Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Under-staffed and/or under-resourced this time?

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: location; initial cleanliness of the room; conscientious service by some of the desk staff
Cons: bathroom hardware and consumables; bed quality; attention to stocking the "grab and go" breakfast station
Location: There is easy access to the freeway system, a major surface street, and restaurants.
Overall, positive features (location; initial cleanliness of the room; conscientious service by some of the desk staff) were overtaken by disappointments (wobbly toilet seat; inoperable hair dryer; uneven availability of complimentary coffee and facial tissue; uncomfortable, noisy beds). A "help-wanted" sign suggests the hypothesis in this review's title.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Payson,Arizona

We can't thank you enough for the amazing stay

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was professional and helpful. the rooms were well set up and had everything we needed to feel comfortable,
Cons: I wish we had a hotel like this in Payson, Arizona so our friends that visit could enjoy the service we had at Extended Stay America in Monrovia, Cali
Location: We are entertainers and our family lives in Monrovia. So it was convenient for work and play!
The rooms were clean and had everything we needed for a home away from home. The staff was welcoming and professional and always asked if we needed anything. They were wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Kathleen, thank you for sharing a wonderful review of Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you were impressed not only with your well-appointed room and our convenient location, but also with the courteous service provided by our associates. We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable time with us Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Freeway noise made it hard to sleep. Pull out sofa was all springs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. Although you liked certain aspects of your stay, we are sorry for the noise issue and that you found the sofa bed uncomfortable. We wish we were given a chance to correct the situation while you were here by changing your room. Please consider giving us another chance to make your next visit a better one. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Purposely overbooking a room

Posted Nov 24, 2017
They over booked my room that I had already reserved a week before. Someone wanted to extend their stay and instead of telling them that the room was already reserved, the hotel went ahead and gave them the room that was already reserved and then told me that they changed my room with another that was not the same configuration. They should have moved the other people to another room and let me have the room I originally reserved and paid for. BS customer service. They said they are going to discount me 10%, but it should be 20% for the inconvenience they caused me. I WILL NEVER STAY AT EXTENDED STAY AMERICA AGAIN!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It was disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK I Guess

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Wifi was too slow. Invest in higher speed. Some in addition to pathetic muffins for breakfast.
Location: Nice location--lots and lots of restaurants.
Great location and reasonably clean and new, but irritating that they save money on some basics. Wifi is incredibly slow and almost worthless. "Breakfast" is a joke. It's just coffee and horrible little muffins. That said, there are worse motels around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to evaluate your experience at our hotel. We are glad to know you liked your well-maintained room and found our location convenient enough to your needs. However, we are sorry for the internet issue and that our breakfast offerings weren’t to your liking. Your feedback is shared with appropriate individuals in our organization in an effort to improve our service and facilities going forward. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to us. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Go at your own risk

Posted Oct 23, 2017
They overbooked but gave me 50% off an a smaller room that I originally requested. Hotel smelled of fish. The bathroom sink was clogged with the lever not work on sink or beneath the vanity. Requested another pillow that smelled when I received from housekeeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Aaron, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and we're sorry our hotel was overbooked. We offer no excuses for this mix-up, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will offer us another opportunity to serve you better. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

House Keeping???

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Booked this hotel for a 3 day weekend stay. Our room had a king sized bed, but the space for it was too tight next to the a/c and made it impossible to walk around. We also had a sofa bed, but there was no bedding for it in the room. We had to go down to the front desk to retrieve the bedding because there was no one there who could bring it up to our room. Also, apparently they only do housekeeping once a week. So when we returned to our room after the first night, the room was not clean, the beds were not made, and we did not have fresh towels. Once again, I had to go down to the front desk to get the towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We apologize our hotel and amenities were not to your expectations. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. So we certainly understand why you may have found our amenities a bit different than traditional hotels. Regardless of the length of stay, our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable and well-maintained hotel with a friendly staff at a good value, which we failed to serve you with. We have already shared your comments with the housekeeping team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Location: It is a good location .
This is an extended stay hotel. There wasn't so much as a teaspoon in the kitchen area. The empty fridge made awful noises all night long..The so called breakfast is a bad joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Cath, thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear there were some concerns during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we are actively working with staff to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your comments as they will only help us improve. Please know kitchenware for your suite is also available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the excellent experience you deserve. Thank you! Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by Colin

Good for Santa Anita

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
I travel to horse tracks around the country. This was very convenient to Santa Anita. Local restaurant selection was excellent. The room itself looked run-down. Carpet stain. Cracking seams in bath and kitchen. TV remote was absolutely grungy, which was nasty. But the shape of the tiny suite was perfect, and I credit the solid windows for keeping out the freeway noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Colin, thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America. We are happy to know you liked our location and had a good time in your room. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to do so again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Troy MI

A dissapoinment

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It needs to be updated. It is terribly run down
Location was convenient however the property was a disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dan, thank you for leaving your feedback. We want every guest who stays with us to have a positive experience. We did not make that happen for you, and we are truly sorry. Although your experience is not typical of our service, we obviously have room to improve, and we assure you we will. We hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to make it up to you on another visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management