Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hotel could use some updating and maintenance. Overall it's good for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Fair priced hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful, food was fair.
Cons: Hotel is in need of re-decoration. Bathroom shower fittings in need of repair. Drinking water should be filtered.
On occasions we would leave the hotel to tour the Country, we would ask the hotel to keep a warm meal for us, as we would be returning late, sometimes there was food on our return, sometimes nothing at all. Jamaica is known for it's Ackee a dish with salt fish, it was never on the menu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by CAR, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your Review Joe,much appreciated.These perspectives of real and practical evaluations by our valued customers as yourself,enables us to reflect on same and include in our guests satisfaction strategies. We are delighted that you were comfortable with our staff experiences and noted also your comment that the food was fair.While we are not in a position to effectively analyse what exactly you are referring to,your comments were shared with our entire Kitchen staff.It is also noted, the inconsistencies you mentioned in regards to your request for meals when returning late and we apologise for that inconvenience. In closing,during your stay with us,the menu to include Ackee with SaltFish was hampered due to a glut then in the market of Ackees,and consequently we were not able to offer same.A return visit by you hopefully would confirm the diversity of our menu options to include as you rightly posited,this dish for which Jamaica is known for. Happy Holidays and all's that good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place is a dive but we had fun

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Had a great girls' trip. I would go back and recommend this place but here are some things everyone should know. ~The ladies at the front desk are awesome. Always sweet and helpful. ~The place is very close to the highway. If you're a light sleeper, not even ear plugs will dull down the deafening sound of the big rig trucks coming down the hill riding their jake brakes at all hours of night/morning. ~The female staff were fantastic! Better than most resorts ~Some of the male staff were pushy and inappropriate. The male bartenders interrupt your conversations at the bar constantly to hit on you. laying on the beach? they bother you. If you retreat to your balcony for some quiet time they stare up at you and continue try to make you talk to them. Eating lunch? they come to your table to pester you. It was irritating to the point that we avoided areas where some of the staff work. That aside, a big shout-out to Tony the pool guy. He's the best! ~Nov 1st they're switching from all inclusive to "american plan" which means you only get two drink coupons per day. If you go after this change, BYOB because the drinks are too sweet and watered down. I drank wine and straight liquor instead. ~Food was OK. Limited selection but it was understandable since there wasn't many guests. ~If you do go, go in the off season because having the place basically to ourselves was the best part! Didn't have to share the pool or nude beach! ~place need serious work. Had sparks come out of the wall
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Diana, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are honored that you are satisfied with the service you received at our resort. We will continue to provide great services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maine

Real Jamaican Experience

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The room was terrific with a spectacular ocean view. Spacious with a nice big balcony. The house band that plays 3 nights a week is great fun.
Cons: Food choices could improve but we also were 2 of only 10 guests total at the time.
Location: The location is good for being a central jumping off point for tons of activities and attractions.
Nice place, a bit worn, kinda like the rest of the real Jamaica. We don't do mega resorts, this suits us well. It's rated 3.5 stars, by folks expecting 5 stars. The staff is the nicest you'll find anywhere and they make sure you have what you need. We've visited here four times and will many more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Diana, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to send us your review. We are happy that you chose Club Ambiance for your vacation destination. It was a pleasure having you here. We look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

experience

Posted Jul 27, 2016
very bad very little choices of food no entertainment no activity . food nogood
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Diana, Hotel Management
We are sadden by the fact that we did not meet your expectation. We welcome your feedback and again apologize for the discomfort you faced. We do necessary upgrades daily to make this resort a rather befitting one. Once again thank you. It was a pleasure having you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa

Club Ambiance needs updating

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I would call it rustic antiquated we only had 3 tv stations one was the playboy room doors are old key style no room safe room does not look like the picture in expedia food was chicken chicken chicken only Caribbean twice both times chicken so it suck for the money I spent the glass bottom boat was broke so I had to go off site they don't pick u up from the airport that's a lie but the staff was polite and courteous the view was dynamite and so was Noel the taxi service to me the owner need to spend money on his property or sell to a new one so it could be updated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel .....not great beach

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet serene
Cons: Beach area
Wasn't crowded ...food was great as well I am planning to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Diana, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time out in sending us your review. We are happy that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed our food. We are constantly upgrading our facility as time goes by. Hoping to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston

Nice 'home away from home' getaway

Posted May 13, 2016
Staff very warm and friendly. A place to go if you wish to relax and take things easy for a few days. Would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2016 by Fiona, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Pleasant afternoon. Thank you for taking the time out to send us your review. We are please to know our resort was a suitable and comfortable one that made your stay an unforgettable one. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank You.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There is no beach ,hotel is falling apart

Posted Mar 28, 2016
There was only entertainment for 2 nights,play only one kind of music ,not a lot of variety of food, place outside was dark food was too salt
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Fiona, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for sending us your review. We appreciate your stay with us ,but too we regret not meeting your expectations. we continue to do necessary improvements to make this resort a great one. It was a pleasure having you here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Glass half full

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Size and location.
Cons: Do basic maintenance and improve menu.
Location: Good location from the airport and Ocho Rios.
Staff very nice and mostly professional, especially the women. Some of the male bar tenders were more interested in getting tips, no matter how much you tipped them, but these folks are trying very hard to make your stay comfortable with what they have to work with. Here's my take. Owned by Indians, so not much money being invested into the resort, which was quite a place once and could be great. They kept running out of beer, booze. I witnessed drinks going to a table of managers throughout the day and wouldn't be surprised if all were taking their "cut" home. Food was the same way. Bones, fat and toe nails if it wasn't chicken. Keep the people and fire the managers. It was a cozy place that was not one of those behemoth places, and we got to know most of the other vacationers at a convenient location on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by marcella, Hotel Management
Dear Guest It is with great regret that we received your complaint regarding the hotel's operation. We will ensure your complaint goes to the necessary authorities. It was a pleasure having you here.