Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A mixed bag

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: It's quite near the Coast Highway. We enjoyed visiting the beach and restaurants in Half Moon Bay.
We were a bit put off after having driven a long way to arrive at 3 pm and being told we could not be admitted (front door locked) until 4 pm. They grudgingly admitted us at 3:30. Our 'room' was a small space walled off from the front entry and made into a somewhat claustrophobic room, lacking in quiet or privacy with zero view out the window. The owners, who live in the spacious flat above these lower rooms, were quite friendly, if a bit stuffy. Can't say we would ever return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Pleasant setting with gracious hosts. An American version of Downton Abbey parlor.
Cons: Can't think of anything, maybe after another stay.
Location: Half Moon Bay and some of it's annual events is nearby. Coast, hiking, exploring.....or if you want to get Urban, San Francisco and Bay Area nearby.
Quiet setting, delicious and exotic four course breakfast. Wonderful setting for conversation between guests and between guests and hosts. Reading and conversation dominate the atmosphere as there are no TV's. Thank goodness. Hosts are well-traveled and have great knowledge of history and literature. Want to return just for the tea, coffee and conversations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint and historic B&B. The owners are very nice, and the breakfast was fantastic (although it is served only at 9am sharp).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice couple who runs this B&B and the breakfast was absolutely great. However the cost of accommodation was extraordinarily high comparatively speaking. The private bathroom was not so private as it was down the hall next to another bedroom and not inside the room itself.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, quirky place full of history & warmth

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: So much history to the building itself, and the hosts share a lot of fascinating history from their own adventures and life stories as well.
Cons: Maybe a reminder sign in each room to keep voices down if getting up early, since the walls are thin. (Our neighbors left at 5am and were a bit loud.)
Location: Near the ocean. Short drive from lots of great seafood restaurants and beaches.
We had a wonderful stay. It's a quirky place full of interesting history - it's well worth taking your time to look at all the photos and read all the little notations on the walls around the house. The hosts are very welcoming and kind, and they served a delicious breakfast with amazing coffee. We enjoyed talking with them and learning about their lives and their interests. The gardens outside are beautiful. We will definitely come back, and hopefully stay for longer next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, CA

Nice Bed and Breakfast in a great location.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Location: Nebbia Winery was fantastic, and Alice's restaurant is fun, and in easy driving distance.
Had a great stay, the owners are friendly and gave us great recommendations for wineries and restaurants. Breakfast was great, and they managed to accommodate my gluten free diet. 5 stars.
1 out of 5
by Marc from TX

Terrible time.

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Now that our vacation has finished I letting potential travelers know how disappointed we were with our stay. I largely chose this B&B based on reviews from google, trip adviser and hotels.com. While I am perfectly at home with an old historic setting I was not happy with the condition of our room. First, the room had not been aired out for some time and had a horrible musty smell that lingered for the entire stay. Next, the windows were nailed shut such that it was impossible to get air into the room save the tiny window we could open. That said, we had this window open all night with no screen and an animal came into our room and got into our food stuffs. Add to that the PVC pipe curtain rods and you get the picture. Next, the mattress was way past due to be replaced and had lumps and sags not fit for sleep. And lastly, and most importantly, the mattress smelled of old urine such that we had to sleep in our clothes all night.
5 out of 5
by Gunilla from Sverige

Underbart charmigt

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Underbart charmigt. Värdparet Emily o Raymond bjöd på sig själva och deras hem var som en fantastisk resa i tid o rum. Hoppas att vi kan återkomma.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little B&B!

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Location: A few blocks from the water and close to Half Moon Bay.
The owners are a very nice couple, they make you feel at home right away. Breakfast is served in the morning and it's several courses and delicious! The house itself has an eclectic decor - very charming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, CA

Odd little B+B in a historic building

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: The room is conformable with a the usual nice bathroom amenities. The room I stated in hummingbird was spacious.
Cons: Coffee/Tea available earlier in the AM for the restless and early riser would be nice.
Location: Located near some of the most beautiful beaches and forests in CA, there is a ton to do, and the area is charming and the people delightful.
A B+B converted from the old home of the veterans of the Spanish American war club in a charming setting with a very nice garden and thoroughly lovely hosts. Located on a quiet suburban street within easy walking distance of Montara state beach this B+B is a gem. The hosts give personal attention and are wonderfully nice world travelers with funny stories from all over the world. A (and this is not a misprint) 4 course breakfast of small plates starts the day, accompanied by carefully curated and properly brewed tea (a different on every morning) (coffee is also available), the food was wonderful, crafted by the owner (who is a really good cook), highlights for me where the home made sausage, pan pardue (real french toast), and homemade Muesli. A few cautionary notes: WiFi is provided, but cell service is spotty for most carriers, there is no TV (A good thing!), and of course being near the ocean, it can be cold, plan to dress in layers and bring jammies, and it will be fine.