Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A mixed bag

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: It's quite near the Coast Highway. We enjoyed visiting the beach and restaurants in Half Moon Bay.
We were a bit put off after having driven a long way to arrive at 3 pm and being told we could not be admitted (front door locked) until 4 pm. They grudgingly admitted us at 3:30. Our 'room' was a small space walled off from the front entry and made into a somewhat claustrophobic room, lacking in quiet or privacy with zero view out the window. The owners, who live in the spacious flat above these lower rooms, were quite friendly, if a bit stuffy. Can't say we would ever return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Pleasant setting with gracious hosts. An American version of Downton Abbey parlor.
Cons: Can't think of anything, maybe after another stay.
Location: Half Moon Bay and some of it's annual events is nearby. Coast, hiking, exploring.....or if you want to get Urban, San Francisco and Bay Area nearby.
Quiet setting, delicious and exotic four course breakfast. Wonderful setting for conversation between guests and between guests and hosts. Reading and conversation dominate the atmosphere as there are no TV's. Thank goodness. Hosts are well-traveled and have great knowledge of history and literature. Want to return just for the tea, coffee and conversations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, quirky place full of history & warmth

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: So much history to the building itself, and the hosts share a lot of fascinating history from their own adventures and life stories as well.
Cons: Maybe a reminder sign in each room to keep voices down if getting up early, since the walls are thin. (Our neighbors left at 5am and were a bit loud.)
Location: Near the ocean. Short drive from lots of great seafood restaurants and beaches.
We had a wonderful stay. It's a quirky place full of interesting history - it's well worth taking your time to look at all the photos and read all the little notations on the walls around the house. The hosts are very welcoming and kind, and they served a delicious breakfast with amazing coffee. We enjoyed talking with them and learning about their lives and their interests. The gardens outside are beautiful. We will definitely come back, and hopefully stay for longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, CA

Nice Bed and Breakfast in a great location.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Location: Nebbia Winery was fantastic, and Alice's restaurant is fun, and in easy driving distance.
Had a great stay, the owners are friendly and gave us great recommendations for wineries and restaurants. Breakfast was great, and they managed to accommodate my gluten free diet. 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little B&B!

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Location: A few blocks from the water and close to Half Moon Bay.
The owners are a very nice couple, they make you feel at home right away. Breakfast is served in the morning and it's several courses and delicious! The house itself has an eclectic decor - very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, CA

Odd little B+B in a historic building

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: The room is conformable with a the usual nice bathroom amenities. The room I stated in hummingbird was spacious.
Cons: Coffee/Tea available earlier in the AM for the restless and early riser would be nice.
Location: Located near some of the most beautiful beaches and forests in CA, there is a ton to do, and the area is charming and the people delightful.
A B+B converted from the old home of the veterans of the Spanish American war club in a charming setting with a very nice garden and thoroughly lovely hosts. Located on a quiet suburban street within easy walking distance of Montara state beach this B+B is a gem. The hosts give personal attention and are wonderfully nice world travelers with funny stories from all over the world. A (and this is not a misprint) 4 course breakfast of small plates starts the day, accompanied by carefully curated and properly brewed tea (a different on every morning) (coffee is also available), the food was wonderful, crafted by the owner (who is a really good cook), highlights for me where the home made sausage, pan pardue (real french toast), and homemade Muesli. A few cautionary notes: WiFi is provided, but cell service is spotty for most carriers, there is no TV (A good thing!), and of course being near the ocean, it can be cold, plan to dress in layers and bring jammies, and it will be fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B with great craft art and classic feeling

Posted Sep 21, 2015
A quick stay on the road to SFO we wish we could have stayed for the breakfast and maybe some stories of travel from the obviously experienced owners. Great collection of art from around the world. Classic large old home feel. Love to go back when we have time to talk to the owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Good tea & snacks in the evening and great breakfast in the morning. Quite and clean. The lady proprietor should be a bit more patient with guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Great Place to Relax

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The hosts and the ambience.
Cons: Things were just fine.
Location: Quite location, a great Peruvian restaurant close by and all the ammenities of the San Mateo coast close by.
Goose and Turrets B&B was a great place to relax. A lovely setting, great hosts and comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly owners and gourmet breakfast

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The charm
Cons: na
Location: the only thing missing was an ocean view but the area was very charming and many things to do including the beach less than 5 minutes away.
It reminded me of a European stay. Rooms were small but very interesting, decor was eclectic. Most important everything was very clean and proprietors were very friendly and accommodating. A bonus was the wonderful gourmet breakfast.