Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monrovia

Close to freeway and resturants

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Excellent this my 2nd stay in 3 months. Love this locatipn very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A front desk lady needs professional training

Posted Nov 1, 2017
I stayed in this hotel for two nights from two different reservation sources. Overall it was a good stay. The hotel is clean and provides free internet and has good connection. The hotel is right next to the high way, and may not be suitable to some customers who is sensitive to noise during the sleep. The only issue is with a front desk lady. Put away the detailed communication content. This lady kept saying she could not communicate with me and pretended I don't speak English well. Even if I don't speak English well and she spoke English, would it be her patience and responsibility to convey the messages to the customers? For a three-star hotel seeking upwards development, the staff would be patient while not in rush hours. If the customers don't understand well no matter how, it would be the staff's responsibility to make the customers to understand, instead of blaming customers not to understand. This is how I interpret good service or not. I think this front desk lady is not qualified for working in this hotel. A comment from an outsider.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Close walking distance to restaurants.
Cons: Hotel was listed as being "Pasadena/Monrovia" or "Monrovia/Pasadena". In fact, it's a 15 minute drive to Pasadena. I needed a hotel closer to Pas.
Good hotel, even very good. Neat, clean. Nice experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Hotel near APU

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel employee (Victor) honored my request for a room with a good view.
Cons: Sink cleaned upon check in. APU approved rate applied at check in for both nights of stay. At a minimum, a discount for each night for dirty sink.
Location: Pasadena/Monrovia - shopping, near Azusa Pacific University, not too far from Los Angeles - Universal Studios
I booked this hotel to attend Azusa Pacific Univeristy (APU) Homecoming & Family Weekend. I usually stay that the Holiday Inn Express in West Covinia, yet decided to try a new hotel due to my scheduled events. This location was closer to an activity scheduled before I was due to leave to the airport. I mentioned at check in that I was in town to atttend Homecoming at APU. The hotel person at check in (Victor) did not offer a APU discount rate. However, he did change my room to one with a mountain view. In the morning I noticed the bathroom sink was dirty, called Housekeeping, no answer, left my concer with the employee at the front desk Saturday morning around 7:15 am. I specifically requested a message be delivered to housekeeping to clean the tub and sink. Later Saturday evening I asked a hotel employee, Victor (again), if the hotel offered a special rate for APU. He said it did, however I would have to have it applied before I use my reservation and it would not be applied at this point. The following morning, Sunday, I noticed the sink was still dirty. I assumed the tub may have not been cleaned either. I went to check out around 9am to notify the employee at the hotel desk that I had requested the sink to be cleaned and it was not. No employee offered a discounted APU rate, nor a discount for the dirty sink. This was my third trip to the area this year and I am disappointed in my stay at Courtyard by Marriott Pasadena/Monrovia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for 1 or 2 nights

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Location to Santa Anita racetrack.
Cons: Outside sitting areas; coffee in the lobby (room coffee is horrid).
Location: Good location from the racetrack (2 miles or so). You can walk across the street for a few restaurants; I didn't, but they're there.
Clean hotel. Pleasant staff. Bad location next to freeway. Never ate the food there. If you're staying for a vacation, wrong place. The pool area is the only outside place to sit; you cannot hear a word from the freeway noise. I wish they had coffee in the lobby like so many hotels, would have made it more enjoyable considering I was out at 5:00 am on most days. Fine if you're on a business trip and outside doesn't matter; not if you're staying for a vacation or extended amount of time (6 days.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca

Excellent staff

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Staff was great . The bed was a little hard for my taste. In a great area tons of restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monrovia

Smelled

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The hotel over was good but our room smelled really weird like musty and stuffy really bad!!! We opened up the slider the little bit it would let us but it didn’t really help ☹️ I should have called the front desk but I didn’t I will next time for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montrose, CO

Very nice hotel and close to restaurants and shops

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Everyone was really nice and the hotel is comfortable. The parking lot is large and easy to access. The only thing I would change is that they would have room service with long hours and be open for lunch. However, the hotel is close to many nice places to eat. Red Lobster, Mimi's Café, McDonald's, In-N-Out, Denny's, The Derby (my personal favorite for dinner) and many others. It is also close to Santa Anita Race Track.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, plenty of parking, great service from staff.
Location: Close to everything you could possibly need. Love the neighborhood, and proximity to the 210
Great experience with the hotel and staff. Rooms were comfortable and would happily stay again in the future. Close to great dining and freeway accessibility. Would gladly stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great staff and clean, comfortable room. Easy access to the freeway.