Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel for families with small children!!!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly
Cons: Food variety
Location: Runaway Bay, Jamaica, snorkeling onsite
FDR is a smaller resort, a bit older than some, but WOW!!! They have a "Vacation Nanny" that is assigned to your family for the duration of your stay. Parents can actually nap, have "alone time", or just chill out without having to constantly be "on"!!!! We have found our paradise!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great resort for families with infants, kids.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Nice small resort with rooms that are quite large. Food is tasty especially when they do Jamaican. Breakfast and lunch were favorites. Nanny was very caring and experienced. Lots of activities for kids and adults too. Nice beaches and pools. Hotel is looking dated, but still clean and comfortable. We will be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best vacation with kids ever.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We had the best vacation as a family with young kids. My husband and I did biking, yoga, tennis, massage, dinner by candle light while our kids happily spent time doing whatever they wanted with their nanny. Everyone was happy and we are going back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing resort for Families!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This resort is absolutely wonderful. At first I wasn't sure about having a nanny and trusting her with our young boys, but she was lovely and so good with the boys. The best part is that my husband and I got some time to relax and the boys had so many fun activities to enjoy. The resort is small and quickly you know everyone and the staff makes a point in getting to know everyone. We just returned and I am sure we will book again next year. Thank you Nicole for making our trip so wonderful. Our boys will miss you as will we.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Super relaxing vacation

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The nanny and staff at the resort.
Cons: Gym facilities
Location: Had an amazing trip to the local farmers market.
This was our second visit to FDR and it was so relaxing. Our nanny Jennifer was very attentive to our kids, which allowed us to have time to ourselves and truly relax. I loved the walks and bike rides in the mornings and my husband had a great time scuba diving. The staff are so friendly and really make your time at FDR so enjoyable. We hope to return soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Franklin D Resort and Spa.....Just okay

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Not a five star hotel by far. The rooms and property need some updating but I guess thats due to the salt water.Check in was good, howerver my refrigerator was never stocked and I had to call daily to have it done. Some days the beds were not made, and others were late in the evening. Not many families/people there, so it was very low key and seemed if teh entertainment was reduced because of this. This was a real downer for me. The food was okay/good with breakfast the most consistent. Jerk chicken and pork were exceptional. Theres only one main bar, and at times it took 10+ minutes to get a drink. Jason, Sasha Gae, and Lloyd were goof fun bartenders. Definite asset to the FDR. One sever, Samantha, made us feeel very uncomfortable. She would make it obvious that she was staring intently at us. She never smiled and when we said good morninig to her, she replied "right". She was not an asset in my opinion. Nannies we recognized from previous trips here were also great. Be aware they operate on island time...meaning a 8 o clock fishing trip starts at 9 ish. Frank, the owner, is top notch and will do anything for you. He's on site every day. I have a much more indepth review on Tripadvisor.com.I can say, that I wont be returning to FDR in the future, however, some loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Family vacation with 3 kids under 8

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Friendly staff. Nanny was excellent. Kids were entertained while mom & dad relaxed. Food and drinks, including alcoholic drinks, were good quality. Entertainment coordinators were excellent. Resort caters to kids needs. I will return & highly recommend it to my friends with kids. Worth the $.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel for a young family

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Hotel is compact, and nannys are amazing. You actually get a vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ny

Great if you have kids!

Posted May 3, 2016
Second time back to this resort, with 3 kids and it was actuallyour relaxing for us and fun for them. Every family is given a nanny for the stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazing vacation

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Orbitz
This is our 3rd stay at FDR and we will definitely be coming back! From the minute you open the taxi door you feel like you are home! The staff, nannies, activity coordinators are all second to none. They immediately feel like family! The pool, ocean, activities, Kid's Club, bar, restaurants are beautiful, comfortable, safe, clean and make for a perfect place to relax and have a wonderful family vacation!