Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern england

Super hotel beautiful grounds

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Lovely setting, beautiful grounds, room was gorgeous. We were a bit disappointed that the restaurant was not open but the food in the brasserie was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Sandra Polet, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for this kind message. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food in the Brasserie which is indeed a very good quality and that you were happy with you room. The one star restaurant is closed from mid November to mid April. Do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay so that we can give you all the information about our estate. We look forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Yours sincerely, Sandra Polet Reservation Manager
5 out of 5
by Ian Jackson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chateau Stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Cons: More could be done to provide some footpaths to walk around the grounds. Too many golf courses
Couple of nice nights and a fab (but expensive) meal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old chateau but rooms need renovations.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Close to golf.
Cons: Improve Internet connection and speed. Renovate rooms.
Location: Only golf.
Internet was terrible. Door of bathroom did not work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not cheap, but a great experience

Posted Aug 17, 2014
This is definitely luxury accommodation but we decided to treat ourselves for the last few days of our holiday. Ideal for the golf enthusiast but also a great location for touring small, local vineyards. I read mixed reviews in advance about the restaurant but decided to risk it and was rewarded with an excellent meal, so clearly it is consistency that is the issue, So the overall experience wasn't cheap but we did get decent value for the money we spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Penny from Kent, UK

Lovely French country house hotel with golf

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, good food and beautiful surroundings
Cons: The course will improve naturally as all the trees mature
Location: Location is an hour and a half's drive from Bordeaux airport, on the edge of the Dordogne and the Bergerac wine region so plenty to do and see.
The Chateau des Vigiers is beautifully appointed with a Michelin star restaurant in the main Chateau and a perfectly adequate Brasserie for less formal dining. Our room in the Chateau was beautiful. Some UK TV channels were available. The breakfast was excellent with local breads, fruits and jams as well as other specialities. Golf-wise all three 9 holes are in good condition and challenging. The course, designed by Donald Steel, is fairly new and open and is still maturing but provides a worthwhile experience. Good practice facilities and buggies for hire. We did not use the spa or outdoor swimming pool on this visit. The neighbouring Dordogne area provides sightseeing, good food and wine and beautiful scenery. The hotel is expensive but worth it for a special occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken & Maureen from Nebraska USA

Beautiful Getaway Spot

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: The setting, the historic significance, and the wonderful restaurant. There were 5 of us and we all enjoyed our meals very much.
Cons: Without air conditioning, we slept with the windows open but woke up several times due to noise outside.
Location: We had made plans to visit the ruins of a fortress near Bergerac but decided not to go because we didn't want to leave this ideal spot.
We were traveling from Cognac to Bordeaux and decided to visit Bergerac. Found this place on the internet and were delighted. However we thought it was closer to Bergerac than it turned out to be. Sorry we couldn't stay longer or get in a round of golf.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok but expensive and austere

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Not memorable, staff were ok, very golf centred. Made to feel a bit second class as not staying in the main building. Nice area, good gym.
4 out of 5
by Andyc from UK

Very Picturesque

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, make sure that you know that you are booking in either the relais or the Chateau otherwise you will be dissapointed. The location is great, and if you are a golfer then it would be very attractive. The room was spacious and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

The best restaurant in the region

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
Great peaceful centre very good facilities charming well developed site though a little overpriced. Room lacked decent toiletries and if they must be joking charging EUR 19 per person person for breakfast! Though the rooms were large, modern and spacious with a balcony they were in an annexe away from the chateau. plenty of car parking, free wifi, swimming pool and a gourmet restaurant to die for! (Including vegitarian on request) Would love to return.