Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Nathalie Thomas

close to concert venue

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels
Very basic hotel, clean but lack of air conditioning in an attic room during a very hot period of weather was less than ideal. The TV did not work and despite us asking for assistance with this, we did not get it. The description of the room is incorrect and misleading - we had no balcony only two very small windows. The "terrace" is at the rear of the property and the "separate seating area" is a metal dining chair in the corner of the room. The "desk" is not at all usable as it has the TV and electric fan on it. The shower cubicle was very small. The hotel could do with adding a few more home comforts, although not too many as to retain it's rustic feel, but just to ensure guests are comfortable during their stay i.e. aircon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel di Campagna La Miniera-High

Posted Sep 2, 2011 on Hotels
Be careful, the location is not as shown in the website. The hotel is so high that Voltera is in full view across the valley. Beautiful! Only one negative, no elevator. Stairs were tough on old knees.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Fine

Posted Sep 23, 2009 on Hotels
Rooms clean, Breakfast good. Only one failure - No corkscrew/bottle opener.
1 out of 5
by Stephen from Manchster, UK

Beware

Posted Sep 22, 2009
The "Hotel di Campagna" does not exist, there are merely some rooms above the La Miniera restaurant. The shower leaks and there is no lift. Saff speak no English. The nearby village is nice but has only 2 restaurants, one which is good but if shut you have to use the other which is dire, unfriendly and xenophobic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Charming Retreat in Tuscany

Posted Sep 17, 2009
"La Miniera" used to house the admin offices of a 19th century copper mine, the remains of which are open to view. It's a very peaceful place atop a hill with wonderful views across the Tuscan countryside. Lots of hairpin bends and the nearby Montecatina Val di Cecina is well worth visiting. The owner Stefania seems to do everything and is very warm and welcoming, even though she speaks hardly any English she communicates well with a smile and even carried my case up the 35 stairs to my room! All very clean and the food in the restaurant in the cellar is very good. Since my last visit they have built a swimming pool in the garden which was most welcome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Excellent setting

Posted Aug 10, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel is set perfectly just a 10 minute walk from the centre and all the restaurants. The bus station is also 10 minutes walk with regular buses to florence and other little town around tuscany. train station was within walking distance, although to get to and from, with baggage, is an E8 taxi ride. Hotel is really nice, breakfast is precisely whats needed for a long days touristing. We were nuch happier to be staying where we were, as we got to see alot more on the walk into the centre, and try different places as we went along. the hotel has internet access for free, and it is ideal for booking wine-tasting or trips, as the hotel has brochures and leaflets for all. the reception is always manned and their English is very good, as well as their helpfulness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lANCASHIRE

great location

Posted Mar 30, 2009 on Hotels
Very good location close to the lovely old city and its attractions. Good location too for train and bus. Lovely view of old city from room. Room clean apart from window ledges and radiators. Standard room not very large. Shower only. Good breakfast with pleasant service. Only drawback was noise from other rooms as the hotel is all tiled floors and very echoey.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon england

stepping back in time

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels
This is our second visit. Its charm is the remoteness from modern life and the area. The rooms are adequate but basic. If she wanted to upgrade without getting "modern" she could change the chipboard furniture with wooden furniture from the region. No english is spoken which we like as it removes us from normal day life. The shower cabinets need a good clean - but now I am getting picky! We will return for the overall experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

excellent endroit pour se reposer

Posted Aug 21, 2008 on Hotels
accueil par la propriétaire elle-même, trés sympathique, locaux rénovés, impeccables, restaurant typiquement toscan
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Pour la vue sur Sienne et la proximité rare du centre ville

Posted Aug 18, 2008 on Hotels
Hotel propre, au service aimable, poli et compétent. Buffet petit déj peu abondant 1h avant la fin. chambre et espaces communs au look années 70. internet en accès simple et gratuit depuis le hall. Je recommande pour une visite rapide de Sienne : il est à 15 mn à pied du centre ville et c'est un des seuls. Celui qui compte rester plus d'une nuit a intérêt à se diriger vers un hotel à la campagne, plus luxueux et confortable.