Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Okay experience but this resort needs help

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Booked this resort for my sisters birthday. She has stayed here in the past and has always come back home very satisfied. Not so this trip. For the most part the resort is in a beautiful area of town- Runaway Bay. The resort itself needs to be updated, but the accommodations are adequat enough. The BIGGEST issues with the resort are lack of people, lack of activities and the food was terrible. We for the most part were the only 4 people at the entire resort. It was literally like a ghost town. We had one day where there were actually enough people to play volleyball but we were only able to do this when the staff participated. The food by far was the worst part of our trip. The only option was 1 buffet that had between 5-7 items available. Now I'm not that picky of a eater but when you spend the money for all inclusive you expect a few more options. I have stayed at other resorts and normally there is a grill or at least a few options available, not so here. I do want to state the one positive about this resort... The staff. Gibbs, Phillip and Omar made our trip. They were fun, inviting and great people to be around. The owner of this property has a lot he needs to " take care of " at this resort but the staff is not one of them. I have been a business owner for 25 years now and one thing I know is good employees are hard to find, you have great assets on your staff and you need to make sure that you take care of them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,TX

No crowds, quiet place to relax with nude beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
You get what you pay for the place is out dated, the food is not that great, and there is not much entertainment; but it was quiet, not crowded, and relaxing. The buffet is small since there was maybe 25 guests there usually 2 meats to choose from and veggies, salad, pasta and bread so after a couple of days of that my husband and I wandered off and food else where there are plenty of places to get jerk chicken. The room and bathroom were ok nothing fancy and it was fairly clean and cool. It was great to get a smoking room at a resort so we didn't have to sit out in the hit sun to smoke even though we did sometimes to enjoy the view of the beach and mountains from our balcony. Most of the female workers there are lazy, don't make good drinks, and seem to have an attitude, where as all the men were nice and friendly and helpful. Phillip was the best bartender and was fun to talk to, Chris the pool and beach clean up guy was nice and a very hard worker, and Chris the bike your guy was awesome and we will definitely be hanging out with him again when we come back to Jamaica. Overall it was a decent place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO-BAY,JAMAICA

Very small all inclusive hotel.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: It was close to major highways and quiet.
Cons: The entire property needs refurbishing. The beach needs cleaning of the seaweeds and moss.
Location: There were many attractions close by. Nature trails, Dunns River Falls , horse back riding, kayaking and a water park. Also Bob Marley's birthplace.
The experience was pleasant as we wanted a quiet and easy going weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

Stayed by chance

Posted Aug 11, 2015
We were looking for somewhere to stay in Runaway Bay and turned in on a whim. The property needs some love, attention and investment. It seems almost forgotten and that is highly unfortunate as it is truly a gorgeous location. The staff was sparse and they seemed surprised to have a young couple there, most of the other people we saw were families and what looked like a church group as well as a few persons who seems to be passing through for business. There is actually a nude beach there right beside the bar but it is as neglected as the rest of the property, there is no life anywhere and it is a bit depressing. Grab a couple drinks and walk out along the jetty to the ocean bar (also neglected) for a lovely ocean sunset on peaceful waters. For an All Inclusive the price point was a little high considering what we got; the rooms, while clean, is VERY dated (Attn. Manager - new bed linen goes a very long way for overall appeal!), the ac did not work and neither did the TV and we had to call for the maintenance man to come and fix both which should have been done prior to them leaving us in the room really. The dinner & breakfast buffet was sparse and uninspired and I struggled to feel satisfied with the options, the staff seemed tired but they were polite and returned a smile if you gave one, perhaps that’s not something they are accustomed to. Wifi is only accessible in the lobby seating area, and it wasn’t reliable either, not to mention the bugs biting at night if you h
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Dirty motel for locals only.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
I booked this hotel with a friend through Expedia expecting to get 3.5 or a four star hotel resort, instead I got a very dirty motel holes in the sheets, torn towels, broken showers with no running water sometimes. Had to change my room twice, because something or the other is not working. The motel is in need of a paint job or remodeling. All inclusive, but when you go for breakfast Lunch or dinner 45 minutes or an hour before closing time, their is no food left to eat. Ask the servers where is the food, they state in their native language "food don" . The good reviews on this site is all lies. The staff was nice and apologetic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Stressful vacation due to lack of human resources

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: -The green nature -some of the food
Cons: -Human resources department -drastically - all so-called'' beach'' areas -pool does not have salt water and limited disinfectant!
Location: Tours may be purchased special rates not applicable to expedia.ca with jamaican .
-Front Desk personnel unexperienced-issues with contacting credit card and interac company-clerk waisted two days of my vacation time trying to reach companies overseas-the clerk was dialing wrong no.!!! -check-in time at 15h00-not respected...no accomodation for an early arrival especially if hotel has only 5 guests in-house!!!!!-my arrival was on a tuesday... -taxi service fees always change -same routing different quotes!!! You must argue each time and negociate rates the concierge not always available and no sales approach or suggestions or guide to a guest in difficulty... -Lack of communication amongst all staff!! and departments!! -hotel green nature is o.k. however the so called beach areas not exist-water very limited and algues and dirt built-up in the prude beach area-you cannot swim... - a guest informed me to go to public beach-30 min.walk or taxi-$5.00 usd each leg! or 10.00usd!!! or$ 15.00usd!!!.... and later on cf.by the only barman with P.R skills in Hotel! -Upon arrival I asked if someone would show me the premises and response by front desk clerk was''Oh,the hotel is a small place you can visit by yourself!!'' -I informed 3 times front desk my phone in room not functionning and no lights lampshades and my toilet bowl lifts if I move to the left side.. It took three days and my requesting to speak to the gen.manager whom by the way ''unreachable''...until I demanded to speak to him with other issues...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Motel not like pictures. Shower leaked. Noise from club and motel entertainment heard until late. But the staff was great. Breakfast was good, plenty of food and drinks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT AS DESCRIBED WHEN BOOKING

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: THE STAFF WAS PLEASANT
Cons: WHAT CAN BE IMPROVED IS SIMPLY JUST PROVIDING WHAT WAS ADVERTISED WHEN I BOOK THE TRIP LIKE THE CLUB BEING OPEN AND HAVING MORE THAN ONE BAR
Location: NOTHING THAT WHY I BOOKED IN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT I WANTED TO STAY THERE AND BE ENTERTAINED
FIRST ROOM DOOR WAS BROKEN ,SECOND ROOM TOILET WAS BROKEN ,FOOD WAS BAD HAD TO BUY MY OWN AND HAVE STAFF COOK IT ,NONE OF THE ACTIVITIES OR BARS WERE OPEN ONLY ONE BAR AND CHOICE OF LIQUOR WAS RUM OR VODKA NOT WHAT I EXPECTED THEY SAID NOT ENOUGH PEOPLE WERE BOOKED TO OPEN THE BARS AND NIGHT CLUB WHICH WHEN I BOOKED SAID THESE WERE OPEN NIGHTLY
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
I met my husband here and I love the staff but the place is falling a part and the food is no good! Only thing good is the staff and view!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Blindsided

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The staff were great, I feel for them. For an all inclusive we were subjected to recycled food from previous night and if they ran out of food, they wouldn't make more. This was cause of change in ownership. Staff and visitors suffered. Bathroom didn't work, leaked. Late night, channels on t.v. limited, drink pour were monitored by management. The staff wanted to treat us better but hands were tied.