Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Room care
Location: Ability to access the motorway easioly
Fair....what more can I say....adequate, a wet floor at the carpet of the toilet/shower room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant staff

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Smoky bedding for children was not appropriate. Staff is very unfriendly.
4 out of 5
by philip from worcestershire

Good Stopping Place

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stopped over on the way to Switzerland, would use again for location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from channel islands

Quiet hotel but near to main motorway

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location near motorway but quiet . restaurant good price reasonable
Location: Town of Chablis close by
Ideal as a stop over hotel. Quiet locationbut also very close to motorway A6 junction 19 Has own restaurant with reasonable price and choice menu .staff friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Brighton

A perfect stop whilst driving through France

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything. Absolutely everything was spot on. Even the free wifi was fast and reliable.
Cons: Given the price bracket? Nothing. Maybe breakfast could be a little cheaper (9 euros each for continental breakfast was too steep in our opinion).
Location: It's about two minutes from the slow lane of the motorway to the front door of the reception building, but there's almost no road noise in the room.
My fiancee and I had to drive from Dieppe to Toulon (650+ miles) with a load of cargo for our wedding, and we planned an overnight stop to break up the driving. We booked the Campanile in Auxerre based on generally positive reviews and its proximity to the A6, and we could not have been happier with our stay. Positives: - Friendly, helpful staff at check-in - Spotlessly clean room - good en-suite wet room - climate control in the room worked very well - excellent motorised blackout shutter for the main window - enough space to move around without kicking the bed - nice, firm mattress - loads of free parking in view of the room - good restaurant Negatives - none. Ok it's not a five-star luxury retreat with a spa and poolside cocktail bar, but it isn't trying or pretending to be, nor does it aim for that type of customer. It is a very, very good roadside hotel with real thought put into making the rooms comfortable for taking a break from a long drive. If you like a soft bed then you might need to ask in advance and there was no bath in our ensuite (just a shower) but we didn't ask for, or expect a bath so no complaints here. I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying here again. The food in the restaurant was tasty and filling, and reasonably priced. The climate control in the room allowed us to keep the temperature down - often a problem in French hotels, but not at the Campanile. We asked for a room on the ground floor and this request was fulfilled. Perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible, no security measure at night

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
We did not expect to stay in a "campsite" while this is rated as a 3 star "hotel"... The reception is closed at night. And there is no night guard in this very outskirt of the city. We have to choice but calling the police when we saw someone was suspicious in the corridor. However, the police cannot do anything only because of threats... Anyway, do not choose this "hotel" if you are not all strong and brave men. If the security and reception can be enhanced, it will be a very acceptable hotel with clean room and a pleasant breakfast room and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kildaman

Excellent one night stop-over

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on HotelClub
Well up to the standard expected of a Campanile in France.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Utilitarian

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Basic facilities provided
Cons: Staffing levels
Location: Impressive cathedral in Auxerre
Pretty basic facilities but ok for an overnight stop
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from york

A good stop off heading south

Posted Sep 15, 2013
The hotel was in a good location just off the motorway. Reception was efficient and polite. Brwakfast was quick, easy and tastey. The room was the usual good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice stay bit overpriced

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: clean and new
Cons: reduce fee
Location: suburb of Auxerre, close to motorway
close to motorway, restaurant around, nice and clean, good as stop over from long trip