Ratings based on 1,496 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The check in was a mess and would keep me from going back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average place

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The pool was huge but a little cold some days. The beach was a great time.
Cons: Reservations and staffing and al a cart restaurants needs improving, bars need to start their opening process sooner so there's less waiting.
We stayed at this hotel for one week. We were in building 1300 so the view was great and it was very centrally located. Check-in and arrival was quick and easy. When we got to the room we were disappointed by how outdated and dirty it seemed. The bathroom was gross, the shower was not water proofed, there was mold and mildew and it was not at all inviting. The grounds, beach and pool were a great time. I was upset that it was hard to get a drink in the morning. There is a giant buffet room where most people eat and no bar. The pool bars were often not ready to actually start serving by 9. I often heard there was only water and beer, or they were out of vodka. The slushy drinks were never ready to go and therefore not slushy at all. The lobby bar and terrace bar did not seem to have these problems. The bed in the room was also very hard, I had a hard time making myself sleep in because my body ached from the mattress. We tried all 4 al a cart restaurants, the steak house and Italian place were good. The French restaurant took forever. They really need to get a better system in order or hire more servers. When you have a bulk number of people being seated every half hour the waiters literally run to try and get everyone drinks, then all courses out at the same time to all tables. The reservations should be more staggered, and not so hard to obtain!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good value for money

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel is absolutely enormous with one of the restaurants being open for 24 hours. The pool is gigantic but the real highlight is the beach which is pretty amazing. The resort is family friendly but due to its size, service could be lacking at times - we had to complain four times to get drinking water delivered and our room was not cleaned until we complained and tracked down house keeping staff ourselves. But all things considered, it is good value for money and we may consider returning. You'll have to get used to tipping staff even though it is all inclusive otherwise getting served could be slightly challenging. Despite a couple of negatives, I would rate this hotel 4/5 as the beach, food and facilities for children made up for the couple of issuea that we experienced. Be careful of Zika virus and take mosquito repellent, they fumigated the resort a couple of times and we did not experience any issues but Jamaica is a county that is affected so take a repellent with DEET which is meant to be effective for mosquitoes that spread Zika
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The food was excellent , the hospitality surpass the food. All the meals served was very delicious and you can taste the Caribbean flavor. I will recommend Grand Bahia to any one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beaches

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Very satisfied! Very helpful staff, nicely kept facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from madison, wi

Anniversary Stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Carpeting in hallways
Stayed there with friends for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were married only miles from the resort, had the time of my life. The negative reviews makes me wonder if they were at the same resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Cleanness
Cons: Wifi should be free through out the hotel
My experience was very Great, I love the hotel it was a very relaxing time and planning to visit again the beach was wonderful the food very good, front desk service also was also spectacular only thing I would have enjoyed more is to be able to see the beach from my room as the view is very important for my meditation .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible vacation

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The first day i check in to my room, the refrigerator was not stock it took 24 hours after calling front desk 3 or more times to finanaly get service.next morning i got up to make coffee the coffe maker was mot working, a next 24 hours before we saw results.The friday i went to watch a reggae band up on the and i had a small digicel phone that slip out of my pocket when i got up to use the restroom.not relizing it went back to my room.i then rush back to the cite to c if i could recover my phone it was gone,i i then went to the front desk who sent me to lost and found to no avail.i then call digicel they told me 200 dollars credit was transferred that quick leading to realize that one of the employees found the and did not turn it in thieves.so then i did not trust any workers i wanted to leave the hotel immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Very nice hotel, & staff..

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: None
Our first trip to Jamaica, We will be back!!!! Hotel grounds, rooms, staff were very accommodating.. Everyone is so nice and want to make sure your stay is a memorable one. Lots of walking to be done as the hotel grounds are huge. We loved this part as we love to walk plus felt like we were walking off the good food and drinks. Entertainment was good, as the snorkeling, my husband enjoyed this but was only visible for one day as there were storms brewing at sea. Our waiter Alton was wonderful and made sure we were satisfied with our meals during our stay. Cannot wait to go back!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel stay away

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I had a reservation , and they told me I had to pay again although is showed the confirmation from Expedia , the rooms manager said there is nothing that they can do so they told me they would refund me , then when I called Expedia they said the hotel refused to refund me , stay awayyyyyyyy, I also heard people complaining about dirty rooms and stuff , way over rated