Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zeer goed restaurant, dependance accommodatie top

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Golf course matig, onderhoud en lay out onder peil
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chateau Stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Cons: More could be done to provide some footpaths to walk around the grounds. Too many golf courses
Couple of nice nights and a fab (but expensive) meal
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old chateau but rooms need renovations.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Close to golf.
Cons: Improve Internet connection and speed. Renovate rooms.
Location: Only golf.
Internet was terrible. Door of bathroom did not work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not cheap, but a great experience

Posted Aug 17, 2014
This is definitely luxury accommodation but we decided to treat ourselves for the last few days of our holiday. Ideal for the golf enthusiast but also a great location for touring small, local vineyards. I read mixed reviews in advance about the restaurant but decided to risk it and was rewarded with an excellent meal, so clearly it is consistency that is the issue, So the overall experience wasn't cheap but we did get decent value for the money we spent.
5 out of 5
by Penny from Kent, UK

Lovely French country house hotel with golf

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, good food and beautiful surroundings
Cons: The course will improve naturally as all the trees mature
Location: Location is an hour and a half's drive from Bordeaux airport, on the edge of the Dordogne and the Bergerac wine region so plenty to do and see.
The Chateau des Vigiers is beautifully appointed with a Michelin star restaurant in the main Chateau and a perfectly adequate Brasserie for less formal dining. Our room in the Chateau was beautiful. Some UK TV channels were available. The breakfast was excellent with local breads, fruits and jams as well as other specialities. Golf-wise all three 9 holes are in good condition and challenging. The course, designed by Donald Steel, is fairly new and open and is still maturing but provides a worthwhile experience. Good practice facilities and buggies for hire. We did not use the spa or outdoor swimming pool on this visit. The neighbouring Dordogne area provides sightseeing, good food and wine and beautiful scenery. The hotel is expensive but worth it for a special occasion.
5 out of 5
by Ken & Maureen from Nebraska USA

Beautiful Getaway Spot

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: The setting, the historic significance, and the wonderful restaurant. There were 5 of us and we all enjoyed our meals very much.
Cons: Without air conditioning, we slept with the windows open but woke up several times due to noise outside.
Location: We had made plans to visit the ruins of a fortress near Bergerac but decided not to go because we didn't want to leave this ideal spot.
We were traveling from Cognac to Bordeaux and decided to visit Bergerac. Found this place on the internet and were delighted. However we thought it was closer to Bergerac than it turned out to be. Sorry we couldn't stay longer or get in a round of golf.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but expensive and austere

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Not memorable, staff were ok, very golf centred. Made to feel a bit second class as not staying in the main building. Nice area, good gym.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend à la campagne

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Chambre spacieuse et confortable
Location: Sur la route des vins dans le Périgord
Paysage bucolique, dîner gastronomique et espace de détente pour les amoureux du golf.
4 out of 5
by François-Pierre from Yvelines, France

Hôtel très calme et beau domaine

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Le confort des lits et l'espace. Le fait de pouvoir traverser le domaine en voiture et ainsi sortir soit vers le nord, soit vers le sud.
Cons: Le prix du petit déjeuner. La queue au moment de rendre la clé: il n'y avait qu'une seule réceptionniste.
Location: Un domaine très calme et isolé, accessible uniquement par des petites routes pas très larges ce qui est plutôt pittoresque.
Nous avions réservé pour deux nuits du vendredi au dimanche. C'est un hôtel particulièrement réservé aux golfeurs. Nous ne sommes pas golfeurs et finalement cela ne nous a pas gêné. Le personnel est agréable. Nous avons surtout profité du centre de remise en forme. Il faut dire que pluie et froid étaient au rendez-vous (dommage pour un mois de juin). Nous n'avons pas essayé le restaurant et la brasserie. Nous avons refusé le petit déjeuner à cause du prix élevé. Par contre nous avons apprécié la bouteille de côtes-de-bergerac qui nous a été offerte. Le vin du domaine est bon et accessible en prix.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - with or without golf

Posted May 15, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel, although we didn't take advantage of the magnificent golf course or spa centre, but we did enjoy the pool. Beautiful main building and grounds. The brasserie was extremely good and the gourmet restaurant was superb. The only trouble we experienced was with the hotel ordering us taxis, not reliable and with the hotel's bill calculations, but all in all a lovely hotel and we would highly recommend it.