Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Probably good by Kenya standards

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I really wanted to love this place. The location is beautiful. The entrance is beautiful. Check in was efficient. Unfortunately, it is all down hill from there. The rooms are ok. Beds are hard and ants are plentiful. The food is all buffet all the time and it is mediocre. They claim to have two restaurants but the locations change. We were the only people to eat in the "Italian" restaurant. The communication in Kenya is mind boggling and not unique to this property. With that in mind, do not expect to get what you ask for and don't ask for anything that is not already in front of you. The people smile nicely but really don't want to be bothered to work. My advice to the hotel would be to hire a new management team from outside Kenya and retrain the entire staff. Also, hire a new chef.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Amazing beach holiday

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Voyager beach resort is a dream, from the moment you step off your vechicle , the reception from the doorman/ bellhop is simply out of this world, while awaiting check in, a warm towel is provided to freshen up, then a cold glass of juice, check in is reasonable,the rooms are clean, food amazing, still trying to burn off the weight, only negative are the cats that are allowed to wander around dinning guest and the entertainment is good and interactive. Had the time of my life and was sorry to leave. It is definitely a must visit on Mombasa holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The pools, the gardens, the staff.
Cons: Make sure that bookings are adhered too. If you book a sea view, you want a sea view.
Location: Haller Park is very close by and worth a 2 hour afternoon trip if you want to see giraffes, hippos, buffalo and crocs up close.
After a rocky start to our stay- we really enjoyed the Voyager Resort Hotel, a big thanks to Beautie for helping us. The staff are friendly and helpful and the entertainment very good. 3 swimming pools are a bonus and it is directly on the beach. We joined in with the sports itinerary on most days. There are lots of relaxing spots to move between so able to find company or solitude, depending on your mood. The buffet food was of a good quality, with several dishes freshly prepared in front of you, if you wanted them. Avoid rooms 3218 and 3219, as there is some sort of pump running underneath them and at night it is very noisy. They were turned off one night and it was bliss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel with Gd African delicacies.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Execelent!! my kids played with beach sand and it was all fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Voyager Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. Looking forward to hosting you again.
5 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Nice comfortable hotel with plenty of pools.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
This is my second time staying at the Voyager, and I have enjoyed both stays. The first time was at a time when there were fewer guests and this past stay was during a sold out Easter weekend. Both stays were peaceful and nice. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and even with a full house I always found pool chairs, table at dinner, etc. In fact the hotel had special events for Easter which enhanced the stay. Overall, a positive experience. I particularly enjoyed the Swahili lounge with the swinging beds and the choice of swimming pools. The wifi is strong and works throughout the hotel. The beach is nice, but unfortunately at this location the tide gets really low during the morning making it impossible to swim in the ocean. If you want more time swimming at the beach, this is not the place. Lastly, the hotel has resident cats that roam around tables during meal times. As someone with a severe cat phobia, I found this disturbing and uncomfortable. For these reasons, I'll probably look for another coast hotel ny next visit to Mombasa, but I'd recommend Voyager to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable beachfront hotel.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Excellent hotel resort

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel/resort was great in every way, we cannot fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful Staff and Facilities

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The staff made me feel welcome, the location was very convenient to entertainment and the old town, food was great and so was the view from my room.
Cons: Internet was a bit spotty and the room could use a little freshening (I'm sure the high humidity and salt take their toll).
Location: The hotel is very near the Marine Park and the Haller Conservation Park in the most beautiful part of Mombasa. Live music down the street.
I only stayed one night at the Voyager (a break from business in Nairobi) but from the time I arrived, the staff made me feel welcome and did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable. I couldn't get late checkout (it was the Friday before Easter and they were very busy) but they were happy to have me hang out and enjoy the relaxing grounds and facilities the rest of the day. I visited the city for a few hours and even though I was back after the normal lunch time they served me an excellent meal in their "fine dining" restaurant. I only use the parentheses because it's really a relaxed, open air place with very good food at very moderate prices. They even cooked a dish I requested based on what fish the chef recommended - calamari - and it was fantastic. I was the only one eating there and never felt like I was a bother - quite the contrary. The facilities are beautiful but the internet was slow and a bit unreliable. The theme is cruise ship and they pull it off successfully. My room had a beautiful ocean view but was right above the children's pool which could get noisy during the day. However, the kids I saw always looked like they were having a great time and were well looked after and entertained by the staff. If I get back to Mombasa, I will definitely stay there again. I recommend people get out into town, check out Masai down the road for live music.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We took the all inclusive and it is worth it. You can only drink local beer , wine and soft drinks. Food is buffet style with a huge variety and its very good. They have 3 pools with excellent service from pool attendants and waiters. Rooms were spacious n clean. However the showers could have been better. Took for ever to rinse hair. Need to change those. Very honest hotel. Lost a sweater n got it back . I was impressed with that. Check out is at 1030 am and afterwards u ca no longer access the hotel services without paying. Our flight was later n we couldnt even have lunch before we left. We did pay into an all inclusive. Going back at the end of this month.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cabins wv

Nice Mombasa getaway on the North Coast

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: food and staff
Cons: air conditioning
Location: did not visit any nearby attractions
The Voyager was a delight in many ways. It lived up to my expectations in every way but one. The air conditioning units in both of our rooms did not put out any cold air. The food was great, service excellent, and the views, magnificent. We enjoyed the evening entertainment. Nice amenities were a plus.