Ratings based on 1,345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Jul 22, 2016
A nice place but some of the services need to be up graded. The food was mediocre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Grand Bahia Principe 07/2016

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The landscape
Cons: Towels were an issue. The temperature of the food was not hot, no ice readily available for drinks, AC was too low. Sleeveless at night for men.
Location: Runaway Bay, St. Anns
I read the reviews before going and I am sorry to say, everything I read was true, both the good and the bad. However, there were more bad than good. Its a beautiful hotel, but the beach was rocky, towels were an issue, there wasn't enough you had to wait hours. The dress code for dinner was ridiculous, requiring sleeveless only for men even though it did not specify it on the sign. The food was delicious, but barely warm, sometimes cool, the air conditioner was turned down low in the dining room so you constantly had to fight the flies; and perspire while eating your food. Also, the drinks were not cold, so trying to get some ice was a real issue. In the day time, it was very difficult to enjoy the pool without the bees trying to sting you. My husband got stung, luckily he was not allergic. I complained and asked if they could spray, but the yard worker told me they did not have any spray for the bees. Then at night, the mosquitoes were everywhere. For this to be such a beautiful hotel, it was disappoint that these complaints were made before (because I read them before going) and no one tried to fix them. I like to judge things for myself, and I regret that decision in this case. I wish I had gone back to the RIU. No such issues there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful hotel and grounds

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Rooms are big, bathrooms are huge. Beach and pool are awesome. Little beach coves also. Plenty of beach and pool chairs. Would definitely visit again. Only complaint is check in and check out process are slow. Got reservations in restaurants. Make them for the week on the day of your arrival. A little frustrating when your told a restaurant is fully booked and then you see that they are always at least half empty if not more
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had an overall great time during your stay and we appreciate the time you have taken to share all your thoughts with us. We understand that you had a few concerns and we will be sharing them with the resort management team so that they may follow-up on these matters. Thank you for your feedback and for vacationing with us. Yours respectfully,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The staff is great, very hospitable and friendly. The restaurants have good food with a lot of selections. But the hotel has aged and needs improvements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Omar, It was a pleasure serving you during your vacation and we hope to see you again in the near future. Yours sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Don't get what you pay for...

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The beach was the best part of this hotel....without it they would have nothing meaningful to offer.
Cons: Service, staff, air conditioning, and food quality.
Location: The beach is the main attraction.
Staff was rude, our room did not have double beds with an ocean view as we booked. Each night our room smelled like smoke. Air conditioning was not turned up in the main dining area or in the steak house. Service in all dining areas was super slow and wait staff were rude. The food was never replenished on time and the desserts were full of bugs due to poor coverage. Drinks were all washed down and not strong at all. The steak house is a buffet not alacarte. They charge you to use the safe in the room which is very petty. We brought all these issues up to management and they never got back to us. I will never stay at this resort ever again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. It is always concerning when our guests are not completely satisfied with their holiday; however we really appreciate this feedback and we would like take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered whilst staying on property. Thank you for your time and we hope beside those events you had a relaxed and casual atmosphere during your vacation. Yours respectfully,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel and rooms nice, staff and service not great

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel, rooms, pools, beaches were wonderful. Very nice especially for Jamaica. But unless you were giving the staff a tip, the normal service was awful. For example, there were 20+ people in line to check in and about 6 staff behind the desk and only two people helped the customers register. There was also very limited wi-fi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to acknowledge that we have received and read your feedback regarding your stay with us. Thank you for your good words about our hotel, rooms, pools and beaches. However, it is truly disappointed to know that you left our property not completely satisfied with some of our services which we have communicated to the relevant department heads to ensure that corrective measure will be taken into consideration. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you can give us another opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Jamaica. Yours respectfully,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from union city california

Beautiful big resort with lazy staff

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Resort is big and beautiful however the staff at the Buffett is very lazy and unorganized . The service is terrible . You feel like the waiters are forced to work there and take Forever to even set up the table . Forget about asking for drinks or anything . And then they take your silverware away so you have no fork to eat and you go a second time to get desserts or fruits . The check out was a very stressful experience for us too. There is no communication between the staff . And Nobody wants to go out of their way to do anything . You get the feeling that you are bothering the staff to ask anything or be there even .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review. We understand that you did not fully enjoy your vacation and we feel very disheartened to learn that there were several aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and our resort management team will look into the issues you have brought to our attention. However, we would like to thank you for staying with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to host you again in the near future. Yours sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Housekeeper Beverly Bailey was awesome. Room was little outdated. Shower had a sewer smell,facilities came to fix it but than it was clogged fir last 3 days. No one came to fix it. everything else was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Bijana, Thank you for posting your review regarding your holiday vacation. Our guest opinion is always important because its helps us to improve on our facilities and services so that we will not have any negative future events. We sincerely hope that these situations have not tarnished your perception of our hotel in general and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Hotel has a lot of potential but could be run bett

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Hotel looked just like the photos. Unfortunately when we arrived the hotel did not have the room we booked available. We were not told by the front desk and made the discovery only after we went all the way to the room. Returned to the front desk where we were informed that they could give us the room we booked the following day, since there were four of us in a room they said they would bring in a sofa bed for the night. A few hours passed and still no sofabed. We had to call the front desk three times before they finally showed up with the bed. The next day we went to the front desk three times inquiring about our new room. The last time we were left waiting at the front desk for 45 mins by an employee who went to speak to a manager and never came back out. Finally someone handed us the keys to our new room. We were staying on the family side with our two teenage daughters and we're disappointed that after 7,when the pool closed there wasn't much for them to do and the few things going on weren't advertised well. Like I said the location and hotel appearance are beautiful but it needs improvement on how it's being run.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Tiena, We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor as it is a great help to us in the effort to improve and achieve our ultimate goal, the satisfaction of our customers. We deeply appreciate that you have allowed us to know the details you have observed we would have to work on and we ensure will be seriously taking into consideration. On behalf of our General Manager and staff, we would like to thank you again for vacationing with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our property during your next visit to the beautiful island Jamaica.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Hotel was ok. The food was decent, drinks were good, friendly staff. However, our hotel room was hot (even with AC at the max) and free wifi was only available in the lobby and guests are allowed only 60 minutes of free wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Dear Chelly, We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback about your stay at our Resort. It is always concerning when guests are not completely satisfied with some of our facilities, however we really appreciate this feedback that represents an opportunity to improve in our services and facilities. Thank you for your time and we hope beside those events you enjoyed a relaxed and casual atmosphere during your vacation. Yours sincerely,