Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sd

Bar prices in function room are a rip off

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Bar prices in the function room are higher than in the bar. Staff initially refused a receipt and when one was insisted on the receipt was for less than I had been asked to pay. This was not an isolated incident at the event and when I raised it with hotel management their response was less than satisfactory advising us if we wanted to pursue the issue to raise it with the police. Tell your guests to buy their drink I. The bar and bring it into the function room or insist on a receipt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Donegal

was dissappointed with the hotel. decor was loud.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: close to Monaghan town. breakfast was very good
Cons: I would have liked to have known that this was very much a family hotel; when I booked it was for the spa and relaxing atmosphere.
Location: went for walks.
went for a relaxing few days at Easter but was over-run with children; children were in the bar at 11.30pm at night and the foyer was like a race track; went to our room at 12.30am and children still running around.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by barry

Amazing staff.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly local staff that were more than helpful. Fantastic rooms and food. Highly recommend it for pleasure or business stays.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dromore

Our night at The Hillgrove Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay it was very relaxing and great to get a night free from kids. The only reason I wouldn't recommend to anyone is the price we paid €170 at reception they told me it was €190! We paid that for a basic room and an average breakfast and I think that is very expensive for a bed and a fry. Staff were very friendly and accommodating though and I loved the decor it's very different but really cool.
3 out of 5
by EAMON

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Food and service ok but bed was like lying on a bed of stones
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at the Hillgrove for a wedding,hotel was lovely,clean and fresh,modern,breakfast was good,gluten free items provided. Felt it was very expensive for what we got but I suppose that comes with weddings!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel...Everything perfect especially food

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Cons: Ventilation in rooms
Room was a little warm /stuffy and I prefer a bright light on the ceiling.Otherwise great..Clean modern spacious .Staff and restaurent excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enniskillen Ekn

Paradise

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Ebookers
From check in until checkout you are treated very well you couldn't ask for better,food and all staff excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Very nice relaxing stay, staff very friendly, swimming pool facilities great, changing rooms could be improved, loved the outdoor hot tub.