, service, facilities
This hotel is tatty, grubby and literally falling apart. Bed was comfortable enough, but the room was dirty, the bathroom unpleasant with taps and pipes falling off walls. Outside the pools look grubby, the bars and restaurants are run down, sun bed pads have bird droppings all over them. My advice is to stay at other Nyali beach resorts, this one is not a great experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Great location. Nice people

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Overall the place is OK. I didn't expect too much. Hello, this is Africa! And I did not go to complain about the hotel but to enjoy the ocean. Yet, there are some thing that other people should know about: The menu was poor for the price. Those who paid all inclusive didn't have much. The so called natural juices were terrible; poor customer service; they would pour the juice in your glass straight from a 5 gallons dusty plastic canister. The cheapest Walmart juice tastes better. The whole place is old and needs major upgrades. That may not happen soon. Luckily I didn't go to stay in the room. Be aware of ants. I paid for ocean view; well I saw the ocean under a very narrow angle from one side of my balcony. Uh, I also had ocean view if I opened the front door. This ocean view was over a pile of garbage from the neighbor's backyard. Nice people. Very friendly. They exceeded my expectations. I would probably go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel experiences

Posted Jun 25, 2016
due to overbooked, room is not available. Put me on 2 bed rooms residential apartment with other couple in next bed room. only main door has key access and no key for bed room door. No shampoo, soap for shower and bathroom is not clean. Buffae finished only after 1hr of starting while guest has to share chicken (only meat left) one piece per guest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Loved our stay. I will be going back again.
5 out of 5
by Jose A from Houston Texas

Nice place ti relax....

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel has all you need to relax and enjoy. People are friendly and helpful. The food is good and facilities nice!
5 out of 5
by peter from Chester

Reef Hotel Stay

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay - very nice people
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Middle of the road hotel

Posted May 12, 2015
This hotel like with many hotels in Mombasa is old and definitely in need of modernisation. Road reasonably comfortable, but foam mattress very uncomfortable. Shower pressure very good. Lovely gardens, pool and great access to the beach. Nightly entertainment and buffet good. Breakfast buffet limited and could be better. In summary ok hotel, nothing outstanding and nothing overly disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Pool area
Cons: One key policy, showers, food and beverage
Location: Close to Nakumatt and city mall. Enjoyed that area very much
Biggest problem with the hotel, some ludicrous policy of only giving one key to the guest. Which means, as you leave the room, you take your key out of the magnetic holder, and your AC turns off. Once you come back to the room from the outside heat, you can't relax, since it's literally a sauna inside the room. You'll have to wait for 3 hours for the room to get cool. Showers are more like a 2 star rather then 4, I've seen 3 rooms, and all bathroom had one thing wrong or the other. The AC in my first room was not working, it took until 2 am the first night to convince the AC technician that the AC is blowing hot air. Finally I got a room with a working AC. Apart from the front desk, all staff were extremely friendly. Pool area is nice, although restaurant and bar would need higher quality of food and drinks. Menu show Caeserean salad, I assumed it was Caesar. It was atrocious, the lettuce on the salad was brown, not green.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice beach

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: location is very good, staff is very helpful and friendly
Cons: maintenance
location is super, hotel need renovation, kitchen is so so
1 out of 5
by Janin from Germany

No refund after cancelation

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
I had to cancel my booking on a very short notice (24hrs before) because of an medical emergency. Gladly and very much appreciated the hotel management accepted the cancelation via telephone and even advised how to proceed with the booking agency. According to that the cancelation was also done via email to the booking agency. However, after multiple calls and emails the hotel did not refund the booking. The booking agency stated that the hotel did not reply anymore. Personally I also did not ever receive an email response on my mails from the hotel. In a very difficult private situation of a serious health situation I found that deeply disappointing and unprofessional in service and the management is purely profit-oriented only.