Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean but missing warmth... and a towel...

Posted Jun 3, 2017
I arrived at about 9.30pm and found the house and the car park easily. But then could not find the entrance to the house (a wheelbarrow was blocking what seemed to be the main entrance) and had to give the owner a call. He came out and showed me to my room. I can't say that he was not polite but I can't say that I felt welcome either. A few words asking me about my journey or why I was in the area would have been nice. The room was very clean but I soon realised there was no towel. I had no idea where to find the owners to ask for one and felt I would have bothered them so had to do without it. No great. Breakfast was nice but again, on leaving, a few warm words would have been nice. Maybe at least taking me to the door rather than let me see myself out with my luggage. Or asking me if i needed help. Conversation seemed to be resyricted to the bare minimum. The location was convenient as I was going climbing at Symonds Yats and there is nothing majorly wrong with this guest house but would I be going back? I don't know! I'll probably be willing to be a bit further than Symonds Yat if that means I feel more welcome...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Okay Hotel For The Location

Posted May 28, 2017
An average guest house; the place is very old and well in need of a refresh. I felt as if I was inconveniencing staff every time I spoke to them and my room was incredibly hot and had ants all over the bed.
3 out of 5
by Ray

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very scenic and accommodating

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant hosts and even in the depths of winter the place exudes a quiet and welcoming charm
Location: Unable to answer this question as travelling through but Monmouth is fascinating
A very well placed hotel in lovely surroundings, excellent breakfast and very accommodating hosts who were pleased to chat and answer questions about the area. A delightful stay and will try hard to return when the opportunity arises again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not again

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Flies all in the room and walls covered in what seemed like rising damp throughout main stairwells of the property. Wifi does not work and at and no reception for a phone call or to use phone data
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Very well managed.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The setting was pleasant and quiet. The room was comfortable and attractive. The owners were attentive but not intrusive.
Singles often have a bad experience but certainly not in this case. My room had its own lavatory and washbasin and was beautifully appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Enjoyable stay

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Quiet and relaxing
Cons: It is fine as it is
Location: Located in a very quiet part of the Forest of Deane.Recommend The Somerset Arms, a country pub with food and a friendly atmosphere.
Quiet, comfortable lovely surroundings. Our hosts were pleasant and most helpful Breakfast was just right.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The guest house smelt very damp and mouldy
3 out of 5
by Alexia from Wolverhampton

good budget option

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival, the owners had not received any notification of my booking so were a bit surprised when I knocked on the door. I felt quite uncomfortable as they tried to work out what to do - they had rooms and I had money so they could have proceeded as normal and dealt with it with their service provider and left me out of it. I felt sorry for them but the ongoing conversations about it outside my room and after breakfast when I had to get ready for a wedding were unnecessary. The room was advertised as free wifi (no connection in areas I had access to and no phone signal so difficult to organise meeting my friends as had to do it in the dining room over breakfast) Also advertised ensuite bath/shower combo; was ensuite toilet & sink with shower/bath on the floor below (though this may have been because of the online booking issues). Best bacon I've ever tasted, Warm room with a skylight for cool breeze, TV with good reception and plenty of space/storage to put my things. the bed was a little soft but I slept well. Kitchen for guest use, so that was handy for bottle of wine, milk, salads I'd brought with me. A good budget option in the area.
5 out of 5
by Mark G from Bolton

good hotel good price

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
clean cheap friendly ...can't ask for much more