Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, uncomfortable rooms

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very charming inn with great restaurant. Location is great for either wine country or coast access. The rooms, however, are in major need of renovation. Our bathroom floor had a hole in it and was moldy when you stepped on it. The mattress and pillows were terrible - left with severe back pain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OAKLAND CALIFORNIA

Nice, tidy room. Bathroom a little small

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Quiet, serene setting
Cons: size of the bathroom
Location: We went to Rio Nido for a concert at the local bar. It was a blast. Lots of small restaurants and some breweries. We stopped at Stumptown Brewery.
We stayed here one night. The bathroom was a little small, but the living area was very nice and fully stocked. It was very clean and exceptionally quiet in the evening and early morning. Very peaceful, scenic location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Not much happening in monte Rio but had a pleasant 2day stay terrace a plus and restaurant good breakfast also good with a variety of home cooked muffins friendly and helpful staff and clean and comfi room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Quaint

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: quiet
I was upgraded to a nicer room, with a better view on a Monday night. nice older hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little disappointing

Posted Mar 21, 2016
The room is small and in need of some updates, the staff were unfriendly. The hotel itself is next to the river, and charming.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Hotel is run down. Owner/operator not taking care of facility in general. what ever is broken not being replaced. Though the staff changed my room per my request which resulted in an upgrade to king bed from a queen, the hotel lacks in amenities and was disappointing. From toilet paper to phone presence to portable heater provided in the room. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roseville, ca

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Beautiful property. Room was small, but had a gorgeous view of the river. The food in the restaurant was fantastic!! Bar was great, but cocktails were overpriced. Might try another room in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
The restaurant was amazing, decor was great. Rooms needed some upgrades. The windows wouldn't open nor would they shut all the way. The deck needed some repair so the French doors couldn't be opened. The view was great though and the bed was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2015
The Village Inn is a charming establishment with the feel of long ago magic hanging in the air. Very helpful staff and the new menu is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el cerrito,ca

Wonderful

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Our room was very nice, on the small side, but cozy. The staff ,Cathy was very helpful. It was a beautiful day to sit on the deck, I'd go back for sure,lots of exploring,wineries,the river. They also don't have a 2 night minimum on the weekend for winter holidays, which was really nice.