Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is close to the beach and amazing.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great experience. Although some parts of the room were not dusted (cleaned) for instance the balcony and some surfaces inside the room!
5 out of 5
by Elycia

Wonderful 11 day stay in Africa!

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous resort hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience and horrible service

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
A colleague and I booked to stay at Severin for 5 days. At check in, we were left to fill in check in forms and offered juice. I requested hot water instead as I have a cold but was told there was none. I asked the lady to get some and she said she couldn't and she is not allowed to access to the kitchen and that the juice/reception is her department and not the kitchen. We waited for over 30 minutes and finally told they couldn't accomodate us as they were fully booked but would put us up in a sister hotel next door. They had apparently spoken to the online travel agent who didn't pass the information to us but had agreed with him that they would find an alternative hotel. We checked into the sister hotel and it was a horrible, run down and dirty hotel full of mosquitoes. We complained to Wycliffe and the manager at Severin but they did nothing. We had a dreadful night sleeping on dirty sheets and being bitten by mosquitoes all night!! Severin then put us up on the second night and upgraded our rooms but we had had such a bad experience with them from the start that we opted to leave. Why Severin chose to put us up in a hotel that is unkempt and classes below them, is perplexing to me but it goes to show what their customer service is like. Not a hotel I would recommend to anyone as their service needs a complete overhaul and they also need to improve the upkeep of their grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice place with great staff Beach was good but lots of Ripken trying to sell trinkets
4 out of 5
by Ricki

Severin 2017

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Good food. Comfortable rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid- poor service and condition

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was by the far the worst service and hotel stay experience I have had in a long time- in Africa or otherwise. The hotel staff were very nice upon checking in; however, that is where the service stopped. We had plan to have laundry service. There was an issue due to the fact they did not have the forms available and were unable to provide us with forms before dinner. As such, we went to drop off first thing the next morning as the book in the room indicated it same day before 10. I was told that this was not the case (the new forms said otherwise- the forms we didn't have) and it would be a rush/double the price. I was blamed and not offered any options other than to pay double. They were very rude. It was nearly impossible to get hot water. The shower head (advertised as rain shower) was a cheap/old shower head that sprayed water in streams that hurt like pins and needles yet was not strong enough to rinse out women's hair. The only redeeming factor was the food. We only ate 1 breakfast and 1 lunch- but there were both good with a nice variety. However, the service was slow and we were told by the waiter that they did not have any more Coke. Which of course I find hard to believe, especially because I saw plenty of others who arrived after us drinking Coke. The hotel also boasts they have several bars and restaurants; however, most of them were run down and closed during our stay. Hotel also advertises bathrobes, which we did not have any in our room.
4 out of 5
by Carol from US Virgin Islands

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I was visiting Nairobi for two weeks and decided to take a quick trip to the Coast. We had the complete adventure experience. We hired a car and took the 8 hour drive down so we could see the wildlife and sights. (Not recommended unless you are adventurous) Butonce at the hotel, it was awesome! Great staff, good food, good location, did I say great staff.
2 out of 5
by Jonathan from London

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel shows sign of being need of an update. Rooms are clean but dated. Agreed airport transfer but hotel forgot to arrange. Website not clear on facilities availble in rooms. Will not return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel, Just ok

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the beach. We did take the glass bottom/snorkling tour of the reef.
Cons: The hotel is dated and is showing its age. Would recommend another hotel.
The Hotel entrance and Security Staff was very good. The Service Staff in general was excellent as was the case with every hotel we stayed in in Kenya. The room not so at all. Even the common areas appeared to be dated (unreplaced window panes, light fixtures old etc). The bathroom in both rooms we booked had the appearance of a Motel 6 Bathroom....you know the ones you see in movies by the highway. The food dinner especially was bland (but then the primary audience seemed to be either German or Dutch..could not figure out which). The breakfast was excellent though with bacon on the menu believe it or not.The tourism sector in Mombasa has been devastated as we noticed the almost complete absence of tourists (western) on the beach!! There were a fair number of Kenyan resident tourists however, they are not big $penders, don't drink alcohol in general etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Super Laid Back relaxing experience.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: The eco-friendly, non-commercialized, traditional Kenya vibe was great. Don't come here if you are looking for glitz.
Cons: Make sure that the bartenders aren't chisellilng the customers!
Location: Mountain Bike experience is fun -- but be ready to experience grotty villages and traffic Diving on the reef is great -- fantastic soft coral.
Plus -- Lovely location, friendly if not always super efficient staff. Very comfortable rooms. Great for romantic getaway. Minus -- One of the bartenders is a bit of a sharp operator. I asked for a shot of vodka to go with the excellent mango smoothie. The- vodka was either watered down, or had been improperly stored, but it was mostly vodka-flavored water. After too much back and forth, he agreed not to charge me for it. I then asked for a shot of the local rum. He came back with Bacardi, I said I asked for local rum, he said it was dark rum. I said I know, that is why I ordered it. He said "no problem, I'll charge you for the local rum". I agreed. However, when I got the bill I was charged for Bacardi! When I confronted him with this, he didn't apologize, but took his pen and wrote in the amount for the local rum. But this didn't reflect in the billing when I checked out.