Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Beautiful spot on the cliff. A little hard to find but worth it once you arrive. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms are minimal but the views are gorgeous. Very peaceful, & quite. The beach is down the hill very rocky below but they have chairs, pads & umbrellas set up for you with a charge. The pool is amazing & a nice staff to help you with any needs. Food @ the restaurant was delicious & service impeccable. We will be back..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Additional charges galore!

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel is really out of the way (which is fine), but they charge for everything - 10euros parking, 28 per person to use their beach, drinks are so expensive (17euros for 2!) hotel itself is nice, but just expect to add €€€€€ onto your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great location but we had a pretty average experience of the restaurant (of which you're largely captive) - vast prices, corn in average salad seemingly out of a tin, vegetarian main that should have been a side dish (€20), a 1980s-style breakfast etc. The newly refurbished room smelt caustic (above the kitchens we think) but no problem moving us. Decor a bit tired. That said, the staff were lovely and incredibly friendly, and very helpful and welcoming. Sounds like we're picky but we're not. It's a FABULOUS location, stunning views, lovely pool and deck, great sunset bar. Why shouldn't they trade on that, but it would begin to irk if you'd booked more than a night or two.
1 out of 5
by Lukas from Boston

Not worth it!

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
We booked one night expecting a lot of luxury given the price. The hotel was very mediocre, but the neighborhood was very nice. No cell reception in the room which was a big problem as we were expecting some important phone calls. The room was full of mosquitoes and was not very average given the four star rating. The private beach is very nice but you have to pay for everything, including parking and access to the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a location!

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
A little dated, but amazing location and views.
2 out of 5
by Tom

Over priced, disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was fine, but not good enough to justify the price. Also there were endless additional charges, eg for parking when there was nowhere else to leave the car; trying to upsell all the time, eg always recommending the most expensive wine; trying to keep us from spending money elsewhere, eg saying there was nowhere to eat on the beach when there was delicious grilled fish there at less than half the price of the hotel... Pool was too small for the number of people. Some of the staff were great but others were hopeless always answering back in English when anyone spoke to them in Italian, and other annoying traits. On the plus side the grass area in front of the tower is stunning, amazing views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant and stunning location

Posted May 9, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. Being early in the season, the hotel was very quiet so we asked if there were any upgrades. We were given a larger room almost immediately at no extra cost. Rooms are clean and simply but tastefully decorated. Could have done with tea and coffee making facilities in the room and ideally some self catering facilities. Alessandro (in the restaurant) gave us some good tips for places to visit. Saturnia being the best suggestion. Location is isolated but absolutely stunning. No shops or restaurants close by so be prepared. Porto Santo Stefano is about 15mins away. Food in the restaurant is very good but on the high side. Car is essential. Beach is not really worth the effort to get to. Small, just rocks and not much of a view. Certainly don't walk there - going down is not so bad, the walking up is a killer and we are pretty fit! If you do go, drive down. Suitable for couples more so than families with children (of any age).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
awesome hotel. made for romance. rooms are a bit simple but you do not pay attention to that in such a setting. dream location as far as view, setting, romance. nightmare location to get to. crazy small road and far from the near town.
1 out of 5
by Trav from Sydney

Disappointed

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 star prices but 2 star hotel. Tiny basic rooms. They charge €5 per device per day for WIFI that does not even work in your room. TV was marginally bigger than my iPad. Was an old small computer monitor. Impossible to find staff to get a drink. Average food. Fake flowers everywhere. Overall a bad experience. We left and found a beautiful hotel in Porto Ercole for half the price and twice the luxury. Will not be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miriam from Washington, DC

Absolutely amazing place

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: great service, comfortable rooms, amazing sceneries
Cons: it would be nice if hotel would have easier access to the beach, maybe shuttle bus...
Amazing hotel, great staff. Everything is made for you to be able to relax and enjoy. Special thanks to amazing Renato and very helpful receptionist Valentina. Great place in Tuscany, we will be back. Thanks!