Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid- poor service and condition

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was by the far the worst service and hotel stay experience I have had in a long time- in Africa or otherwise. The hotel staff were very nice upon checking in; however, that is where the service stopped. We had plan to have laundry service. There was an issue due to the fact they did not have the forms available and were unable to provide us with forms before dinner. As such, we went to drop off first thing the next morning as the book in the room indicated it same day before 10. I was told that this was not the case (the new forms said otherwise- the forms we didn't have) and it would be a rush/double the price. I was blamed and not offered any options other than to pay double. They were very rude. It was nearly impossible to get hot water. The shower head (advertised as rain shower) was a cheap/old shower head that sprayed water in streams that hurt like pins and needles yet was not strong enough to rinse out women's hair. The only redeeming factor was the food. We only ate 1 breakfast and 1 lunch- but there were both good with a nice variety. However, the service was slow and we were told by the waiter that they did not have any more Coke. Which of course I find hard to believe, especially because I saw plenty of others who arrived after us drinking Coke. The hotel also boasts they have several bars and restaurants; however, most of them were run down and closed during our stay. Hotel also advertises bathrobes, which we did not have any in our room.
4 out of 5
by Carol from US Virgin Islands

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I was visiting Nairobi for two weeks and decided to take a quick trip to the Coast. We had the complete adventure experience. We hired a car and took the 8 hour drive down so we could see the wildlife and sights. (Not recommended unless you are adventurous) Butonce at the hotel, it was awesome! Great staff, good food, good location, did I say great staff.
2 out of 5
by Jonathan from London

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel shows sign of being need of an update. Rooms are clean but dated. Agreed airport transfer but hotel forgot to arrange. Website not clear on facilities availble in rooms. Will not return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel, Just ok

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the beach. We did take the glass bottom/snorkling tour of the reef.
Cons: The hotel is dated and is showing its age. Would recommend another hotel.
The Hotel entrance and Security Staff was very good. The Service Staff in general was excellent as was the case with every hotel we stayed in in Kenya. The room not so at all. Even the common areas appeared to be dated (unreplaced window panes, light fixtures old etc). The bathroom in both rooms we booked had the appearance of a Motel 6 Bathroom....you know the ones you see in movies by the highway. The food dinner especially was bland (but then the primary audience seemed to be either German or Dutch..could not figure out which). The breakfast was excellent though with bacon on the menu believe it or not.The tourism sector in Mombasa has been devastated as we noticed the almost complete absence of tourists (western) on the beach!! There were a fair number of Kenyan resident tourists however, they are not big $penders, don't drink alcohol in general etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Super Laid Back relaxing experience.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: The eco-friendly, non-commercialized, traditional Kenya vibe was great. Don't come here if you are looking for glitz.
Cons: Make sure that the bartenders aren't chisellilng the customers!
Location: Mountain Bike experience is fun -- but be ready to experience grotty villages and traffic Diving on the reef is great -- fantastic soft coral.
Plus -- Lovely location, friendly if not always super efficient staff. Very comfortable rooms. Great for romantic getaway. Minus -- One of the bartenders is a bit of a sharp operator. I asked for a shot of vodka to go with the excellent mango smoothie. The- vodka was either watered down, or had been improperly stored, but it was mostly vodka-flavored water. After too much back and forth, he agreed not to charge me for it. I then asked for a shot of the local rum. He came back with Bacardi, I said I asked for local rum, he said it was dark rum. I said I know, that is why I ordered it. He said "no problem, I'll charge you for the local rum". I agreed. However, when I got the bill I was charged for Bacardi! When I confronted him with this, he didn't apologize, but took his pen and wrote in the amount for the local rum. But this didn't reflect in the billing when I checked out.
5 out of 5
by danielle from Liège ( Belgium )

Severin Sea lodge experience

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
I had a nice stay in the lodge , staff super friendly , helpful , food delicious , great location by the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing resort

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
A very enjoyable and relaxing environment with super friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely return for another holiday. The poor WIFI reception in the rooms was the only negative point of my entire week there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Family friendly half-board on Bamburi Beach

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Comfortable, spacious rooms with interconnecting doors. Shower a bit leaky but otherwise adequate. Great on site restaurant with delicious food and lovely swimming pool.
5 out of 5
by Carla from U.S.A.

On the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great Stay. The view is perfect and the staff is friendly.
4 out of 5
by Sonie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels