Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset West , South Africa

Such potential such disappointment.

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: I loved having a room away from the main house. The interior decor was also really pleasing. The garden was stunning.
Cons: Checking that bookings are correct!! I work for an upmarket kennel and there is NO excuse for misleading bookings!! Imagine the chaos if we overbooked
Location: I highly recommend a visit and Tractor ride at Protea Farm 30 km outside of Montague.
Due to Expedia's inefficiency I did not get what I booked for: I booked a queen bed and got 2 single beds - the owner was informed by Expedia that there were two clients coming on the night of 8th November. The room was not completely ready when I arrived at about 4pm and only late that evening I found there were no bath towels so I had to use hand towels to dry off.
4 out of 5
by Anita

Clean and centrally located guesthouse

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally located in Montagu. Friendly owners. Clean, spacious rooms. Lovely breakfast and good coffee in the morning.
5 out of 5
by Jamie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bracknell, England

Beautiful House

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The character of the house, the garden and our room. Tielman & his wife were very pleasant hosts. Good location.Nice brealfast.
Cons: The creaky floorboards
Location: Location good. Very nice meal at 'Simply Delicious' restaurant 5min walk away.
Beautiful old Edwardian style house with lots of character (including the creaky floorboards). Lovely gardens front and back. Pleasant large room with balcony. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Julia from Cape Town

A peaceful stay in Montagu

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at Airlies was lovely. Montagu is beautiful,the guesthouse had peaceful gardens and lovely rooms and our hosts were helpful and attentive. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Tielman, Hotel Management
Thank you, it has been a pleasure meeting you
5 out of 5
by Richard from Minneapolis

Great Place

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful place to stay. walking distance to Restaurants. We went for the Hot Springs in town and found that they didn't suit out needs so retreating to the Airlies Gastehuis was a great thing to do . comfortable surroundings and a Breakfast that was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Tielman, Hotel Management
Thank you, glad that we could meet your needs
3 out of 5
by Louis from Durbanville

Rude and unfriendly.

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Rude, unfriendly and unhelpful from arrival right through to breakfast the next morning.
4 out of 5
by James from Kuala Lumpur

Mostly excellent.

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Charming guest house and friendly owners. Got cold in the bed, however, so ask for a blanket if cool. Cooked breakfast rather oily and liberal sprinkling of MSG.
5 out of 5
by Hadley from New York City

Great family run hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice cozy guesthouse - will be back!
5 out of 5
by stilltravlin from Carson City, NV USA

Great location for our need.

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
This is a perfect place to stop over on the beautiful Route 62 drive. We picked Montagu so we could enjoy a relaxing soak in the hot springs. Airlies is right in town and just around the corner is "Ye Olde Tavern" that served one of the best meals we had during our 27 day adventure in South Africa. There was a nice bit of sherry waiting in the room for us and the room was huge. Great hosts with lots of local information. Great made to order breakfast was served in a nicely appointed dining room. Wonderful gardens surrounding the place.