Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Beautiful, laid back, relaxing experience.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Small, intimate and romantic. Caters to couples. Never felt crowded. All of the staff were amazing and helpful! Beautiful setting, gorgeous views.
Cons: More restaurant choices. Softer beds. More sandy beach and water area at Sunset Beach.
Location: We never ventured off the property, although the Dunn River tour was free (been there a couple times before and it is fun.)
Spent 4 days at San Souci from Feb. 5 - 9, 2017. We are normally Sandals people but wanted to check out Couples based on the reviews that we have read. It did not disappoint. A gorgeous property with a very relaxing, romantic vibe. Although the property was at capacity, it felt at times like we were the only ones there. So many places to explore, so many little hideaways that you can find. It never felt crowded. The main beach was beautiful with a nice sandy shore and an intimate feel to it. Sunset Beach had a lot more people, and if you wanted to socialize with a bigger group you could set up around the pool and bar. If you wanted peace and quiet there was PLENTY of room to do that as well on the expansive beach area. The water was rocky - definitely need your water shoes. Drink service was amazing on the beach....very attentive. The rooms in B Block were very nice. Big balcony with an ocean view, huge bathrooms with double sinks, well stocked bar. The beds are firm, almost uncomfortably so. This would be the only complaint we would have about the rooms. The restaurants all were very good. There are only 3 and 2 require reservations, which was not a huge problem but get your preferences in early. Our favorite was Casonovas. Courtney was our server and he was awesome.. Eat outside on the balcony...very romantic. The food was excellent! Bellozoni's was also very nice....again, we sat outside on the patio (why would you eat anywhere else but outside in Jamaica?)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Laid back, friendly hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
We have just returned from our first trip to Jamaica and I can't praise Couples San Souci highly enough! The surrounding are stunning. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. The food is amazing!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly return there myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Friendly staff. Great food. Can't wait to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Keene NH

Great beach vacation for couples

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location right on the beach. Everything set up for couples, we felt very welcomed.
Cons: Maybe more restaurant choices but the food was always great!
Location: Dunn'sRiver Falls is a must see
We booked a week at Couples Sans Souci only a week before traveling which was amazing! Had visited another Couples Resort over 20 years ago and instantly remembered how much we loved the concept. Everything is perfect for two which we loved but we made great friends and that made the trip even better. We stayed in a beachfront suite B12 which was right in the middle of the activity area and had perfect access to beach, pool and beach bar. Tuesday night Jamaica night and Friday night Gala were both held on the lawn right outside our patio. Event nights were FUN! There are two restaurants that need reservations. I highly recommend going to Casanova's as many times as you can to have a chance to try their special menu items. It's a private resort where you are not bombarded with locals selling goods. There are opportunities to support local crafters but the resort keeps that low key which is nice. We didn't use the nude beach but many guests loved that choice. The nude beach has its own pool, hot tub and beach grill. The property is set onto a hillside, we loved the walking but shuttles were available. Great martini bar halfway up! There were so many repeat guests...some 20 or more visits and we can see why. We will definitely visit Couples again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winter Park, FL

Beautiful resort, grounds.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Had an amazing time. Could not ask for a better stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly. This resort takes all inclusive to a whole new level, the food was plentiful and available at anytime your tummy desired. Will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The food and staff
Cons: The lady at the excursion desk, the two times we have been there, she was somewhat rude and we never got the feeling she really wanted to help us
Location: There is lots to do, but sadly you have to deal with Miss Personality at the excursion desk, so we just chilled by the pool...lol
We were returning travellers,so we knew what to expect. It is a bit of a drive to the resort from the hotel, but worth it. We were welcomed by the very friendly staff and taken to our room, which was a complete disaster. We were given E7 which has a balcony that basically ties into the martini bar patio. Zero privacy and had to keep the curtains closed all the time. We complained and were shown the exact room,just down a bit, and it was filthy. Said they were going to clean it, but it would have taken more than a good cleaning..We were then shown a room in D block which is where we stayed before , and we were satisfied. To get to the beach and swim up bar, its a lot of stairs, going down is ok, up seems to be the issue..lol...the staff is the one thing I would really like to praise. From the wait staff, to the clean staff,cooks, etc, they were all friendly and quick with a smile. It is no tipping and you dont get the feeling they have their hand out like other places, they are just genuinely nice and polite. If you don't think so, then maybe look at yourself. Saying that, the lady at the excursion desk doesn't seem so helpful or interested in helping,so we used her for nothing. The food is amazing,you certainly don't do without. We especially loved breakfast and lunch, which are in the same place. Dinner is a bit repetitive, but I'd usually had my fill by then anyways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Love the resort and the grounds and beach.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The staff and whole facility.
Its just a piece of paradise. The grounds are beautiful. The beaches are nice and no people selling stuff because they are private beaches. The food is fantastic and you make friends with other couples staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A great place to chill.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Food, service and entertainment are all excellent.
Cons: I would have preferred a walking beach, but others might prefer the seclusion.
Location: We preferred to just stay at Sans Souci and chill. Did not do any tours.
My husband and I had never been to a couples only resort and had no idea what to expect. I chose Sans Souci in Ochos Rios because the reviews, particularly for the food, were so good. Indeed, we had some excellent Jamaican food while we were there. The hotel is very well run. All of our needs were met. The architecture and interior design of the hotel are charming and what I think of as old-fashioned Caribbean. What I remember resorts looking like back in the 60s when I was young. Our suite was quite spacious with a lovely balcony. We were able to just totally chill. The entertainment, particularly the Motown themed New Year's show, was consistently excellent. My only complaint is that the beach (at least the clothed one) is man-made. I think that next time we will try Swept Away in Negril (run by the same company) because that resort has a walking beach and more tennis courts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Very attractive resort hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Staff - friendly, informative, helpful. Romantic setting. Food.
Couples San Souci is a relatively small resort in an attractive and peaceful bay. We had a great holiday there in December. Our room was nicely decorated, modern and comfortable, with a great view. The grounds are lush, with a pleasant walking/jogging path, and the grounds staff were happy to answer questions about the plants and birds etc. We had no problem finding quite spots to sit in the evening, giving it a romantic feel. The water sports staff and equipment were good, but the bay is quite small and we were unable to go further out due to wind/waves. The swimming area is small and shallow, though it was possible to swim beyond that also. The food was excellent and quite varied, and the service was great. The excursion to Dunn's River Falls was great. One downside of the resort from our perspective was that it is some distance from any town, which limits the ability to walk around outside the resort. The evening entertainment was variable - sometimes good/sometimes not great. Eating early (6:30 - 7pm reservation) at the fine-dining restaurant Casanova was better to avoid being disturbed by the singer show at the bar below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful upscale mature Resort.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
My boo and I stayed at Couples Sans Souci from 12/11-12/18. This was our first visit and we had a splendid time. The staffs were courteous, attentive and professional. The food was amazing. I will definitely return!