Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful property that "feels like Costa Rica"

Posted May 7, 2018
We loved our stay here! The staff are excellent. I rated 5 stars because I couldn't rate 4.5 and felt they deserved a round up vs round down. To be clear, this is not a 5-star property in the true sense (Ritz, Four Seasons, etc.) but 5 stars for where you are at and what you get. This lodge had a very inviting, cozy feel and with a limited number of rooms so you could certainly feel the love. The fit/finish on a few items was a bit off as in room 211 there were some gaps, at the entry, in the wood-look plank and I had to hold the toilet seat to urinate as it wouldn't stay up on it's own. Otherwise, this place has charm galore! Our room backed up to a small man-made stream and the forest so there were plenty of nice sounds to fill the air! The pool is nice. The butterfly garden room is fun. There are a few trails around their property down to a small stream which we enjoyed. All told we loved our stay and wished we had another night (stayed two). Finally, Luis in the bar/restaurant must be noted for his great service and warmth. Erik and others were also excellent. This place just felt like the mountain Costa Rica we dreamed of prior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Outstanding Experience

Posted May 4, 2018
We could not have chosen a better accommodation for our first visit to Costa Rica. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the meals excellent, and the grounds a pure joy. The staff, however, we're the highlight. Every single person went out of her/his way to make our vacation extraordinary. Truly they are an exceptional group, and I will remember them fondly. I am fortunate to have booked a stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

The most beautiful surroundings

Posted May 1, 2018
The drive to Monteverde is terrible and terrifying. However once reaching the top of the mountain road, one is greeted with a beautiful forested view. The Monteverde Lodge is one of the more beautiful hotels I’ve stayed in. The soaring beams in the restaurant and the fire pit inside bring a lodge like feel. The butterfly garden is exquisite with butterflies fluttering about the entire hotel and grounds. When we walked about the grounds it felt as if the Garden of Eden was reborn here. Cool breezes, miles of trails, monkeys in the trees, an amazing pool, and hummingbirds chirping. The staff were friendly and sweet. One of my favorite places ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Good great, service great and friendly, installation great, room view nice and comfortable, WiFi available free, spacious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Beautiful setting/amazing staff

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Had a great stay!! The staff are amazing. Randall, Jorge, Fenanda- all so very nice and helpful. Setting is beautiful. Walk to town. Would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario

Awesome hotel in the mountains

Posted Feb 12, 2018
my stay was perfect. From check in to checkout. Staff was amazing and so helpful. The food was 5 star quality. We were lucky enough to book dinner one night in the butterfly garden. It was perfect. If you have a chance to go to Monteverde you have to stay here!!
5 out of 5
by Carrie

Calming Oasis

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very peaceful spot with exceptional friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by DANIEL

Posted Dec 2, 2017 on Hotels
The best hotel staff we have ever encountered. Food also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Wonderful quiet lodge walking distance to village

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Quiet natural surrounding with own walking trails in the forest; small indoor butterfly garden, plenty of areas indoors and outdoors to relax;
Cons: provide affordable transfer /drop-off to nearby activities
Location: too many to mention but lots of hiking, nature tours, wildlife viewing but also more sportive activities like ziplining
Great hotel lodge in beautiful natural surroundings. Loved the various areas to sit especially the hammocks overlooking the forest where we were able to see the wildlife. The have 2 trails through nature that are a very nice walk. Room was great, quiet with view of the trees. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Short walk to the village with enough choice of restaurants, coffeeplace and tourguides including the official tourist office. A supermarket is just outside the property if you need anything.