Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortably upscale large hotel on the Mediterrane

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: staff, location, cleanliness
Cons: Replace the rug?
Location: sea view, mountain view, dining
I would definitely return. The staff was especially professional and accommodating. For example, I left a suitcase there a few hours early and it was delivered to my room for me right after I checked in. I also ordered a continental breakfast delivered to my room for 8:00 am, which appeared at about 7:59 and 30 seconds. Perfect. The terrain there is even more beautiful than I expected. The hotel is directly between the Mediterranean coast and the cliffs that border Monaco on the land side. Gorgeous. There's also a rose garden right across the street, which was a delightful surprise. I paid for a sea view, and I think the view would have been a bit better on a higher floor (I was on the 2nd, and there were some trees in the garden below that blocked just a bit more than I would have liked), but the sunrise over the water was stunning anyway. The room was very comfortable: comfy bed, good lighting, clean bathroom. There was a deck with a small table and two chairs. They had proper wine glasses ready in the room, which was a nice touch, though I recommend buying from the huge Carrefour nearby rather than paying minibar prices. If I had to make one complaint, I would say the navy blue rug in the halls and the rooms was surprisingly worn for an otherwise pretty upscale hotel. Replace the rug! In general, I would describe the decor as chic in a welcoming rather than cold and intimidating way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Zimmer sind sehr sauber, aber etwas schon in die Jahre gekommen - eine Renovierung steht sicher bald an. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich, Frühstück ist wunderbar
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perrysburg ohio

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: the pool! The staff was very nice and helpful especially Patrick!
Location: Everything is within walking distance ,bus or train! so many options
Stayed here 5 nights, The pool was great! Easily walk everywhere to attractions etc..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good if the price is low for bigger rooms

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: price, breakfast
Cons: size of the standard room, small windows, cleaningness
Location: The usual in Monaco
Overall it is a very decent hotel for 3*. The hotel needs refreshing as it is a little worn out (carperts are not too clean, etc). We booked a standard room for 2 nights. The rooms are small and windows are small which together is is slightly depressing to be in the room. If you are planning to stay there, try to book a bigger rooms with terrace.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Pretty and comfortable hotel, good value

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Facilities, proximity to various places in Monaco, fantastic reception staff
Cons: Poolside service, 'birthday surprise' service to be received by all guests rather than just few
Location: Prince's palace, yacht ports, Monte Carlo Casino
The hotel is in a lovely and convenient location within a few minutes walking distance from the ports and prince's palace as well as about half hour walk away from the Monte Carlo Casino, it's also right next to a helicopter landing strip which is convenient if you want to fly to and from Monaco. The reception staff are very friendly, pleasant and welcoming as well as extremely helpful and so is the room service as well as breakfast staff. Unfortunately the pool staff who are also there to order any food and drinks you might want to have at the pool are not quite as friendly or polite, they seem to be always in a rush to get away from the customer and take a very long time to even order. I personally had to chase down a member of staff at the main hotel bar in order to be able to order poolside drinks and snacks as he only showed up once every half hour at the pool and when he showed up he completely ignored me waiting at the pool bar area ready to order. Aside from this inconvenience, the hotel is really lovely, clean and spacious with very comfortable rooms, great views and fabulous bathrooms and facilities and good value. The breakfast buffet is also lovely with plenty of various hotand cold foods and beverages to choose from whatever you might like. All in all, it's a nice hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Room and customer service not worth the money.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The view was nice. It is within walking distance to everything, but all of Monaco is.
I have stayed at many hotels on my excursion in Europe and the experience I have had at this hotel since walking in the door has been far from VIP. The front desk manager said she knew nothing of their Expedia VIP status. She would not let me speak to any other manager and wanted to argue with me and charge me an upgrade fee. Which I agreed to at first until I saw the room. She then said you can have your original room if you don't want to pay upgrade fee, not even offering to give it for free. She then showed me my original room which was pretty much the same as the upgraded room. A few details: When I walked up to reception, no one said hello... in any language. When I approached the desk, I told her I had a reservation. She said, "Well, I would hope so". The a/c wouldn't work because the patio door would not close properly due to broken handle. I went to get ice on the 9th floor. It was empty. I went to the 6th floor a sign referred me back to the 9th. I went back to the room and called reception and asked for ice. I explained that I had walked to both floors and there was none. I asked if some could be sent to me. The woman who I was speaking with said, "It is automatic, the other guests must have used it all, we cannot bring you ice as we do not have room service." The mini bar was never unlocked until I checked in the morning. The corkscrew broke into pieces as I was trying to use it. I called for directions to use the safe. It didn't work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel, a little far from main strip

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The hotel itself was nice. Room was s good size although was starting to show some wear. Design felt a little stale. Location was about 25-30 minute walk to the main area in Monte Carlo.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel licht centraal voor strand winkels shoping

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Was goed te doen aardig personeel en lekker rustige buurt
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Excellent Solo Getaway

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Management and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The exterior hotel was immaculate. The pool, restaurant patio, and grounds were well kept.
Cons: The beds were incredibly uncomfortable compared to US standards. The rooms could use a refresh. Bath tile, carpet were worn.
Location: Great location. City Center for shopping/groceries/& cheap eats was 10 min. walk. Beautiful park w/duck pond across the street. Two marinas close by.
My experience was excellent. The most impressive part of my stay was the friendliness/helpfulness of the staff. They were very accommodating/helpful and experienced with working with guests from English speaking countries. They provided me with the "locals" perspective on how to maximize my stay via shopping, tours, restaurants etc. They did there very best to make sure that my stay was comfortable. They answered all of my questions with a smile and they were patient. They arranged all of my tours and provided clear instructions on how to travel and get around. As a solo traveler, its imperative for hotel staff to know you and keep an eye on you, therefore they were helpful on helping me stay safe. Also be prepared that they are serious wine & coffee drinkers and will offer it at every meal. They don't smoke in buildings but definitely at the restaurants and they take their pets everywhere. You'll see dogs of all sizes but they are well behaved and used to people. The best tours are the Eze/Monoco, and the 1/2 Day Nice tour. Take the On/Off Bus to tour the whole Nascar/shopping route that includes 10 on/off stops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels