Ratings based on 1,230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Time at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Just got back from a 7 night stay at the Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica. We had a great time and enjoyed the weather, the facilities, the enormous amount of yummy food we consumed and most surprisingly are the people who works there. Every employee we encountered at anywhere in the resort are very friendly, helpful and seem to really care that their guests are having enjoyable time. I would have given it a 5 star overall rating if there's free WiFi in this resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad management by Jonathan.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Our flight was cancelled due to weather and we were unable to go until the following day, so I called Expedia and the hotel the day before we left to confirm extending our stay one more day free of charge for us missing a day. I spoke with Jonathan in the sales department and he said it was confirmed with Expedia and we were all set. So when we arrived the next day at the resort they had no verification of us staying an extra day and said they would look into it and call our hotel room. We never got a call so we went back to the front desk the next day and they said we needed to get in contact with Expedia because they need to change it in their system and send an email to the hotel. So we called Expedia paying $2/minute from Jamaica which lasted an hour or so and they said everything was all set. Meanwhile everyday we had been asking to speak with Jonathan because I spoke with him confirming this before I left home. We were told everyday that he was either out of the office or in a meeting. The one day he was at the hotel he refused to come speak with us, he would only speak with us on the phone. He was extremely rude and unprofessional stating he never spoke with me prior to this and hung up on me. It wasn't until day #6 of or stay of leaving the pool/beach and going to the front desk for at least an hour that the staff confirmed us staying the extra day. This ruined our vacation and we felt as though no one wanted to deal with us, we were just told to come back in 24 hours
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. I loved to stay outdoor at night and listen to the music of the nature. It was amazing and exotic experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Close to beach, different restaurant chocies
Cons: More elevators
Location: Dunns River, Dolphin Cove, Luminous Lagoon. Margaritaville, Ochos Rios
We arrived early and were welcomed with drinks. Check in time is not until 3 PM and we were not allowed to check in early. Not that big of a deal as they held our bags and allowed us access to restaurants and the pool and a changing room to shower. When it was check in time we were upgraded to a nice view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Exceeded My Expectations, Wonderful Resort

Posted Jan 29, 2016
I stayed at the resort to celebrate my birthday and the property well exceeded my expectations. From the staff to the property itself, Grand Bahia Principle is an extraordinary resort and would highly recommend it. It caters to families, solo travelers such as myself, and couples, it has something for everyone. The service is incredible the accommodation rooms and grounds are kept in prestige shape, housekeeping was quick and on point, the food is great. All inclusive resorts can be overwhelming at times...I never once felt that way. They have, which I find to be brilliant... an app that you can download and book anything and everything from spa to restaurant reservations, maps and things to do and if you are traveling in a group.. you can even start a group chat. Makes it so much easier and less stressful. I am already planning my return trip and am recommending to friends and clients. The Executive Assistant Manager, Marlon Honegan is incredible and welcomed me making me feel at home. Marlon and Team..Job Well Done! Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable but could be a lot better

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff and pretty facility
Cons: Availability of special restaurants was too limited. Either need more facilities or better management of reservation process or more likely both.
Could not get dinner reservations but restaurants were not fully booked. Food overall was So-so. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facility was clean and well maintained. Kids program was a hit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Englewood, CO

Beautiful Hotel and Great Beaches

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: the upgrade as a gold member through Expedia we got upgraded to ocean view and beautiful resort.
Cons: customer service
Location: location was great, we went on 3 excurations and they were awesome
The Hotel was beautiful ,grounds were well maintained and groomed, the beaches on the resort were very nice, snorkeling was OK, The staff was not as friendly as they could have been, by the 3rd day we finely found one girl (Dion) at breakfast buffet, one guy (Brandon) at dinner buffet and one girl (Trisha or Theresa) at Snack Bar that we sat with the entire time as they had positive attitudes and took pride in they jobs, our girl Maria that cleaned our room was also very nice, most of the rest of the staff seemed unfriendly and only spoke if we spoke first., overall we did have a great time and Vacation, just feel the resort can work on customer service. we took very good care by tipping the staff and even left some clothing items for the locals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from queens, NY

Nice hotel!!! Right on the beach...

Posted Jan 28, 2016
We had an amazing time at this resort!!! It is located right on the beach, entertainment was amazing, food excellent, restaurants on resort was great and you can book your excursions with the hotel representatives. It's much cheaper to wait till you arrive at the resort to book your excursions, however be plan full and book your transportation a head of time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Hotel was Beautiful Staff was rude

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I was treated horribly. The cater to the Canadians. Canceled my dinner reservation 15 minutes before and told me they will. Accommodate me at the buffet. Staff refused to give me here names so that I can put them in the review. Expedia customer service in the hotel refused to do there job. Told me to call Expedia and deal with them. Requested a late check out and they told me on my last day that they could not accommodate me. I was there during the snow storm and asked them if my flight was cancelled would I be able to stay. They told me that the could not accommodate me. I will never ever in my life stay at a Bahia Príncipe. They entertainment suck which made it really boring and not worth the trip. They only fun I had was with a tour guy who took me on a tour Ninja man Birthday Bash Concert. He chaperoned my friends and I and watched over us ever step of the way returning us to our hotel safely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
hotel overall was good, but not enough night and day entertainments.