Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An adequate crash-pad in the heart of Athens!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Athenstyle is an inexpensive hostel-style facility that caters to mostly young people from all over the planet. Beautiful, close-up view of the Acropolis from roof-top terrace (w/bar & bfast or just hanging out. Our room had similar view (ask for it at desk). Our room also had a kitchenette. If you're like my family, you're on the go all day and just need a clean place to crash...this is it. All "must-see" sights are within walking distance, and the "Plaka" old-town experience begins as soon as you step outside. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool UK

Excellent location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Close to everything and staff go out of their way to help you. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ma

Location is fantastic

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: location, staff, rooftop bar
Cons: toels
This is a hostel - not elegant in any way, but location is fantastic, staff is very friendly and helpful. Unless you plan to stay in your room instead of exploring, this is perfect, economical choice. Roof top bar overlooks the acropolis- beautiful!
4 out of 5
by James

Greece 2017

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff!! Helpful and easy to speak with. I wish we had read more reviews and known this was a hostel. Should say this in the hotel description. That aside, convent area. It isn't a quiet place if you want to go to sleep before midnight and on weekends there is partying until the early hours of the morning. Overall a good stay, but next time we will search for another place and leave this boutique hostel to the younger people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Really a hostel

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Unfortunately, I spent two nights here. The desk people are nice. The rooftop breakfast area is pleasant with a great view. It is close to transportation and there is a gritty congestion that feels real compared to the more touristy areas. As has been said, it really is a hostel. While there are basic 'regular' rooms like mine, there are lots of hostelers who are out all night in the street having a loud time. It's a very narrow street and the sound reverberates between the establishment's two buildings like a speaker system. It was very overpriced, in fact, I paid more than twice as much as a family who had a room like mine. My room had odor of urine, which may have come from the room next door, where people seemed to be drinking and banged their door as they went in and out during the night. The cleaning person was lovely when I encountered her upon leaving. She insisted on carrying my bag down the stairs, but my room had gone untouched for the two nights I was there. I would suggest management just keep it a hostel. Combining the two will always be a problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Ok hotel in the heart of Monastiraki

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Great location on a side street in the heart of Monastiraki..HVAC problem with our 2 rooms, will not stop on programmed setting.. run non-stop..Staff was great.. Rooftop bar with Acropolis view was awesome..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Cheap with a decent location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
When I say decent location, its close to a metro and the central areas. The location itself is not somewhere yoy would want to hang around. The hostel is cheap and the main highlight for me was the rooftop bar which had reasonable prices as well as a great view of the acropolis. Rooms are okay. The shower was tiny and difficult to use and without a lock. Heaps of room to store your stuff safely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

very fun hostel, comfortable stay for great price

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Staff was very helpful, spoke great English and knew the area well. The rooms were clean, rooftop bar is a great way to meet other people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Fun hostel in heart of old Athens and nightlife !

Posted Jul 11, 2017
My kids and i enjoyed thoroughy this youth hostel in a bit decrepit yet very lively part of historical Athens. Acropolis by foot, cheap food digs all around, quaint flea market right there and metro to everywhere. Do not expect to sleep on saturday nights too well as the young crowd gets boisterous on the rooftop bar and snack restaurant with incredible view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice affordable hotel, close to all the sights

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: It's close to all the sights, its clean and staff is very helpful
Cons: The dryer leaves your clothes damp not dry. I used it three times, same each time.
Location: The sights are all within walking distance, we walked to everything except the Natl. Archeological Museum. Subway is 50m away.
The room was clean as was the hotel. Washing machine onsite, 50m from the Monistraki subway station, good view of the Acropolis, about a 1 km walk away as well. If you're between 18 and 28 this is ideal for you. I stayed with my two teens, happy with everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Paulo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We're glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that the water in the dryer needs to be emptied when the tank is full. In case the clothes are not dry, please inform our Front Desk and we will assist you. If it didn't dry the first time, it means that there was something wrong with it, in this case the tank was full of water. We're located right in the heart of the city with direct metro connection with the port of Piraeus and the Airport. Happy travels, AthenStyle.