Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Very nice stay here - the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and quiet. Just a very short walk to all the restaurants and stores in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by Mario S., Hotel Management
We are always glad to get positive feedback. Thank you for taking your time to write a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, CT

Great choice for the location

Posted Apr 11, 2018
My husband and I stayed for one night in April 2018 and the hotel ended up being a good choice, considering the options. We didn’t have a car, so for us, it was great to be acros the street from the only two good (non-overpriced) eating options in town, and just a short walk downhill into the town of Santa Elena. The hotel itself is clean and nicely decorated (perhaps recently renovated?). Though the quality of construction gives a somewhat cabin-like feel (there was a slight air gap by the door to our room, and the lobby was leaking water when the roof was being cleaned) and the water pressure of the shower could be improved, the room was clean and spacious, and looked better than any of the other options we saw that was walkable to town. Considering the options, we were happy with our choice, and probably 3.5 stars is accurate. Just don’t expect the usual standards of 4 or 5 star luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by Ficus Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your extended comments. We will use your feedback to improve our service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Fabulous views and convenient to Monteverde

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Good size room for our family of 4, easy walk to town and genial staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 rooms/1 night Dec 2017

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Seems like people were moving furniture around all evening into the night, in the room above us. Expected a quite comfortable stay, but did not get that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good view

Posted May 28, 2017
We stayed for one night only but it was nice. The hotel is up in the hill but still close to the town. 15 minute drive to Monteverde cloud forest. No A/C in the room but we didn't need it. breakfast was good and genealogy everything was kept clean. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautiful view

Posted May 6, 2017
Very nice hotel in a great location with a beautiful view. We booked 2 tours through the hotel which was easy and convenient with pickup at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at Ficus Sunset Suites. Beautiful view from the patio - including monkeys!! Great location so you can walk to Santa Elena in just a few minutes. Very safe and secure. Staff made sure to take care of all our needs!! Close to the all the reserves and adventures in the Monteverde area.
5 out of 5
by SUZAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful View but Very Basic Overall

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The view. The cleanliness. Large Shower. Good size room safe. Clean public restrooms.
Cons: I forgot to mention when I left that the bathroom door was very squeaky and would wake up everyone in the room when used at night.
Location: The Quetzal bird was visible for a long time in the park. Numerous hummingbirds are fed outside the park entrance. A zip line is near town.
Maybe this is typical now, but I was charged extra for 4 people in a room with two double beds anyway. The room was set up for two when we arrived. It took a long time, but we finally got the needed towels, glasses, cups, etc. The breakfast was per se very good. But orders got mixed up adding much time to our eating, and they temporarily ran out of coffee, orange juice, plates, and bowls. Replenishment was lacking. They did take an order for eggs, meat, and toast. Maybe some extra help is in order. We asked for an hour extension on checkout time just in case we didn't make it back from the park in time. The request was refused so we checked out early. We would have made it back on time. (This is not a complaint as we knew the policy.) This may be difficult to improve due to water runoff, but the entry to the hotel is a rough curb slightly smoothed out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Improvements are needed

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: The breakfast staff at the restaurant were very nice.
Cons: Include fans in the room, have extension cords available. Improve communication between the morning receptionist and the evening receptions.
Location: Horse tour and zip lining were the best. Do not book the horse tour in the rainy season because there is not "sunset".
There were no fans in the room. The room was hot and there were no 24 hr service staff. I received the fan the next day, however the outlets were not close to the beds. Therefore, I had to request an extension cord at 8 a.m. and didn't receive the extension cord until 5 p.m. the same day. There was miscommunication about the shuttle transfer in the payment. When I had booked the transfer they had told me the payment was to be made at the hotel, which is what I had done with the previous hotel in Arenal. However, the payment was cash only and made directly to the driver. At the end of the stay they wanted to charge us again, which they had charged us upon arrival. It took 2 staff and the general manager to straighten out the payment situation. They blamed it on the system, however I believe it was user error. It took 20 minutes for them to figure out their mistake. I would not go back to this hotel again.