Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Alicia

Wonderful Hospitality

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Emily and her husband are the sweetest couple you will ever meet. The breakfast was an amazing 4 course meal that did not include traditional egg breakfast items. Everything from scratch! Emily was so accommodating to my daughter's celiac issues-even though we booked and arrived on short notice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A mixed bag

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: It's quite near the Coast Highway. We enjoyed visiting the beach and restaurants in Half Moon Bay.
We were a bit put off after having driven a long way to arrive at 3 pm and being told we could not be admitted (front door locked) until 4 pm. They grudgingly admitted us at 3:30. Our 'room' was a small space walled off from the front entry and made into a somewhat claustrophobic room, lacking in quiet or privacy with zero view out the window. The owners, who live in the spacious flat above these lower rooms, were quite friendly, if a bit stuffy. Can't say we would ever return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One-of-a-kind inn, and delicious food, too!

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Quirky and charming B&B with proximity to the Pacific Coast Highway, Half Moon Bay, and the San Francisco Airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I had a very pleasant one-night stay at the Goose and Turrets. The location is quiet and peaceful, and our room looked out onto the garden. The owners were gracious and welcoming, and our multicourse breakfast with all the other guests, with antique cultlery and china, felt like something out of a nineteenth century novel. In exchange for relinquishing the anonymity and freedom of a stay in a large hotel, the Goose and Turrets provides warm interactions with the proprietors, who have lived in the area for decades, and the other guests, who, for a surprisingly broad array of reasons, have come to Montara at the same time as you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Pleasant setting with gracious hosts. An American version of Downton Abbey parlor.
Cons: Can't think of anything, maybe after another stay.
Location: Half Moon Bay and some of it's annual events is nearby. Coast, hiking, exploring.....or if you want to get Urban, San Francisco and Bay Area nearby.
Quiet setting, delicious and exotic four course breakfast. Wonderful setting for conversation between guests and between guests and hosts. Reading and conversation dominate the atmosphere as there are no TV's. Thank goodness. Hosts are well-traveled and have great knowledge of history and literature. Want to return just for the tea, coffee and conversations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the romantic B&B

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The house was a bit stale. It is in need of a good refurbishing and paint. The walls are thin and the lady next to us sounded like she was coughing in our room. Not conducive to romance at all. The owners were elderly but very nice and cordial. We were left with the feeling it may be time for them to turn this property over. The mattresses were very old as well as the linens. So it was not very comfortable. It was not a romantic feel but more of a haunted house.The breakfast was simple and unimpressive. To top it off the towel warmer was as hot as a curling iron and free standing. My husband didn't know this and burned his private parts. Very unromantic! Needless to say we won't be back here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint and historic B&B. The owners are very nice, and the breakfast was fantastic (although it is served only at 9am sharp).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice couple who runs this B&B and the breakfast was absolutely great. However the cost of accommodation was extraordinarily high comparatively speaking. The private bathroom was not so private as it was down the hall next to another bedroom and not inside the room itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, quirky place full of history & warmth

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: So much history to the building itself, and the hosts share a lot of fascinating history from their own adventures and life stories as well.
Cons: Maybe a reminder sign in each room to keep voices down if getting up early, since the walls are thin. (Our neighbors left at 5am and were a bit loud.)
Location: Near the ocean. Short drive from lots of great seafood restaurants and beaches.
We had a wonderful stay. It's a quirky place full of interesting history - it's well worth taking your time to look at all the photos and read all the little notations on the walls around the house. The hosts are very welcoming and kind, and they served a delicious breakfast with amazing coffee. We enjoyed talking with them and learning about their lives and their interests. The gardens outside are beautiful. We will definitely come back, and hopefully stay for longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, CA

Nice Bed and Breakfast in a great location.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Location: Nebbia Winery was fantastic, and Alice's restaurant is fun, and in easy driving distance.
Had a great stay, the owners are friendly and gave us great recommendations for wineries and restaurants. Breakfast was great, and they managed to accommodate my gluten free diet. 5 stars.