Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MA

So much more than we expected

Posted Apr 21, 2017
the resort itself isn't "disney quality" but you get far more than you would anywhere else. Rooms are a great size, staff is so helpful and friendly, the nannies are great. we will def be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

FAMILY FAMILY FAMILY

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: COZY, green plantation and not too big
Cons: Increase the next door beach timing access
Location: DUNN river falls, blue lagoon and Black hole
If your goal is Vegas this is not it, Disney on your mind...this is perfect. Included Nannies are a bliss. Help get quality time with your adult partner. Food is personalized and fulfilling. Adult Drinks are strong...had to ask to water it down. Activities are plenty for everybody. Included kayaking, snorkeling, boating, fishing, glass bottom boat. The hotel beach is small but next door beach is huge. You have access to it but limited to 6 pm. The owner greets you everyday and seeks feedback...I found that nice. NO TIME SHARE CRAP. Would highly recommend this place for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manhattan NY

Amazing place for families!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
This is our third trip here and we love this place! My kids talk about it and can't wait to go back again next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Trishawana Davidson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that your family had another wonderful vacation with us. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel for families with small children!!!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly
Cons: Food variety
Location: Runaway Bay, Jamaica, snorkeling onsite
FDR is a smaller resort, a bit older than some, but WOW!!! They have a "Vacation Nanny" that is assigned to your family for the duration of your stay. Parents can actually nap, have "alone time", or just chill out without having to constantly be "on"!!!! We have found our paradise!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Trishawana Davidson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. We are happy to read that you found your paradise at FDR! We are happy that you were satisfied with our nanny services and that you were able to relax and enjoy the vacation. We look forward to hosting your family again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great resort for families with infants, kids.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Nice small resort with rooms that are quite large. Food is tasty especially when they do Jamaican. Breakfast and lunch were favorites. Nanny was very caring and experienced. Lots of activities for kids and adults too. Nice beaches and pools. Hotel is looking dated, but still clean and comfortable. We will be going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Trishawana Davidson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed the Jamaican Cuisines. We appreciate your kind comments about our nanny service and amenities. We look forward to your return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best vacation with kids ever.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We had the best vacation as a family with young kids. My husband and I did biking, yoga, tennis, massage, dinner by candle light while our kids happily spent time doing whatever they wanted with their nanny. Everyone was happy and we are going back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Trishawana Davidson, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled that you had the best vacation as a family with us! We are glad that everyone was able to have a vacation and left happy. We can't wait to welcome your family again next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing resort for Families!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This resort is absolutely wonderful. At first I wasn't sure about having a nanny and trusting her with our young boys, but she was lovely and so good with the boys. The best part is that my husband and I got some time to relax and the boys had so many fun activities to enjoy. The resort is small and quickly you know everyone and the staff makes a point in getting to know everyone. We just returned and I am sure we will book again next year. Thank you Nicole for making our trip so wonderful. Our boys will miss you as will we.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Trishawana Davidson, Hotel Management
We appreciate you spending the time to share your review. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. It is great to know you and your husband were able to relax while the kids had a blast with their Nanny Nicole. See you again next year for another wonderful vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Super relaxing vacation

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The nanny and staff at the resort.
Cons: Gym facilities
Location: Had an amazing trip to the local farmers market.
This was our second visit to FDR and it was so relaxing. Our nanny Jennifer was very attentive to our kids, which allowed us to have time to ourselves and truly relax. I loved the walks and bike rides in the mornings and my husband had a great time scuba diving. The staff are so friendly and really make your time at FDR so enjoyable. We hope to return soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Franklin D Resort and Spa.....Just okay

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Not a five star hotel by far. The rooms and property need some updating but I guess thats due to the salt water.Check in was good, howerver my refrigerator was never stocked and I had to call daily to have it done. Some days the beds were not made, and others were late in the evening. Not many families/people there, so it was very low key and seemed if teh entertainment was reduced because of this. This was a real downer for me. The food was okay/good with breakfast the most consistent. Jerk chicken and pork were exceptional. Theres only one main bar, and at times it took 10+ minutes to get a drink. Jason, Sasha Gae, and Lloyd were goof fun bartenders. Definite asset to the FDR. One sever, Samantha, made us feeel very uncomfortable. She would make it obvious that she was staring intently at us. She never smiled and when we said good morninig to her, she replied "right". She was not an asset in my opinion. Nannies we recognized from previous trips here were also great. Be aware they operate on island time...meaning a 8 o clock fishing trip starts at 9 ish. Frank, the owner, is top notch and will do anything for you. He's on site every day. I have a much more indepth review on Tripadvisor.com.I can say, that I wont be returning to FDR in the future, however, some loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Family vacation with 3 kids under 8

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Friendly staff. Nanny was excellent. Kids were entertained while mom & dad relaxed. Food and drinks, including alcoholic drinks, were good quality. Entertainment coordinators were excellent. Resort caters to kids needs. I will return & highly recommend it to my friends with kids. Worth the $.