Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tampa,Florida

Stayed in the yurt type suite

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Papayas delivered to my kitchen 2x a day for free!! Ease to access swimming and playing in the ocean and lagoon. Yoga. Turtle hatching watching
Cons: More restaurants, more activities more boats, more mmusic, live music please...gold carts, private phone systems to call the help, and limo service
Location: Blue Hole
Special Yurt type suite with pictures to follow. Blue shore birds outside the balcony..3 levels of privacy patios. Separate kitchen ...be careful walking out the coral steps of the yurt down stairs and up stairs to another hut where the kitchen is located. final stairs are lit up blue winding down to the waters edge. Great shower built into the rocks. Stairs leading into the water. Private canoe and private Island in rear. One house away from the ocean. Great sounds. Mosquito net came in handy. Small bath with painted plywood counters..was good enough for the stars back in the 90's. Needs a new mattress. My tiny feet fell through the grate in the shower. The Jamaican made grate was not to American specs nd the slats are too far apart. I did not break my ankle. Should have had entertainment on the weekends- reggae. Owner by recording studio owner- no music. Should have another restaurant on site as well. Also canvas gift bags for the price, please!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Ongoing construction

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Natural beauty, very nice people, service oriented
Cons: Attention to where guests stay and the ongoing construction.
Location: We left the resort with a guide to see some of Jamaica- whihc was incredible and beautiful.
We noted that the menu price for soft drinks was less than the charged price. After I complained the menu prices were changed to reflect the actual charges made. This happenned on several nights. We stayed in a Beach Hut, next to where a back hoe was loading dump trucks. The noise was intolerable. They finished the work in one day and I was promised the noise was over. The very next day the Beach Hut next to ours was getting fitted for shutters with the use of an air compressor and other construction noise. That noise ended with apologies. The third day, a bamboo fence was removed and put on trucks where the backhoe had been operating. The last 3 days of our 6 day stay was interrupted by construction noise.
5 out of 5
by John

Take me back!

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
GoldenEye could quite simply be the perfect hotel and the best place to get away from everything. You have ample opportunity to relax, disconnect and unwind but great wifi, AppleTV, Sonos and 200 channels of cable TV (and the real world) are there when you need them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great location but poor service and average food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible first time at GoldenEye

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I had a wonderful time at GoldenEye and we will definitely be returning. The property is stunning and every villa is extremely private. The staff were incredibly attentive and made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. If you are looking to party this isn't the resort for you - come here if you want the most serene, low-key and laid back vacation where it feels like you have the whole place to yourself. Special shout-out to Donald from the wata-sports crew for taking care of us and really making our trip. We had so much fun snorkelling and going out on the water with him.
5 out of 5
by brandon from Canada

A luxurious, laid-back Jamaican hideaway

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Goldeneye is the perfect spot for a romantic escape in the Caribbean. My family is from Jamaica (I'm from Canada) and Goldeneye offers the ideal balance of luxury accommodations with authentic Jamaican charm. We stayed in a lagoon cottage for six nights and relished in every moment. Some of the on-property highlights included: sunset kayaking, SUPing in the crystal-clear lagoon & ocean, snorkelling the coral reef, indulging in delicious Jamaican breakfasts on our veranda, sipping rum over the cliffs, lazing in the hammock beneath the cooling ocean breeze, yoga on the beach, working out on the jungle gym, touring Ian Fleming's one-of-a-kind villa and feasting on Jamaican BBQ. Service is near-flawless and the staff members are highly attentive and discrete -- the latter being of utmost importance given their celebrity clientele. If you're looking for informal luxury, Goldeneye will not disappoint. We look forward to returning in the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire UK

Beautiful relaxed environment.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Laid back
Cons: Nothing - it does exactly what it says it does!
Location: Good location for all the fund things to do in Jamaica. The resort will assist in anything specific you would like to do.
Stunning location, first rate staff and very laid back feel - excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Massachusetts

Amazing vacation experience

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Everything! The cottage was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, the location on the beach was gorgeous, and the food was delicious
Cons: There was some construction going on nearby that was a little noisy during the day.
Location: The location feels private, surrounded by lush trees. We snorkeled right on the main beach, swam in the lagoon. Dunn's River falls is nearby.
My husband and I went to GoldenEye to celebrate his 50th birthday. I chose Goldeneye because of the James Bond connection and also because it looked beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the lagoon cottage, which comes with all the Bond novels and movies, which we loved.
4 out of 5
by Teela from Jonesboro

Paradise with contruction noise

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful setting: lovely lagoon, beach, pool. Good service too. Could have done without the construction noise though.....
5 out of 5
by jonathan from sussex

It was amazing

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
came to relax and it was amazing location food and staff we all great can't wait to go back a place where you can do nothing or anything you want .