Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place for the whole family!!

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the hotel, the staff was amazing, they were a little confused on Sunday with the wait staff. I give it to being a holiday. Make sure you use the net in the room and eat at the seafood restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with very good security on the Beach

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Services
Cons: All was good and you cant nobody can be 100%.
Location: Once at the hotel you don't need to go anywhere
Very helpful stall and the GM and always there.Would definitely recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel needs updating

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The facilities need updating. Room by the beach smelt unclean Staff were good but need training Male staff made my wife feel uncomfortable as they stared and had boundary issues. They wee unprofessional and over familiar Entertaining guest in the evening after dinner was lacking. We went else where
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing.

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and surroundings are lovely. They do not overshadow the staff, who were all extremely courteous, friendly, helpful and go the extra mile to help! Very impressed and will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome. Exactly what I hope for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend anyone. Not value for money...

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Staff are ok. Rooms too old. Beds are terrible. Duvets and pillows are awful. They do not supply hair conditioner in the bathrooms. AC do not work in some rooms. Had to see 3 rooms before I could chose one which was so, so. Food is terrible. They do not know how roses on food. Repeat menu. Awful deserts. Only the breakfast is ok. High tea time, no snacks only tea or coffee, Order for sandwiches or cakes pay extra. The hotel is not value for the price that one pays. Would say it is a 2 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by Mr A from London

Relaxing beach location with excellent, service

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
An ideal spot for an easy-going, relaxing break, with the ability to explore Kenya further, especially the nearby game parks. Scuba diving in the offshore nature reserve is average. Food is good, service friendly, rooms comfortable and clean, facilities good. My only reservation is that on a half-board basis we were only given 1,000 KS credit towards the seafood restaurant when taking a meal there in lieu of a dinner that was nominally charged at around 6,000 KS.
4 out of 5
by Kent from Lilongwe, Malawi

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was excellent and we will definitely consider coming again. More spraying for mosquitoes in the room may be required Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic place to stay.

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great staff, position and food.
Cons: It is faultless
Location: Straight onto the Indian Ocean
The staff are so helpful it is really a delight to stay there. Can't fault it. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel that values local culture

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
This is an excellent hotel that really values welcoming guests. I really appreciate Serena Hotel's value of local culture. This hotel in Mombasa displays crafts from around the area, has established a conservation program for endangered butterflies, traditional music performances, and offers a wide array of Kenyan food -- something few high-end Kenyan restaurants do. While the rooms are a bit small and old-fashioned (beware that there are very few electrical plugs in the room!) the overall experience of the hotel makes up for this. To boot, Serena makes it very easy for holiday-makers to enjoy watersports with a company on site that offers windsurfing, scuba-diving, and more. Make sure to make use of the free catamaran trip which isn't well-publicized but it on offer at the PADI center on the beach in front of of the hotel.